“First Time for Everything” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


It will seventeen years this year since Rose and I first ‘found’ San Pedro and in all that time we’ve never been to a Jerry Jeff Walker Pickin Party. These Pickin Parties are organised by the ardent and loyal Jerry Jeff Walker fans that follow him here to Belize for the concerts he gives annually. It’s quite amazing really that we’ve never been to one when you consider that he first started his musical visits here shortly after our first visit.

Now I don’t know when the Pickin Parties started (and quite honestly I really can’t be bothered to spend an inordinate amount of time on the Internet trying to ascertain this information) but I’m pretty confident that they’ve been ‘going on’ for quite some considerable time.

Part of the reason may be that I’m not a big fan of Country Music. I don’t dislike it but it’s not my style of music of choice. Let’s put it this way, if there was a juke box with only ten songs on it and nine of them were Country then I’d probably choose the one that wasn’t. That is unless it was Heavy Metal or Punk. Get the drift.

I can’t say the same for Rose though. She is a big, and I mean BIG, Country Music fan. Remember she’s Irish (born there and not claiming heritage from a forbear from three of four generations ago) and the Irish (yes I am type casting) generally love Country Music.

Although it’s not my favourite genre of music I’ve actually been to Nashville twice and on both occasions have gone with Rose (well I wouldn’t have gone on my own) to the Grand Ole Opry and have actually stood on the stage so going to a Pickin Party with Rose didn’t seem like such a tremendous sacrifice for me to make. And anyway you’re hearing generally deteriorates the older you get!

So on Thursday,after a hearty breakfast at Estel’s Dine By the Sea and running a few errands in ‘Town , I returned home (enjoying the paved road right to my front gate) and waited for Rose to get ready (I do this quite a lot by the way) and eventually (and I mean EVENTUALLY) we set off for the Pickin Party that was being held at Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill stopping on the way to pick up faithful, long time, long term island visitors Melissa and Ken.

We all got there shortly after 13.00 hours and the place was already busy

IMG_9084.JPG

and they hadn’t even finished setting up the stage.

IMG_9085-0.JPG

Rose and I grabbed places at the filling up bar

IMG_9095.PNG

Rose is the one with the long hair!
(Photo courtesy of Melissa Fellure – thank you Melissa)

and settled down – with the assistance of a Belikin or three – to enjoy the music.

IMG_9086.JPG

IMG_9087.JPG

IMG_9091.JPG

IMG_9092.JPG

The enthusiasm of the musicians was there to see and the large audience rapturously applauded every song.

IMG_9089.JPG

IMG_9093.JPG

Rose and I, like everyone else there, had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Just goes to show that there’s a first time for everything!

Oh, before I bring today’s edition to an end it’s time for that not so subtle reminder. If your thinking of buying property in Belize do then do please give Pelican Properties Limited/Belize Real Estate Limited the chance to help you find what you are looking for.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1992 by Little Texas which reached number thirteen on the Hot Country Songs chart.

5 thoughts on ““First Time for Everything” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. I avoid what is referred to as Country Music in the USA. I do enjoy authentic folk music from around the world. I have some great bagpipe stuff. Yet, I hope to attend one of Jerry Jeff Walkers events someday because I consider it local folk, more than country. If they play “your Cheatin Heart”, I can always tour the rest room.

    In California I had wonderful classical music stations and all kinds of Rock & techno and alternative etc. Here in Belize, I get mostly Mexican pop music on the radio, which holds no appeal for me. I also love authentic Carib jump up and steel band music. I was excited when I heard we would hear a steel drum band locally (Corozal). they played gringo music on steel drums, along the lines of Johnny Mathias, Frank Sinatra & Henry Mancini. I hated it. So my CD collection is growing and I want to get a bigger, better player the next time I am in the USA. Thanks for sharing your life with us. I do enjoy your musings. kris

  2. Hi ! John . It`s Anton from Toronto, Canada ,I have read all your post`s from the start, a great pleasure. Thank you very much for sharing

Leave a Reply

