“Birthday Cake” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize


Very pleased to ‘say’ that another day started for me. I enjoyed my early (it was 04.35 hours when I got out on the veranda) morning ‘me time’. And yes regular readers it is the western, lagoon facing one. And you will, I am sure, be pleased to know that I had my mug of black coffee -instant, with no sugar if you are at all interested- and my iPad with me. Well without the iPad there’d be no blog!

I sat out there reading The Sunday Times (well it is Sunday) online until around 06.45 hours when I showered, shaved and dressed and then headed off to Estel’s Dine By the Sea for a breakfast before the Estonia v England European Championship Qualification game.

The recent rainy spells have made a real mess of the road to ‘Town with stretches of deep water, the first of which is immediately outside our front gate.

IMG_8211.JPG

I’ve developed the art of avoiding wet feet. Pull out, straighten up and then reverse. Once in position alight (what an old-fashioned way of describing getting out of a vehicle) and secure the gate. Easy!

IMG_8212.JPG

A really bad stretch of road in front of Reef Village (or whatever it is now called!).

Anyway, enough of today, I can always tell you about this in a future edition can’t I!

In the previous edition I mentioned that it was Rose’s birthday and I had to bring the edition to a close because I was taking her out to celebrate it.

I’ll tell you how a bit later but first wanted to let you know how we spent the rest of her special day.

First on the ‘things to do’ list though was to give Ziggy drops for the ear infection he contracted.

IMG_8207.JPG

When I first started giving him the drops he would try to run away. Now though I show him the tube, head out to the veranda with him following closely behind me. I sit in the chair. He sits too, rests his head on my lap and waits for the treatment. I think the massage (cleverly disguised as stroking) he gets afterwards has helped!

After getting ready Rose and I headed off to ‘Town. Me for breakfast (yep, at you know where) and Rose to wander around the shops. What she does (and will continue to be if I have anything to do with it) remains a mystery to me.

It was then time for Rose’s treat.

IMG_8162.JPG

Why? Well very simple.

IMG_8160.JPG

So.

IMG_8165.JPG

With the purchase made it was time to head home so Rose could sample some of that ‘love’ but not before we stopped off to get her a birthday cake.

IMG_8167.JPG

I know it’s only little but it’s the thought that counts!

In all seriousness (I can be serious sometimes you know) neither Rose or I are great lovers of cake. We’ve found out, however, that Ziggy is. And he loves bananas too.

Not much effort on my part to celebrate Rose’s birthday you’re thinking. C’mon you were, weren’t you. Don’t be too hasty with your judgement. There was more to come!

In the evening I took Rose to Rain Restaurant & Rooftop Terrace.

To start Rose had

IMG_8168.JPG

Coconut crusted shrimp

and I had

IMG_8170.JPG

Shrimp Aracini di Riso (Italian rice balls stuffed with shrimp).

I should have spent more time and effort taking the photos but, in all honesty, I couldn’t be bothered. I wanted to tuck in. Both were delicious (well I had to sample Rose’s to make sure it was OK for her. It was the chivalrous thing to do wasn’t it!).

For the main course Rose chose

IMG_8172.JPG

Shrimp curry

and for me it was

IMG_8176.JPG

Creole shrimp.

Yes, we like our crustaceans!

The meal – which was exceptionally good, along with the attentive service – was nicely topped off with a Chilean Sauvignon

IMG_8169.JPG

and a bit of Mariachi with a hint of Gypsy Kings

IMG_8185.JPG

IMG_8184.JPG

Now don’t we look happy!

We finished off the evening (and the wine) on the Rooftop Terrace.

IMG_8200.JPG

It was so good I think we’re in for a return visit to Rain Restaurant & Rooftop Terrace in a few weeks time when it’s my birthday!

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 2012 by Rihanna , and featuring Chris Brown, which reached number twenty-four in the US Billboard Hot 100.

12 thoughts on ““Birthday Cake” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize

  1. I assume there’s no one else in the restaurant because you are officially the slowest eater in the world (closely followed by me!)?

  2. Thanks for keeping us informed on the happenings on Ambergris! You and Rose great and very happy….well, Rose looks great. 😉

  3. Lecker schemecker! Yum, Yum. Dinner looked fantastic. Great photo of you two. You clean up good John. Ron and I will have to have our 40th Anniversery dinner there after the move.

Leave a Reply

