“It’s All Over Now” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Up around 04.45 hours on Saturday morning and out on the veranda (the western, lagoon facing one on the first floor) before 05.00 hours with my mug of black coffee and iPad. It’s still dark at that time of the morning but that suits me fine. I Ike this time of the day. Not being able to see so much ‘kicks’ the seeing and smelling and hearing senses in to ‘top gear’ mode. Well, it does for me anyway.

At this time of the day I find that I can smell the foliage of the trees (not ours yet because they are too young/small but there are plenty in the adjacent lots) so much more. There are also so many so any different sounds to listen to. The sound of mullet jumping out of the lagoon and re entering it ((I’m sure that there is a proper term to describe it but it escapes me at the moment and I really cannot be bothered to engage the memory cells ( for one because I’m just plain lazy and secondly for fear that the cells will fail me)), the sounds of the leaves rustling in the breeze, the birds saying ‘good morning’ to each other. Oh, and the screeching of the raccoons. I haven’t worked out yet whether they are fighting off potential predators or if this is just how they normally ‘talk’.

There’s also the sounds of the outboards on boats leaving the lagoon side and those already on the Caribbean – sound carries so much when there aren’t so many golf carts, trucks or cars rattling (the road is bumpy) by the front of our house.

I took ‘time out’ to read the match preview for the up-coming Chelsea v Arsenal game in The Times on-line and felt (why, oh why did I feel this?) reasonably confident that we get a result. A draw at least. In this confident frame of mind I moved indoors. The time by then was 06.40 hours, five minutes before kick-off.

The confidence didn’t last long though. Within seven minutes we were two goals down. Within fifteen minutes we were down to ten men – having had Gibbs inexplicably sent off for a handball offence committed by Oxade-Chaberlain- and two minutes later we had let in another goal from the penalty spot. I sat and watched the whole excruciating game as the frailties of the team were exposed as we lost six nil. Whatever slim chance we had of winning the Premier League evaporated before my eyes. It pains me to admit it but, it’s all over now!

Feeling mightily disheartened (I really shouldn’t take football, and Arsenal in particular, so seriously) I needed a pick-me-up so headed to Estel’s for a late breakfast (well quite late by my normal standards).

Those of you that read what I put ‘out there’ with any degree of regularity may have (understandably I might add) formed the opinion that I am a creature of habit. I’ve spent quite a bit of time and a fair amount of money working out what I do and do not like so it seems a bit stupid to me to pay no heed to what I’ve spent to learn about myself. But Arsenal’s annihilation had created a confused state of mind and I decided to throw caution to the wind. Brave isn’t the word for it ((suggestions as to what the word (s) are is NOT requested even though you might like to let me know what you think!)).

Creating unheard of consternation amongst the team at Estel’s I told them that I didn’t want ‘my usual’ of eggs sunny side up, potatoes, bacon and tortilla. No, I was going to have a change. Substitute Charles’ world famous (OK I might be going slightly over the top here) corned beef hash.

20140608-140047.jpg

Feeling mightily pleased with myself for this momentous decision I savoured the tastes (and the ‘hash was good by the way) and enjoyed the view.

20140608-140306.jpg

Not bad, eh?

Feeling much better I concluded that it is only football after all (did I really write that?) and that there is always next season. If you are an Arsenal fan there is always next season. Sad, but true. And we do still have the chance to win the FA Cup.

With this much more balanced view of life (yes I know it’s only football) I set off home and on the way noticed two building projects in the Boca Del Rio area. It’s funny but since going through our own build I’m strangely drawn to other building projects. Something I need to be concerned about?

The first is a two storey extension above the Train Station that I understand is going to be a living area for the owner.

20140608-141111.jpg

It’s huge.

Just a way down the street is a much, much smaller project but one that is so typical of many of the homes on the island.

20140608-141245.jpg

They needed a shoe horn to fit this one in!

Looking across at the new construction I noticed that it was Rubio at work.

20140608-141433.jpg

Rubio on the right of the photo.

Rubio if you recall is the ‘main man’ that erected our fence for us.

I had a little chat with Rubio and then headed home and after reassuring Rose that I had made peace with the world again went and sat on the veranda where I heard the sounds of activity from the lot immediately north of us. Looking down I was immediately reminded of something that Kathi Moore had said to me only a few weeks previously when she and her husband Les had been on the island for their annual visit.

We’ve known Kathi and Les quite some time having first met them some years when we both chose the same time of the year for our holidays. Anyway, Kathi followed the build of our house via my blog from the outset and during it wasn’t slow in letting me know that she really, really didn’t want to see anymore rebar. So imagine my surprise when she told that she feared that she was suffering from withdrawal symptoms. So Kathi the next photo is just for you!

20140608-142553.jpg

Literally dragging my eyes away from the rebar (it can be done Kathi) I could see the guys moving pilings in to position.

20140608-142746.jpg

Using a rudimentary BUT very effective roller system.

And they then set about placing the pilings.

20140608-142916.jpg

I’ve just had a quick read of what I have written and it’s obvious to me (you too probably) that I haven’t fully recovered from Arsenal’s crushing defeat so I believe that for the sake of my sanity (and likely yours too) it’s best that I bring this edition to a close. I’ll leave you though with a couple of more normal photos!

20140608-143231.jpg

View from our front door. Not bad, eh?

20140608-143337.jpg

The sun setting last night.

Normal service will (hopefully) be resumed with the next edition. You’ll have to read it to find out though!

The headline for today’s (rather strange even if I do say so myself) edition is based on the single released in 1964 by The Rolling Stones which reached number one in the UK Singles Chart and number twenty-six in the US Billboard Hot 100.

14 thoughts on ““It’s All Over Now” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Hi John, my husband and I are currently in San Pedro and are looking at building too. Would it be possible to meet somewhere and get your advice on all the aspects we might encounter. Your house looks great and we would really appreciate any help you could give, we don’t know anyone here and would love to meet more people from home.

    Thanks, Lynn (franklin2918@gmail.com)

  2. words and photos are always enjoyed Kris from Corozal BTW it is unbearably hot here the last few days…. does your proximity to the lagoon keep you cool????

  3. I did get a little rebar fix this year, Les and I watched the sea wall going up where BC’s used to be. Thanks, though, for remembering my love/hate relationship with rebar.

  4. John, Your build blog was great. I took my trip to Belize almost every evening. I loved the progress reports and the rebar pics that you provide. I enjoy reading you as often as you write (you have been a little slack lately). That is the beauty part of being retired you can do what you want when you want to. The things that you write about makes me feel like I am down there, hanging out with you guys and enjoying the things you see and do. (no…I don’t really want to help paint the fence) You have a great blog, and I do enjoy reading It. Every word, sometimes two or three times. Keep up the good work. Fred

    .

  5. Great stuff John, as a mild Chelsea supporter (my Dad also supports THe Gunners) I did feel for Arsenal in what was an absolute thrashing. You always have to have hope in football, I live in hope that I will see England win the world cup again (I was born in ’66) although my “hope” levels are not that high for Rio……

    • Whatever slim (very slim) hopes we had disappeared with the two points dropped against Swansea yesterday.
      Looking forward to the World Cup but -sorry to say- do not give us a much of a chance.

Leave a Reply

