“Good Time” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


My day yesterday started much as every day starts for me. I wake up! Then it’s to the kitchen (I do put some clothes on), kettle on and then the mug of black, unsweetened instant coffee. Mug in hand I then unplug the iPad Air and take both out to the veranda. The western one on the lagoon side.

I then spend around an hour to ninety minutes catching up with what’s been going on in the world. Well, to be honest, not everything, just the bits that interest me.

I then shower, shave, dress, pat Ziggy, kiss Rose goodbye (I have been known to get this in the wrong order) and head off for breakfast at Estel’s Dine By the Sea.

During my time at Estel’s I normally give some thought as to what I plan to do for the rest of the day. What tasks I think I might like to tackle. I never put too many on my mental list because I don’t want to fail.

I didn’t draw up the list yesterday though because I knew that we had Peter Lawrence’s (aka Pedro of Pedro’s Hotel) birthday lunch to attend at Caribbean Villas Hotel so I just spent a bit of time watching (it’s so much easier watching) Lloyd and Gonzalo working on the garden.

After breakfast I’d gone to the Caribbean Depot to order eight yards of shingle (gravel for non UK readers) and shortly after I arrived home this was delivered and straight away Llyod and Gonzalo set about spreading it along the driveway.

IMG_9985.JPG

IMG_9981.JPG

IMG_9982.JPG

Gonzalo on wheelbarrow duty.

Lloyd had to leave after a while so Gonzalo turned his attention to building the rock walls for the beds that we want for flowers, shrubs and trees.

IMG_9990.JPG

Choosing the right rock.

IMG_9987.JPG

And the wall starts.

IMG_9988.JPG

And in no time at all.

IMG_9996.JPG

One.

IMG_9997.JPG

Two.

IMG_9991.JPG

And

IMG_0001.JPG

three and four.

Enough of the garden you’re thinking. What about Peter’s (Pedro’s) birthday lunch. Well it was good. Really good. Smoked salmon, steak (cooked to perfection), duck (I opted ‘out’), mashed potatoes, rice and salad. Finished off with cheesecake and key lime pie. Oh, and we toasted Peter with champagne too. No photos though – I was too busy having a good time!

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 2008 by Alan Jackson which reached number forty on the US Billboard Hot 100 and number one on the US Hot Country Songs chart.

6 Comments

  1. Heather says:

    How much round abouts cost on building the home?

    1. Hi Heather. How much a home costs to build depends on so many factors. What type material (concrete or wood), the size, where it’s built, what quality of finish you go for, where it is, how successful you are in your negotiations with a building contractor, etc.

  2. Roger says:

    Hello John, How many miles will the new road go north from the bridge when finished? We might stop & give you a shout in August when we are there if that would be ok.
    Thanks Roger & Shirley

    1. Hi Roger. The stretch they are now working on will take the road to around 8 miles north of the bridge.
      Hope to see your wife and you when you get here.

  3. Krys says:

    John,
    I enjoy reading your blog. Question: Why doesn’t Rose accompany you to Estel’s for breakfast? Just curious.
    Krys

  4. footballbat says:

    Great post John.

    Looks like the makings of quite a bonfire on the lagoon side after the recent clean up.

    The garden is coming along. Always nice to have an ongoing (and possibly never-ending) project.

Leave a Comment