“This Is It” (IT) in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Saturday started the same as all days for me. I woke up!

I think I ‘hit’ the veranda – the western (lagoon facing one) – around 04.30 hours. I cannot recall the exact time. Obviously (as regular readers of this blog will know) I had my mug of black coffee and my iPad with me. It wouldn’t be the same in the early morning without my two ‘friends’ with me.

I (or do I mean we?) spent a couple of hours out there catching up on the news via The Times online. Sorry to find that there were no reports of purchases in the transfer market. Speculation yes. Action, no. Oh well, there’s still time before the season starts on Saturday 16 August.

After showering, shaving, brushing the teeth and then dressing I headed off for an early morning breakfast at Estel’s Dine By the Sea and then returned home for a day of World Cup football. It sounds like a hard life doesn’t it. But someone’s got to do it!

Before heading home I went to the airstrip to take a few photos for yesterday’s edition and whilst I was on the western side of the runway I saw a fenced in area containing some new scooters.

20140708-070027-25227735.jpg

20140708-070318-25398128.jpg

20140708-070357-25437604.jpg

Could these new scooters be for the scooter rental business that will open shortly in Barrier Reef Drive?

Upon getting home I settled down for the the first of the two games and watched Argentina go in to a fairly early lead against Belgium and , aided by the occasional flash of brilliance by Messi, held out to proceed to the semi-final stage. In the afternoon the game between the Netherlands and Costa Rica was a hard fought affair with the generally outplayed Central American side working their socks off to prevent the Dutch from scoring. And they did during regulation time and extra time but lost out in the penalty shoot out. They played valiantly though and did Central America proud.

With the football over there was time to grab a bite to eat, shower and get changed before Rose and I took the road south to attend the official opening of Island Time Beach Bar (formerly Fido’s South and then the Sandbar).

For those of you not familiar with the area you have to head south down Coconut Drive and Sea Grape Drive and you’ll know your getting close when you see Victoria House on your left.

20140708-074743-28063846.jpg

Carry on down the road a bit past Royal Caribbean Resort and you’ll see a sign ‘hanging out’ over the road.

20140708-075107-28267633.jpg

This is the turning you want.

Island Time (“IT”) is the latest venture of Ruth and Graham Verralls who formerly managed Caribbean Villas Hotel.

As soon as you walk in to the place you cannot fail to notice what must have been painstaking attention to detail. From the huge palapa over the bar and seating area, to the extremely well appointed toilets (rest rooms for non UK readers).

The bar itself is extremely spacious and well stocked.

20140708-075711-28631654.jpg

And it has two, wall-mounted, TVs.

Brent Butcher was there to entertain the clientele but was forced to take a short break when a heavy rainstorm hit the place shortly after 19.00 hours. It didn’t stop him for long though.

It’s a bit of a drive from town (and even further if, like us, you live or are staying north of the bridge) but it’s well worth the effort. If you’re looking for a bar with great views, spacious seating, friendly and helpful staff and a convivial atmosphere then this is it!

20140708-080432-29072653.jpg

20140708-080529-29129191.jpg

20140708-080619-29179704.jpg

20140708-080656-29216671.jpg

Oh, and the kitchen is opening very soon.

Give “IT” a try. “IT” could be just what you’re looking for.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1976 by Melba Moore which reached number nine in the UK Singles Chart.

10 thoughts on ““This Is It” (IT) in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. That bar and restaurant look to be very nice, all you are going to need ther is “iceman”. Would really like yor take on that angle. Do most of the pubs in the area serv ice in their drinks?

    • Hi Kristina. Football clubs in England but new players for their squads and when they do so it is known as a transfer ie a player transfers from one club yo another.
      The Premiership, which the league that I most closely follow, has two transfer windows. One that starts when a season ends and runs through to 31 August and the other which starts at midnight 31 December and ends 31 January.

  2. IT looks great, I hope Graham and Ruth do really well. As you say, a bit of a drag down there, but living on AC one does have TIME Draught beer and a kitchen soon, sounds great.
    Hows the boat going?

      • Hi John, We would love to chat, thinking seriously of “moving ” and retiring there for a year or more. Born in the UK, live in Seattle and your soccer talk was what hooked me to your blog… my wife and I would want to be sure that we could keep up with EPL soccer. Any experiences to share? Not yet booked, but planning a 2 week visit the back end of November.
        Bev and Tom Chivers

      • Hi Tom. Worry not about not being able to get the Premiership on TV here in Belize. I’ve seen more games live on TV since moving here than I could ever get back in the UK. Lunchtime kick-offs mean an early start in front of the TV but I’m out of bed early anyway so its no trouble for me.

        Feel free to ask any questions you may have. I’ll do my best to provide answers. And if I don’t know the answer I’ll tell you.

        Hopefully we can get to meet if you make here later in the year.

  3. I need a review, How is the Belikin on tap. I have only ‘sampled’ the bottle version. We will be in San Pedro the Saturday, perhaps I should see for myself.

Leave a Reply

