“I Saw Her Standing There” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


They say – whoever these sage like people are – that the older you get, the quicker time flies. Well I must be getting horrendously old because the month that Rose was away (visiting her family in England) just whizzed by.

It only seemed like a few days ago when the tears were streaming down ( her face, not mine!) when I said goodbye to her. On reflection though her tears may have been tears of Joy and not, as I thought at the time, sorrow. I’m only joking. Honestly Rose. Believe me. PLEASE!

But the month flew by and on Monday Rose left her North London base at 05.30 hours and caught the United Airlines 09.30 hours flight to Houston but not before she enjoyed breakfast at the United Club (we’d upgraded her return ticket to Business Class – contrary to what some think I am not tight!).

After a restful night at a hotel fairly close to the George Bush Intercontinental Airport she then caught the 13.14 hours flight to Belize which was scheduled to arrive at 14.43 hours. But it didn’t. It was delayed by forty minutes.

Eventually though the plane landed and Rose, brandishing her Qualified Retirement Program ID card cleared Immigration, collected her two suitcases

IMG_9435.JPG

and cleared Customs so quickly that she was able to present herself at the Tropic Air Check In desk for the 15.40 hours flight to San Pedro. Seventeen minutes within landing. A new world record?

IMG_9436.JPG

What were you doing, you’re thinking. Waiting at Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill. That’s what. Drinking a Sprite (yes, a Sprite) watching Real Madrid play FC Schalke 04 in a Champions League game.

I wasn’t there for the football (soccer for readers from the US) though. And definitely not for the Sprite. I was there because it’s a great location and vantage point if you’re meeting someone flying to the San Pedro airstrip.

I waited there patiently – after four weeks what’s another hour- and eventually heard the sound of an aeroplane about to land ((it’s not that I’ve spent that much time at Carlo & Ernies (???) but I really do believe that I can now distinguish between a Tropic Air and Maya Island Air aircraft)). And then … I saw her standing there.

IMG_9439.JPG

I gulped down the remainder of my Sprite, delaying only slightly to watch Schalke score a goal (c’mon, it was a corker of a goal) and whizzed around to Tropic Air’s baggage claim area to get my baggage. And Rose, of course.

After a quick hug (well it wasn’t that quick actually, she wouldn’t let go of me!) I loaded the cases on the back of the golf cart and went back to Carlo & Ernie’s for a ‘welcome home’ drink. This time I had Belikin. And then it was time to head home to see what she’d bought me. I love surprises.

IMG_9446.JPG

Sorry The San Pedro Sun but I do miss a British national newspaper. These three I worked for and on for twenty-four years.

And there were some tasty treats

IMG_9443.JPG

IMG_9444.JPG

Yum, yum. Now how long will they last?

And

IMG_9445.JPG

something more to read. Yes, about Arsenal.

And a new pair of sunglasses to replace the pair I (stupidly) lost when paying a bill in San Pedro.

IMG_9451.JPG

And some new apparel.

IMG_9455.JPG

Snazzy eh!

And some more

IMG_9441.JPG

Arsenal stuff. All bought at Highbury House (yes, there’s another one) the Arsenal merchandise shop at the Emirates Stadium. The home of Arsenal and all that’s good about football (real football, that is).

Now this

IMG_9442.JPG

is for our front fence. Some of the other stuff though were gifts for our fellow Arsenal fans that live on Ambergris Caye.

It wasn’t all about me though (it should have been but …). Rose didn’t forget Ziggy

IMG_9127.JPG

she bought him this.

IMG_9447.JPG

Now the presents are very nice but the best present of all was (wait for it) getting Rose back.

The headline for today’s (much awaited – well by me anyway) edition is based on the single released in 1963 by The Beatles which reached number fourteen on the US Billboard Hot 100.

21 thoughts on ““I Saw Her Standing There” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Congratulations on surviving the month while Rose was away, I am sure Ziggy was frantically glad to see her back!!
    Only 9 more Saturdays till we get there to have some ( lots) of Belikins !

  2. Time for you to treat her to some culinary skills that you no doubt acquired during the absence, hmmm?
    …or perhaps this notion simply conjures up the title for the next blog installment- Dreamweaver.

  3. Did Rose remove page 3 of the Sun? I didn’t know that you likes Jack Link’s. I always bring some with me on my trips to Belize. Welcome back Rose. We will be down on the 23rd of April. I am sure we will see you around town somewhere.

  4. I’m really pleased to be back also. In case anyone was thinking why did I buy Ziggy a cushion, well it was because of the words on the cushion, Ziggy absolutely loves cake so I thought it was very appropriate. ;0)

  5. I was just thinking today that it was about time for Rose to come home. Welcome home, Rose! Give Ziggy an extra hug from me!

Leave a Reply

