“Worth It” The wait that is for Estel’s Dine By the Sea to re-open in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize


After the false start of yesterday I set off from home this morning feeling a little less than confident. Would they or wouldn’t they, Estel’s Dine By the Sea that is, be open for breakfast.

I arrived in ‘Town at exactly 06.45 hours – I know that they open at 06.00 hours but I didn’t want to appear too eager, too needy. I parked and then padlocked the ‘cart, grabbed my bag and strode purposefully (and optimistically ) towards Estel’s looking for a sign of ‘life’. Any sign.

And then I saw. The door was open AND the shutters had been removed from the bar, the NEW bar that is. There was Mark and Sam and I could hear noise coming from the kitchen. Only one thing to do. Take my place at MY table . It’s not really my table- table 11 that is- but I like to think of it that way. And you know what? I was the first person to eat there after the re-opening. A commerative T shirt occasion?

Anyway, enough of my waffle. How about some photos.

The view hasn’t changed. It’s still beautiful.

And the breakfast?

It hasn’t changed. It’s still great!

So what has changed?

Well for a start there’s the bar.

And another view.

With comfortable bar stools.

A slightly rearranged outside dining area. But my favourite table 11 is where it’s always been!

What about the inside?

Well the chalkboard is still there!

  •  

And – obviously – the internal section of the new bar.

Talking about the bar, it got its first customer at 07.14 hours precisely when I heard the immortal words ” A regular please”.

And the honour went to Lesley ” Shaggy” Lisbey.

Back to the changes. There’s a changed internal layout.

  
But there’s still a ‘special’ place for Charlie!

Charlie in his corner.

And what about Charles you’re wondering.

Busy making sure the entrance was nice and clean.

And me?

Happy, very happy.

Estel’s has been closed for what has seemed like forever (OK I’m exaggerating a bit) but as far as I’m concerned it was worth it. I love the new look Estel’s. Well done to Charles and the rest of the ‘E Team’

The headline for today’s momentous edition is based on the single released this year by Fifth Harmony which reached number twelve on the US Billboard Hot 100 and number three in the UK Singles Charts.

10 thoughts on ““Worth It” The wait that is for Estel’s Dine By the Sea to re-open in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize

  1. happy for you and your good fortune. it has taken months here in tiny Corozal to find a place to have breakfast for a group of 6-8 people. so many places we tried, could only fix a single breakfast at a time so it would take an hour for our group to be fed. Friends decided to open only for Sunday am breakfast and they are Good. Darlene and Marios at the OAsis.

    • On the beach not too far away from the Town Council’s offices in Barrier Reef Drive ( the road affectionately known as front street). Just ask and someone will point you in the right direction.

  2. It looks great! I can’t recall if they always had all that colorful artwork (since we always sat outside), but it looks fantastic. Glad you finally got your Estel’s brekkie, John!

  3. You look like a man who’s just received a Red Cross parcel after 5 yrs in the desert. !!! I must say I think the changes are great. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

