‘That’s What Friends Are For’ in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Out on the veranda early (was going to ‘say’ bright but it was still dark when I went out there) this morning and got my early ‘fix’ of news from The Times. Steered well clear of the sports pages though because I wanted no reminders of how soundly Arsenal were beaten yesterday. Focused instead on the news, business and register (previously known as obituaries).

With that done I switched to my In Box and went through my emails. Most of them were from hotel groups and Expat message forums. There were a couple of more welcome ones though. One from my sister (hi Chris – I know that she reads this blog) and one from an ex work colleague in England who had sent me a draft contract that he asked me to review.

Knowing that I needed to concentrate on the task (he would like feedback by Friday) I decided to start the process (iPad in hand) with breakfast at Estel’s. Got there to find that inexplicably (well for me anyway) they were closed (momentarily I wondered if it was Tuesday). Disappointingly I trudged (I love that word) along the beach but perked up when I saw there were tables free at Lily’s Treasure Chest Restaurant .

Started the review of the contract whilst waiting for my order and continued with it whilst eating (not good manners I know). Made a good start on the read through and will get up extra special early tomorrow to finish the job. That’s what friends are for!

When I got back after breakfast Rose and I went to Hummingbird Furnishings in Coconut Drive to start forming some thoughts as to how we will furnish our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize when it is finished.

That done we had a quick bite to eat and went to look at what had been done and what was going on for our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

The first thing we noticed was that they had removed the supports for the veranda on the northern side.

20130220-192046.jpg

We can see the Ground Floor exterior wall again.

And they (Martin in charge for this) had started erecting scaffolding so that they could remove the form boards fitted for the veranda floor.

20130220-192311.jpg

“One more board and we should be able to reach the boards”.

Within minutes Martin was up there – hammer in hand – with his workmate starting to remove the boards.

20130220-192608.jpg

What you would call a tight work-space.

20130220-192733.jpg

“So where shall we start?”.

Meanwhile two of the guys had started removing support poles under the veranda on the southern side of the house.

20130220-193021.jpg

Poles already removed neatly stacked for future use.

Diligently they set about removing the poles.

20130220-193257.jpg

Nearly half way there.

Hearing the sound of a hammer Rose and I then headed up the golf cart ramp to the First Floor to see Nicholas hard at work removing the forms in the living/kitchen area of the Ground Floor self-contained apartment.

20130220-193617.jpg

Some of the ceiling already revealed.

20130220-193729.jpg

“Wish I had three hands”.

With only one strut left to remove Nicholas propped up the form boards with poles he had removed earlier.

20130220-194000.jpg

“That’ll stop them falling on my head”.

That done Nicholas set about removing the boards.

20130220-194138.jpg

One to go.

When then went up to the First Floor to see that they were busy fitting the rebar rings (sorry but I have to mention the rebar). They fit a ring very eight inches so there are a hell of a lot of rings to fit.

20130220-194443.jpg

The rebar rings.

20130220-194614.jpg

A close-up and personal of Anhill fixing a rebar ring.

He wasn’t the only one though.

20130220-194804.jpg

Working on the frames for the western (lagoon) side Second Floor veranda.

20130220-194934.jpg

Many hands make light work.

The headline is based on the song released in 1985 (as a charity single for the American Foundation for AIDS Research) by Dionne Warwick and Friends (Gladys Knight, Elton John and Stevie Wonder). The record reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 and raised over US$ 3 million for the cause.

5 thoughts on “‘That’s What Friends Are For’ in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: ‘I Feel Lucky’ in Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. John,
    Looks like great progress is being made. Love reading about your days and adventures on the Caye. Have a great day!

    • Hi Kathi. Yes, slowly but surely it is taking shape. By the time Les and you arrive the top floor should be there. Love to take you to have a look when you arrive. Oh, and the towels are blue and white stripes (maybe 2 inches wide). Regards John

Leave a Reply

