‘I Feel Lucky’ in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Sitting on the veranda this morning I was struck by just how lucky Rose and I are to be living on Ambergris Caye, Belize. Why so reflective? Well I suppose it might have had something to do with it being a beautiful sunny morning. A morning made cooler by a strong south-westerly breeze (well I think it was coming from that direction).

Being able to sit outside in the early morning wearing just a pair of shorts (yes,I was topless!) watching people (those that are here for a holiday and those that live here) walking the beach and looking so happy to be doing so. Being transfixed by the swaying of the palms which sometimes appear to take on a human form (and no, I am not on hallucinogenic drugs).

I don’t want anyone to run away with the thought that this is always an idyllic place to live. It has it’s frustrations. You cannot always get what you would like. Or when you want it. Simple things can take so much longer to complete. It may not be Shangri-La but, as far as I am concerned, the ‘pros’ far outweigh the ‘cons’ and I feel lucky to eventually have relocated here.

In this contented frame of mind I turned my attention to reviewing the draft contract that my friend had asked me to have a look at.

I have to be honest that I have to concentrate that much harder now than when I was working for a living but eventually I got through the draft – marking up my suggested amendments and listing questions I have – and when I did I was only too ready to go look at our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

Because of the review of the contract Rose and I didn’t get to our land until around 3.30 pm. We weren’t disappointed by this though because there was likely to be more to see when we got there. And there was.

On pulling up we could see that the rebar frames for the Second Floor veranda on the eastern side had been completed.

20130221-205803.jpg

Just need the forms fitted now.

Before going up to the First Floor we decided to have a walk around the Ground Floor now that the forms and support poles have been removed.

20130221-210041.jpg

Kitchen/living room area. Currently serving as a locker room for the guys.

20130221-210216.jpg

Second bedroom. What was going to be the store room

.

20130221-210828.jpg

The pump room.

Pleased with how the Ground Floor self-contained apartment is progressing Rose and I took the stairs to the First Floor and when we got there we saw that good progress had been made on installing the rebar frames for the Second Floor veranda.

20130222-044218.jpg

Southern side.

20130222-044447.jpg

Northern side.

20130222-044642.jpg

Eastern side.

And they working on the frames for the western side.

20130222-044859.jpg

Pulling the rebar rod up.

20130222-045016.jpg

“Got it”.

20130222-045141.jpg

“Over to you”.

Inside (I know it hasn’t got a ceiling yet but …) they were all around cutting and fitting the forms for the beams. Below is a sequence from measurement to fixing.

20130222-045653.jpg

20130222-045726.jpg

20130222-050011.jpg

20130222-050127.jpg

20130222-050206.jpg

20130222-050254.jpg

20130222-050325.jpg

20130222-050430.jpg

Work is progressing well and we could be in with a chance of the concrete pour for the beams taking place on Saturday.

The headline is based on the 1992 release by Mary Chapin Carpenter which was a track on her album ‘Come On Come On’. The song reached number four on the US Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart.

17 thoughts on “‘I Feel Lucky’ in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough
    time locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    • Hi Marylou
      I’ve never commented upon one of my own blogs (might try it and say how wonderful it is !) but I think if you scroll to the end of a post there is a box in which you can make a comment (only nice ones please) and post it.

      Regards
      John

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
    I definitely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will
    often come back sometime soon. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job,
    have a nice morning!

  3. @Johnhenry – it’s South by Southwest (google for more info). An Austin event bringing musicians, film-makers, writers etc to Austin for two weeks of concerts, meetings, events etc etc. Hope you and Rose have a place to stay, as Austin has been booked for months. I rather thought you might have been in music journalism, based on the songs noted in your posts. I’ve lived both in London (hampstead) and Scotland……the weather in AC is so much better, and hope to move there soon. FYI, Marsah@aol.com or FB.

    • Wasn’t aware of South by Southwest Marsa but am now fully googled. Thought there weren’t as many hotels showing as I thought there would be. Now I know why. We got booked OK though. Never a journalist of any kind. Just introduced the song title link for a bit of fun. Hempstead was always far too expensive for me to be able to live there. My bosses did though! Regards John

  4. Wind was blowing from the ESE yesterday; you need to adjust your wind gauge. 😉 You can always check sanpedroweather.com for wind speed and direction. Great site (and it’s not mine, and I don’t get royalties for pointing it out!) Your home is really coming right along — exciting!

    • Thanks for correct wind information for yesterday Emily. I obviously need either a pair of glasses or vastly improved sensory attributes, or both. Was aware that the weather forecast is featured within the Ambergris Caye .com Forum but when I was writing that part of the blog it hadn’t been posted. They need to start earlier! As to the build, yes, it is very exciting. John

  5. Hmm. It appears I made some sort of error when posting. So you and Rose are coming to Dallas and then off to Austin? The Austin dates coincide with SXSW – will you be attending? I’ll be there on the 8th.

  6. Rose, John looking good. Some dodgy health and safety practices going on with the scaffolding which wouldn’t be allowed in the UK but I guess the saving is reflcted in the price.
    I may be in the Ferry tomorrow / Sunday so will report on progress in due course
    Have a good one

    Jim

  7. Blimey! You didn’t mention The Times today. Have you given up all hope of them paying you to mention their online edition every day?

Leave a Reply

