‘Here Comes That Rainy Day Feeling Again’ in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Got up slightly later than usual this morning at 5.25 am and virtually immediately heard the sound I dread. No, not Rose telling me what to do but the sound of rain. Very heavy rain.

It was raining incessantly- I couldn’t see it because the sun (?) didn’t come up- until around 7.30 am when it started to abate. It was still ‘there’though waiting to return and as it got lighter it was a very grey, cold day. Not looking good for our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize today. Things got worse when at around 8.30 am the heavens opened up again and the rain came down,did it come down.

20130123-112723.jpg

Difficult to see where the water ends and the sky begins.

Giving the morning up as a ‘bad job’ I elected to try to cheer myself up by going for breakfast at Estel’s so I put on my rainwear and headed on down there. Seems like nearly everybody ( a bit of exaggeration here) had the same idea as me because the place was packed. So packed I had to sit inside. Thought this was a bummer until I saw people sitting outside getting hit by rain spray.

20130123-112915.jpg

Even packed inside.

20130123-113006.jpg

Outside one individual went to extreme lengths to keep dry.

Knew that it was not going to be the most productive day on our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize when I picked up on an email from Daniel Camal, our building contractor, informing me that there would be no work this morning because of the rain. If the rained ceased, however, they would work in the afternoon. Much to the consternation and amusement of my fellow diners I immediately started doing the ‘non rain’ dance. Not really, but I felt like it.

Really sorry to report that the rain did not let up. It rained and rained all day. So, as much as Rose and I wanted to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize today we didn’t. We chose instead to watch the Arsenal team that shows up too occasionally thump West Ham. We then elected to go and celebrate by having a few Belikins at BC’s.

Pleased that we did because we got to see the famous Coconut Leo suitably attired in his latest rainwear.

20130123-205527.jpg

Dallas style shoulders.

20130123-205622.jpg

And doubles up as great safety wear when riding a bike.

It is still raining as I finish this edition but hopefully tomorrow we shall see the sun return and work on our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize will recommence.

The headline is based on the 1971 song by The Fortunes which reached number 15 in the US Billboard Hot 100.

Hopefully in tomorrow’s headline I can include a sunnier aspect.

9 Comments

  1. Harry the Hornet says:

    And what would you know about the forefront of fashion?? (i.e. John not Rose)

    1. Obviously a lot more than you do having seen what you wear.

    2. Harry the Hornet says:

      Due to my job I am constrained to wear only a Yellow Shirt and Black Shorts. It’s midnight here. Goodnight and hope it doesn’t rain too much where you are.

  2. Larry Merrill says:

    Looks like Coconut Leos air bag has deployed. Did he him something on his way out of BCs?

    1. Think it was just in case he hit something!

  3. Harriette says:

    When in California last year I shopped for rain gear that was not expensive but durable. I found the best at Wal-Mart for about $5 US for adult size and child sized ponchos.

    1. Thanks Harriette. Hopefully Robert picks up on this.

  4. robert vernon says:

    Hi John, sorry about the weather affecting ‘Your build’ But is it a good idea to bring somekind of cheap plastic rainwear or is it available to buy there

    1. Hi Robert. It is a dry early morning (6.30 am) so far so hopefully work will recommence today. It is a good idea to bring some rainwear with you because nearly everything seems more expensive here. Doesn’t need to be at the forefront of fashion. Just needs to do the job.

Leave a Comment