“Breakfast in Bed” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Ever feel like you’ve done twelve rounds with Rocky Marciano? Or like someone has jumped up and down repeatedly on your kidneys? No. Well that’s how I have felt for around the last nine or ten days.

Regular readers will know that a few weeks ago I contracted an ear infection that appeared to ‘hang around’ for what seemed like an age. Well I eventually managed to clear that up and was starting to feel like my usual self when, blow me down with a feather (and you probably could have done, I felt so weak) I managed to catch a cold. But not your run of the mill cold. Oh no, that just wasn’t good enough for me. I ‘went’ for one that appeared to affect every part of my body.

I had the head cold that gave me that blocked up feeling. It ran across my chest and, not content with that, took over my back to produce that ‘beaten up boxer’ feeing. And ,as Aussies say , I generally felt “crock”.

I’m sure that someone in my distant past had told me that you need to feed a cold. So I followed their advice and made sure that every day (aside from Tuesday of course) during my illness I went to Estel’s Dine By the Sea for breakfast! C’mon, I was following medical advice! What I really could have done with though is for Estel’s to offer a delivery service. Why? Well then I could have had breakfast in bed!

I’ve got to be honest though and admit that this course of action didn’t shift it quick enough (well quick enough for an impatient patient like me anyway) and I had to resort to some medication and a couple of daytime extended periods in bed.

I wasn’t incapacitated though. It was only a cold after all. And I’m so pleased that I wasn’t because I wouldn’t have had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of some really nice people.

First up was Jay. Now I think Jay ‘found’ me via the postings of my blog that I put on Facebook. Jay is currently having his house built and moves here permanently this year when he will open Stella’s Smile, a wine bar and cafe quite close to the Palapa Bar turn-off. It was a pleasure meeting Jay. Even before he paid for my breakfast!

Rose and I then had the delight of meeting Nova and Kevin, a couple from Canada (well Kevin actually originates from South Africa) who have bought land here and are now working on their five year plan for a permanent move. Nova is a long time reader of this blog and I’m so pleased that she and Kevin introduced themselves to Rose and me.

We then met Jackie and Roy. I ‘came across’ Roy purely by chance. He’d posed a question via a Facebook group and I was one of many that gave an opinion . He was looking for suggestions for bars and restaurants to go to when he arrived back (he last visited thirty-five years ago when serving here as a member of the British Army) on the island.

I suggested a number of places and Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill was amongst them and that’s exactly where we met them when Roy came over and introduced himself. It was the start of a nightly occurrence until they left six days later.

IMG_9083.JPG

Roy’s first sighting of me. Behind a bottle of Belikin!

They enjoyed themselves so much that they plan on coming back in October. No thirty-five year gap this time around!

IMG_9051.PNG

From left to right: me ( with the sweat top, I had a bad cold remember), Roy, Rose and Jackie.

Now in the last edition (yes, I know it was an age ago) I left you on tenterhooks as to whether we ever would get a paved road in front of our house. Well after in a lapse of around five days (waiting for materials we understand) work recommenced when they started to put the plastic sheeting and rebar in place.

IMG_9061.JPG

IMG_9063.JPG

And then last night shortly after the sun went down for the day they started to pour the cement.

IMG_9071.JPG

And when I got up this morning and opened the front gate there it was –

IMG_9075.JPG

IMG_9078.JPG

IMG_9079.JPG

IMG_9080.JPG

a lovely, lovely new road.

This makes north Ambergris Caye so much more accessible. And don’t forget that if you’re thinking of buying property in Belize do please give Pelican Properties Limited/ Belize Real Estate Limited the opportunity of helping you find what you are looking for.

Oh and don’t forget, if you see me at Estel’s or across a crowded bar then do please come up and say “hello”.

The headline for today’s (much awaited) edition is based on the single released in 1988 by UB40 (featuring Chrissie Hynde) which reached number six on the UK Singles Charts.

14 thoughts on ““Breakfast in Bed” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. We’ve missed flying by you in the golf cart, John! I’m so glad you’re feeling better. Paul and I have both experienced that whatever you catch as you get a bit older seems to linger….

  2. Glad to hear you are on the mend John…a cold in that dreadful place must be awful (sarc).
    Your new road looks great. Are you going to build a little ramp to get from your driveway up onto it?

  3. Great Post John,
    I am sorry about you catching a bug but i certainly enjoyed seeing the faces of the fellow blog readers and seeing that their vacation and hopefully relocation plans come together with your help.

    Don

  4. Hi John! Glad you are back and over your ailments! Was past your house a week or so ago on our way to the Palapa Bar….the road is wonderful! Rumor has it they will start on the road south of town once they are finished connecting the current work up north…..keep hope alive!! 😃

    • The cold wasn’t as bad as I made it out to be Jan. I gave myself some literary license. But thanks.
      The road north has made a massive improvement for our journeys to and from ‘Town. I hope the rumour re the road up south proves to be fact and not fiction.

  5. They could have at least built you a ramp lol. To more serious matters, I’m hearing that sections of the new road further north are already starting to crumble, it truly doesn’t surprise me as its a rigid structure built on swampy ground and a hydraulic action occurs every time a heavy vehicle passes over it acts like a diaphragm pump, only it pumps out water and solids then sucks back just water . A nightmare when rebar starts poking through the surface, vitualy irreparable. Make the most of the concrete strip, its not going to be a road for too long . Hope your starting to feel better. When does Rose leave for the UK?

    • I’ll enjoy the road whilst it’s there Robert. Much, much better than the dirt one.
      I’m back to my fighting best. It wasn’t that bad – I did exaggerate a bit. Who me? Yes, me!
      Rose leaves on 9 Feb for a month. So just over two weeks and she’s off.

  6. Morning,

    It was nice to finally meet you and Rose. Happy to read a post again and hear you are feeling better. We always enjoy knowing what is going on and dreaming of being there.

    Kevin and I were hoping to run into you again before we left to buy you and Rose a beer but didn’t work out so will have to catch you in fall when we are back down.

    Cheers Nova

  7. I am sorry to hear that you cant shake of the ear infection. Hope get to feel better soon ! Nice new road.You have to get the driveway reworked? Sloped down from the road.Can it be done with out raising the gate? So long , Pete.

Leave a Reply

