“Something Old, Something New” at Estel’s Dine By the Sea, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


The last thirty days, although I’ve had lots to occupy myself with, have dragged, oh how they have dragged.

I’ve still started the day as I always start the day. I wake up! I then make a mug of instant black and unsweetened coffee and retire to the veranda. The western, lagoon facing one where I sup my coffee and read The Times online (on a Sunday I read The Sunday Times. Honestly, I do).

But the mornings just haven’t been the same. I’ve felt uneasy. Distracted. Not my usual self. “What to do for breakfast?” has been the burning question.

This unsettled state of mind all started on 7 September when the harsh reality hit me that Estel’s Dine By the Sea was closed for a month. Yes, a whole month. That day saw the start of my month long tropical depression.

Now its not as if Ambergris Caye doesn’t have an abundance (even during ‘low’ or ‘slow’ season) of alternative eateries at which to take breakfast but regular readers will probably have sensed that I’m somewhat of a creature of habit. “I know what I like and I like what I know”.

But I couldn’t ‘go’ a month without breakfast so I split my breakfast fix between my favourite alternatives:

Lily’s Treasure Chest – nice and centrally located with normally ample parking nearby. A good breakfast, pleasant and attentive staff and lovely views.

Amber Beach Bar & Grill – a bit of a journey for me but worth it. More than adequate parking facilities on site. A good breakfast, very friendly staff and, again, fantastic views.

Blue Water Grill – centrally located with plenty of parking options. A value for money breakfast with toast using bread made on the premises that, in itself for me, makes a visit worthwhile. Friendly, well trained and attentive staff who make sure that your every need is catered for. And, if that isn’t enough, the views are fantastic too.


Highbury House (otherwise known as home) – extremely conveniently located (well, for me anyway). A brilliant breakfast made by a fantastic cook and served by a gorgeous waitress (she’s the cook too actually). Oh and the views? They’re brilliant. I get to look at the cook/waitress. She’s stunning!


Highbury House.

And my breakfast time view.


You thought it was going to be a photo of the cook/waitress didn’t you!

As good as the ‘back-up’ eateries are (yes even Highbury House) I still missed Estel’s Dine By the Sea and at the beginning of last week, just for old time’s sake, (I know it had only been around twenty-three days but…) I found myself outside Estel’s. I knew from my day with Charles Worthington emptying his lobster traps that he planned to introduce some changes and my curiosity just got the better of me (and not for the first time I might add).

Charles wasn’t there but Sam and Cha Cha were and they were busy at work on the bar that Charles had told me about.


Sam Pop doesn’t just wait on tables and make jewellery. He can turn his hand to a bit of carpentry too.


Work on the bar in progress.

There appeared to be so much to do in the remaining time before the scheduled re-opening so yesterday when I was in ‘Town my inquisitiveness (some might call it nosiness) and curiosity got the better of me and I popped in to see what progress had been made. Oh, and also to find out if they would be open today as had been originally planned.

The full Estel’s team was there and they were all busily at work but it was obvious immediately that this wide ranging project would not be completed as planned but it looked good, really good.

The internal element of the bar has a little way to go before its complete but I can just see myself sitting there.

The walls have been cleared of paintings and photos and all holes are being filled before a repaint.

This upgrade, and believe me it’s an upgrade with a capital U, has really been an Estel’s team effort with everyone playing a part.

They realise though that Estel’s has a proud heritage so there’s something old, something new.

How about these gorgeous floor tiles that have been ‘hidden’ for years under sand.

Or the new sink for the new bar!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Mark , the ‘E Team’s’ plumber/electrician installing the sink.

There’s still a lot to do but I know, I just know that the Estel’s Experience is going to be better than ever and I for one cannot wait for it to re-open this Friday 9 October, bright and early at 06.00 hours. I’ll be there. Will you?

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1971 by The Fantastics which reached number 9 on the UK Singles Charts.

10 thoughts on ““Something Old, Something New” at Estel’s Dine By the Sea, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Something Old, Something New” (Part Two) Estel’s Dine By the Sea, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Now I am concerned since we will be arriving on the 15th. What is the scheduled re-opening? Also, you did not mention the parking situation at Highbury House. On another note, do you think that your ‘tropical depression’ brought the rain? If so, hats off to you.

Leave a Reply

