“Don’t Rain on My Parade” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


I woke up on Monday morning around 03.45 hours (I know this because I’ve got one of those clocks that project the time on to the ceiling) to the sound of rain tapping at my bathroom windows. It was coming down hard, very hard.

Now back in my previous life that sound would have filled me with a degree of dread. How to keep control of the brolly (umbrella for non UK readers) on the way to work without poking someone’s eye out. Wet suit, wet shoes. A damp and depressing day ahead. But now …

I love the sound of rain. The heavier the rain the better. Give me a torrential downpour over a shower any day. Why? Simple I need the rain to ‘feed’ the 45,000 gallon tank that ‘sits’ under our house.

We’re off-grid as far as mains water is concerned so we depend on a rainwater collection system to provide for our needs. That is unless we want to buy water ‘in’. And, obviously, we’d rather not have to do that.

So, feeling very happy at such an early hour of the day I got up, made myself a mug of instant – black and unsweetened if you must know – coffee and took it, along with my iPad, out to the veranda. The western, lagoon facing one on our first floor.

It was dark, so dark that I couldn’t see the rain. But I could smell it (you can, you know). I could hear it. And, I could feel it as the raindrops hit the tiles on the veranda and splashed my feet and lower legs.

I sat there luxuriating in the sounds (the croaking of awakened frogs had joined the ‘orchestra’ by now) contemplating how long it would take before the overflow pipes on the water tank sprang in to action. And then it dawned on me. Of all days I didn’t want rain that day.

Beggars shouldn’t be choosers you’re probably ,quite rightly, thinking. But not on Monday. Not on Belize’s 34th anniversary of it’s independence. My thoughts turned to wishing the rain would stop, but the rain kept tumbling down and down.

By now the pitch black of the very early morning had turned to grey but visibility was established. How was my garden holding up under this onslaught of water?

IMG_0581.JPG

The core of the front garden had coped very well

IMG_0580.JPG

but the same could not be said for the area to the west of our house. Oh dear, looks like more landfill is required. “Are you reading this Lloyd?”

My wish for the rain to cease went unheeded. It continued to come down but not as strongly. Maybe, just maybe the rain god heard me when I uttered pleadingly “Don’t rain on my parade” (yes, the worst song title link so far).i

As the strength of the rain reduced my confidence that the San Pedro Independence Day Parade would go ahead increased so Rose and I got ready and headed to ‘Town to meet our friends from BATSUB who were over for the weekend to celebrate a birthday.

IMG_0583.PNG

Spot the birthday boy and try to guess his age!

We met at Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill after getting my lips around a bottle of Belikin I checked the San Pedro Town Council Facebook page to see if there was any news about the ‘Parade. There was but regrettably it was to announce that ‘rain had stopped play’. The ‘Parade had been cancelled until Saturday (subsequently moved to Sunday). Only one thing for it. Get another Belikin!

As we ordered up another round the rain reappeared and it came down, boy did it come down. But it didn’t prevent some Belizeans who were determined to have their ‘Parade as they drove past the bar in their liveried golf carts. Had I not been so busy applauding them (as everyone else in the bar was doing) I would have taken a few photos. Newshound I’m not.

So you’ll have to make do (until my Independence Day Parade edition) with a few snaps I took last year.

IMG_7922.JPG

IMG_7934.JPG

IMG_7939.JPG

IMG_7966.JPG

Oh, by the way, my water tank still isn’t full.

The headline is based on the song which featured in Funny Girl , the 1964 musical starring Barbra Streisand.

12 thoughts on ““Don’t Rain on My Parade” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. And by the way I’m pleased to see your tanks are almost full and you are going to get 12 inches in the next 24 hours. Some people would pay a lot of money for that!

  2. my little tank filles abd I loved it. our parade is small and goo fun. we enjoyed all. I noticed that Corozal has a chapter od the HELLS ANGELS, who rode at the head of the parade!!!!

Leave a Reply

