“Another One Bites the Dust” in San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize.


It’s been a while since the last edition. I just didn’t know what to write about. I mean it shouldn’t be too difficult should it? It’s not like I compose (allow me this rather grandiose description – I know it’s not the case but egos need massaging occasionally. Yes, even mine!) literary works of art. I’d like to describe myself more as a raconteur. I’d like to but …

Now I know I could have taken a walk along the beach or around the ‘Town and taken a few snaps, wrapped some words either side of them and voilà. Job done. Edition produced.

For sure I like to include photos of the beautiful sights around Ambergris Caye. And no matter how often I see them they still remain beautiful. I also like to let you know about changes that take place on the island. You know, what new bars and restaurants are opening or have just opened. What’s the condition of the roads. What the weather is like (especially if it’s raining and my water tank is filling up!).

But that’s not what this blog is about. Well not for me anyway. Oh no, it’s about me (told you I had an ego) and what fills my days!

This realisation didn’t help and I spent days wondering how to start. But try as I might, nothing. And then it hit me! Why not start at the beginning of a normal day for me. Novel eh! So …

I got up early -around 04.30 hours if I recall correctly (it doesn’t matter what day it was because they all start the same way for me. I wake up and then …) – and went straight to the kitchen. Kettle on and within minutes there I was out in the veranda – yep, the western, lagoon facing one- with my mug of black coffee and the iPad.

I watched the rain teem down

IMG_8135.JPG

and wondered how the recent landfill was holding up so took a walk around the veranda to the front of the house.

IMG_8146-1.JPG

IMG_8145-0.JPG

Not bad. But what about the back garden that got hardly any landfill?

IMG_8144.JPG

Not so good. Looks like its time to ‘phone Lloyd again!

But with so much rain surely the water tank would be full.

IMG_8147.JPG

Not a dribble coming out of the overflow pipes!

The rain though hasn’t slowed down the work on the concrete road from the northern side of the Sir Barry Bowen Bridge and working at night has definitely aided progress

IMG_8124.JPG

IMG_8155.JPG

and the road is taking shape. Still a long way to go until it gets to our house but…

On the ‘what’s new front’ it looks as if the Jolly Roger might be about to open again. Why? Well the roadside sign has been freshly painted.

IMG_8153.JPG

Strange choice of name though.

And I hear that the building going up on the lot immediately next to Super Buy in Angel Coral Street (back street)

IMG_8026.JPG

is going to be a Super Buy for wholesale sales only. Looks like I’m going to be buying in bulk!

Now I’m in full flow I’ve just got to bring this edition to a close. Why? Well it’s Rose’s birthday. Her thirty-ninth if you must know (it’s not really but I’m trying to win points) and I’ve got to go get ready.

So I found it difficult to come up with something to write about but in the end (wait for it), another one bites the dust! (could this be my worst link yet? Answers on a postcard please).

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released by Queen in 1980 which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number seven in the UK Singles Chart.

26 thoughts on ““Another One Bites the Dust” in San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Reunited” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Pingback: “Birthday Cake” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Happy Birthday Rose! Good to see some concrete road going down in front of the theater. They are on their way to your house. We’ve just returned from a few weeks in the Eastern Caribbean and dodged rain many times daily (tried to anyway) in St Thomas. Hopefully steady rain will make it West and you’ll see your “cup runneth over” soon.

  4. Thanks very much for taking so much of your valuable time to produce such an interesting, exciting and inspiring edition today. With best wishes to Rose on her Birthday and also to Ziggy the invisible dog.

  5. Firstly Happy Birthday Rose….. John what happens to your garden level if your neighbour raises his garden level? Surely the lower garden will take the water run off ! That means in time your garden will need to be raised again lol.

Leave a Reply

