“It’s Over” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


It strikes me that for the last few editions I’ve been regaling (more like boring I suppose) you with tales of my medical woes.

For someone who, I’m pleased to say, has enjoyed good health through a forty-five year working career – two weeks off in 1971 to have a twice broken nose straightened and one day off in 1997 for twenty-four hour flu that, try as I might, I just couldn’t beat to go to work- the last few weeks have felt alien to me.

The latest malaise ‘hit’ me at the back end of last week when, and I haven’t a clue how, I managed to contract a cold. But this one was different. Way beyond that blocked up feeling. With this ‘baby’ I had pains in my middle back area, I was heavily congested and quite frankly I felt knackered.

I ‘soldiered’ through the weekend without the aid of medication but felt rough even though on Sunday I watched Arsenal trounce Aston Villa five goals to nil and then watched New England beat Seattle Seahawks in the Super Bowl at an extremely packed Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill where I ‘took’ BZ$50 off of Carlo for predicting that ‘England would be victorious.

IMG_9116.JPG

Photo taken pre-game.

On Monday I went to Estel’s Dine By the Sea for breakfast (I felt rough but not that rough) before heading to Pelican Properties Limited/Belize Real Estate Limited for our weekly meeting. It’s a hard life helping people thinking of buying property in Belize!

IMG_9129.JPG

I’m a great believer in “a little of what you fancy” (or a lot in my case!).

I met Matt , one of our Sales Consultants, on the way in and being the nice type he is ( he’s even nicer if you’re buying property from us) he asked me how I was. “Feeling like sh&%” I replied and then proceeded to provide him with a vivid description of my symptoms (just what he needed on a Monday morning – not). ” You need the Z Pack” he advised.

“What is it?” I asked. “Don’t know exactly” he responded, “But it’s a bit like napalm, it cleans everything out”.

So after the meaning I headed to the nearest pharmacy and got myself a Z Pack

IMG_9142.JPG

and when home with my BZ$45 purchase (6 tablets) I took one of the pills and bingo. I could feel the effect straight away. A warning though – don’t take one on an empty stomach. They show no mercy.

It’s day three of the treatment and I feel it’s over. I’m virtually back to my normal self. Well, that’s if I can be described as normal. I’ll leave you to be the judge!

Feeling a lot perkier I decided to respond to the request that a reader of this blog made a few days ago for some follow up photos of the new paved road from my house up to the Palapa Bar turn-off. So here you are :

IMG_9130.JPG

Looking north just after the Palapa Bar corner.

IMG_9136.JPG

Looking south near the Palapa Bar corner.

IMG_9140.JPG

New back road that runs past the Bamboo House. The barriers were up because the guys were still working on the road at the time.

IMG_9140-1.JPG

Southern entry/exit point for the back road.

IMG_9145.JPG

New road in use (shot taken this morning from my third floor terrace).

I’ve already mentioned that the Z Pack has already made me feel much better but if I needed a fillip I got it as I was leaving Estel’s this morning when Charles came up to me and asked me to be his guest at next Tuesday’s BBQ Cook Off fundraiser in aid of the Sunshine Scholarship Foundation.

Nice one Charles. I’ll have not long before said goodbye to Rose as she sets off for a month in the UK. And I get to go to Estel’s on a Tuesday!

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1964 by Roy Orbison which reached number one on the UK Singles Chart and number nine on the US Billboard Hot 100.

14 thoughts on ““It’s Over” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Love your blog, glad you are feeling better, but I agree with Kristina, be careful taking too many antibiotics and check with your Dr….we want you around for a very long time yet!

  2. Thanks so much for taking time out to grant me my photo request John. It seems like it might be a bit less of an adventure getting from Point A to Point B than it used to be. Especially during heavy rains. I’ll be amongst the curious to see how the roads and drainage fare during heavy rains. Glad you’re feeling better.

  3. Azithromycin is one of the few reaming antibiotics that works over a broad spectrum. It should be used with care, in part due to serious side effects from misuse. Also over use and misuse of antibiotics has led to resistant microbes that cause serious injury and death. Azithromycin is highly useful antibiotic to treat pneumonia. There are few antibiotics remaining which work for pneumonia, due to over-use and subsequent bacterial tolerance for the drugs. being diagnosed by a sales collegue might be a mistake. Pleased that it worked for you. The virulent upper-respiratory you mentioned also seems to have a propensity for relapse. Actually, I suspect Chickunguya is the cause and it is going unreported because people do not see a physician and the physicians do not test for it. Just my theory.

    • Wow, thanks for the information Kristina. I was advised to take one tablet a day and that’s exactly what I have done. It appears to have done the trick. If this proves not to be the case then I will go to a doctor. Your warnings are headed.

  4. Thanks John, I love the new pictures and got excited to see the road has reached my plot 🙂 next to the Bamboo House. It also looks like they are building the other side of me too. Do you know what’s going in there?

    • Pleased that the photos of the road near where your house will be pleased you Lynn. It makes travelling to and from ‘Town a pleasure and no longer is it the arduous journey it once was.

      I think the development you are referring to is Tres Cocos condos. Think they’re going for around US$80,000.

  5. I was very concerned to read about about your illness. Sound like a serious case of ‘Man Flu’ to me. Delighted to hear that you have recoverd without making a fuss and telling everyone about it. Hopefully there will be no long term impacts on your lifestyle from your ailment.

Leave a Reply

