“You’re My Best Friend” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Hi it’s the Zigstar here. 

I’ve been trying for an absolute age to wrest control of the iPad from John but as furtive as I’ve been – and trust me I have been the ultimate in furtiveness – I’ve failed miserably. At times it seems like the iPad is an extension of his arm. Does he never put the thing down?

Get hold of it at night when he’s in bed you’re probably thinking. Well that’s a good idea and under normal circumstances it would probably work but I don’t operate in normal circumstances. Night time is when I do my thing. This is the time of the day when I make sure that Rose (she’s really, really nice) and John can safely sleep soundly in their bed (yes, the one that I’m not allowed to get on – yet!).

But a few Fridays ago the opportunity presented itself. Darren ( he’s a member of BATSUB based at Price Barracks – my previous home) came over for the weekend and John (unusually so if I might add) did his best (his best, by the way, is not very good) to be sociable and, as a consequence, was not glued to the iPad.

I’m racing ahead of myself though. Quite understandably after such a long absence you want to know how I’ve been. You do, don’t you.

Well I’ve been very good ( I’ve been naughty a few times too though) .I’m still enjoying life at Highbury House with Rose (have I mentioned that I really like her) and John. I’ve been exercising quite a lot so that I can efficiently and expertly carry out my duties as Head of Security. I’ve put on 3lbs and I now weigh in at 59lbs. But there’s no fat. I’m a lean, mean fighting machine. 

Now with the amount of treats I get I could quite easily be a roly-poly boy. I mean just a few weeks ago my friends Kathy and Ron from North Carolina came to Ambergris Caye for their final visit before they move here next April and even though they must have had loads of stuff on their minds they still thought of me. Look what they bought me.

  

Lots of treats but they also brought me some new exercise equipment so I retain my fine physique too!

The big excitement in the house though was the impending visit of our very good friend Geordie who signed off from BATSUB at the end of June when he was posted to Germany. Geordie sometimes used to look after me  when I lived at Price Barracks and at the beginning I couldn’t understand what he said (he speaks with a broad North East England accent) but I’ve got two great ears that are just made for linguistics and picking up on regional dialects. And, even if I do say so myself, I’m an extremely fast learner and in no time at all we could converse with each other. Better still though was that I even managed to inflect my barks with a Geordie accent!

Geordie was due to arrive on the Sunday and Rose , with a modicum of help from John, had planned a surprise – she was going to decorate the bar at Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill. Her plans were scuppered though when John got a text from Geordie. He’d arrived and was sitting at the bar waiting for us!

Rose being the ingenious type that she is ( and very pretty too if I might add) seemlessly switched to Plan B mode and started sticking pieces of paper to the breakfast bar.

  

With the sign up Rose and John rushed to meet Geordie. Me? I stayed at home. I had work to do guarding our home!

  
If you’re wondering what Geordie looks like here’s a photo of him in his working clothes. Neat eh!

After what seemed like an interminably long time – it probably was because they looked and smelt like they’d really celebrated Geordie’s arrival – they all returned home. And then the fun began. Geordie had presents for me! But not before we reacquainted with each other.

  
With the ‘hellos’ over it was time for my presents. And about time too!

  
Some Tasty Bits for a tasty boy!

And some tick and flea treatment and some tick twisters that Rose ( she really looks after me) had ordered.

  
And best of all is the ball.

                 
It doesn’t look like much you’re thinking. But it is, it’s special. It’s got lights in it. Thank you Geordie, you’re my best friend.

I knew straight away that it would be my new favourite bit of exercise equipment.

  
“No, you can’t have it Rose” ( Rose is the pretty one on the right and I’m the incredibably handsome one on the left).

Here’s me exercising with it when they’d gone to bed.

  
“Now that’s what you call a selfie!”

I’ll try to write again real soon and with Geordie with us until 26 December I should get plenty of opportunities to get my paws on the iPad (I’m now starting to think of it as Mypad) real soon.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1976 by Queen which reached number 7 on the UK Singles Chart and number 16 on the US Billboard Hot 100.

 

9 thoughts on ““You’re My Best Friend” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. you are so lucky Ziggy……….. the babes in my house have had to share a single tennis ball…….. Happy Holidays to all in your home.

Leave a Reply

