“Lessons in Love” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Spent a bit of time yesterday pulling together the required supporting documentation for the importation of our golf cart (absent of import tax) to Ambergris Caye.

This required copies of the following : Belize drivers license, “QRP” ID card (I also included a copy of the “acceptance in to the ‘Program” letter I received for good measure), photograph of the off-street parking I have at the accommodation we are renting, photograph of the off-street parking we will have when we move to our build in Ambergris Cate, Belize, a copy of the Title for our land and, just to be sure, a copy of the letter we received from the San Pedro Town Council approving the build for our new home.

After a visit to Gekko Graphics in Buccaneer Street to get photocopies of everything I went straight to Captain Shark’s to hand over the documentation – along with the application form and the fee of BZ$ 100 – so that they can now provide the Belize Tourism Board with a copy of the purchase order so that approval can be granted to import the golf cart without having import duty applied.

Whilst at Captain Shark’s Enrique told me that our ‘cart was ‘on its way’ and could be with us in two or three weeks. Then it will just be a matter of getting the permit ( and having the registration plate fitted) from the San Pedro Town Council at a cost of BZ$ 335 and getting insurance (I am only going to ‘go’ for third party).

When I returned to the condo we are renting I found that I had received an email from Benny’s detailing the prices of the appliances we are considering buying (as opposed to buying them in the States and having them shipped here). Rose and I set about carrying out a cost comparison and then sent an email to Benny’s asking for prices for the items we need for the Ground Floor self-contained apartment.

Based on the comparison so far it looks as if we will be purchasing from Benny’s. Cost wise (price of goods,shipping cost, trip to the States for selection purposes) it’s very close but by purchasing locally we should have far more control over the delivery date and the guarantees/warranties will be easier to exercise if needs be (hopefully not but …).

I then sent an email to Jesus (no the sun hasn’t got to me) at The Tile & Stone Center asking if he could send samples of the tiles we have chosen over on the water taxi service so that we can use them to make our final selections for the granite surfaces. As has been the case throughout the whole experience with Jesus he responded very quickly and informed me that they would be sent on the 10.30 am service from Belize City (as it transpired (after three visits by me to the Cargo Office) they actually came over on the 4.30 pm service.). Thank you Jesus.

With all of our administrative chores taken care of it was time for Rose and I to head to our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and we got there just after 3 pm to find a delivery of cement in progress. Cement for the floors that will very shortly be laid.

20130514-052415.jpg

Lorry (truck for non UK readers) being unloaded.

20130514-052534.jpg

Automation on the build for the first time to unload and stack the cement.

The cement and the Sheetrock (plasterboard for UK readers) and ceiling grids had been delivered from the mainland and were being collected from the barge landing just up the road from us near the Kama Lounge.

20130514-053056.jpg

Truck (lorry) departing from the barge with another load of cement.

20130514-053201.jpg

Remaining cement waiting to be collected for delivery.

20130514-053304.jpg

Ceiling grids and Sheetrock (plasterboard) under the plastic sheeting.

At the build itself the guys were busy at work on a general clean-up and had started striking the lines for the final coat of cement for the floors.

20130514-054236.jpg

Lines struck for the floor from the dining room area to the kitchen.

20130514-054413.jpg

One line struck in the hallway.

20130514-054508.jpg

Utility Room finished.

20130514-054614.jpg

Nicholas applying the finishing touches in the dining room area.

Down below on the Ground Floor Angel, Martin and Alfredo were beavering away applying the final coat of cement for the “master bedroom”.

20130514-054843.jpg

Many hands make light work!

The three guys took their afternoon break while I was there and Alfredo (ably assisted by Angel) took the opportunity to help me with my attempts to improve my Spanish. He chose though to try to teach me some phrases that I could use when trying out my ‘skills’ on Rose. Phrases of an amorous nature. What you might call ‘lessons in love’. Need to be word perfect though before I try them out!

The headline is based on the 1986 single by Level 42 which reached number three in the UK Singles Chart and number twelve in the US Billboard Hot 100.

8 thoughts on ““Lessons in Love” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Maybe you can answer this question. In Feb 2014 my wife and I are returning to Ambergrise Caye for 6 to 12 months. Are there any regulations that prohibit us from purchasing or importing a golf cart? I keep getting conflicting information on the web.

    • Hi Bill. Are you entering under the “QRP”? Are you a resident? Either way I would contact the San Pedro Town Council because you will need a vehicle permit. I got one through my acceptance in to the “QRP”.

    • No we were waiting to apply for QRP until we are sure we want to stay. We will be there as a non-resident. I’m having a hard time getting a straight answer on whether we need to be QRP or a permenant resident or not.

      • Bill, whether to ‘go’ for “QRP” or Residency depends on a number of things. We have come here to retire so no need for Residency which would allow us to work. You can also apply for the “QRP” before you arrive in Belize whereas for Residency you need to live here for 12 months (leaving for not more than (I think) 12 days. Both have application fees and associated costs eg medical, criminal record report,etc

        I gained entry in to the “QRP” within 6 weeks of the submission of my application whereas I have herd of people waiting three months following their submission for Residency.

        As to importing a golf cart I believe you will to achieve either “QRP” or Residency status to do so. You will also need to have your own property and demonstrate that you have off street parking for it.

        Hope this helps in some way.
        Regards
        John

      • Thank you. Yours is the ost informed answer I have received. And in line with what I had begun to think was correct. With that we will proceed with QRP if we decide to stay. We have secured a place to stay 2-1/2 miles south of town. Hope to run into you while we are there.

  2. Speaking of making light… John, are you useing any type of flash for the pics or is that just the amount of natural sun light that comes into your beautiful new house? Fred

    • I think I have perhaps used the flash around ten times since I started the blog Fred and probably half of them were taking shots of the water tank. The house, with loads of windows, does catch a lot of light. Kind regards John

Leave a Reply

