“She’s Leaving Home” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Since moving here to Ambergris Caye, Belize in May 2012 ,and especially since I started this blog, I have been asked innumerable times ” So what do you miss from home” (‘home’ being the UK)?

I’ve nearly always responded with ” Not a lot actually”. I miss my family and friends and I sometimes think about how nice (what a weak and bland word that is) it would be to be able to go to the shops and buy whatever you need. However as we approach our third year here I now know that what you think you need is actually better described as what you want. And, what you want is not always what you need!

After a while here you get used to ‘this’ or ‘that’ not being available. It’s not terribly uncommon to find that carrots or potatoes are available, let alone more ‘exotic’ vegetables or fruits, anywhere on the island. It’s no big deal though, you just see what is available and adapt (well Rose does as far as preparing and cooking it and I do my ‘bit’ when I eat it!).

This acceptance though doesn’t stop you from occasionally hankering after something that you just know that you can’t get in Belize, let alone the island.

My last hanker ( sounds rude doesn’t it or something that the New Zealand rugby team might do) was around nine to ten weeks ago when I started to think dreamily of English toffee. Creamy English toffee that is.

I cast these evil thoughts aside but they were reawakened five weeks back when a friend told me that he was going back to England and then asked me if I wanted anything brought back. My initial response was that he should use the spare space he had within his baggage allowance for stuff that he wanted. But he insisted that he had space. So what could I do … Yep. Toffee. Oh, and some stock for Rose (and me of course). And , not forgetting Rose, some almonds.

He got back in to Belize last week and came to stay with us for the New Year break and below is what he brought with him.

IMG_9014.JPG

I asked for toffee but I didn’t expect nearly five pounds of it. And two boxes of Bassetts Liquorice Allsorts ( I’d opened one by the time I took the photo!). I reckon that they’ll probably last me for between six to nine months. And you know what. I’ve not opened a bag of toffee yet!

Anyway, enough of my fixation with toffee. What else have I been doing? Trawling the Internet looking for flights to the UK. Why? No, not for the next toffee run! For Rose, that’s why. She’s leaving home in February to go back to her family.

Changng subjects ((regular readers will know that I rarely, if ever, do this type of thing (sic))I’ve heard that the bar in Boca Del Rio that started life as Dreddy’s ( he of Cholo’s ‘fame’) will be opening at the end of the month as ‘ Double D’s’.

IMG_9021-0.JPG

Still a lot to do but I’m reliably informed ( the new owners no less) that not long after opening it will have a fully operational kitchen so that the offering will include food.

I’ll provide updates on progress but remember, ” You read it here first”.

Now this new bar should benefit from the new hotel that’s being built just across the road ( I told you about this new development last November).

If you didn’t read that edition ( why on earth not!) the new hotel is very close to the Sir Barry Bowen Bridge and will overlook the basketball court in Boca Del Rio. Oh, and it will also ‘look out’ on to the Caribbean Sea.

Work on it appears to be progressing well.

IMG_9026.JPG

IMG_9027.JPG

(Photos especially for you Robert!).

Now going completely off subject (who me!) I’ve been asked recently to include more photos of Ziggy. So here goes.

IMG_9028.PNG

‘Mommy’ and ‘son’ shot. Told you he really, really likes Rose!

By the way don’t despair, I’ve still found time to enjoy my early morning ‘me time’ out on the veranda – yep, the western, lagoon facing one, with a mug of black coffee and my iPad.

Now for another totally unconnected subject. If you’re thinking of buying property in Belize then please don’t forget to give the team at Pelican Properties Limited/Belize Real Estate Limited the chance to help you to realise your dream. I need to get the money to book the return ticket for Rose!

The headline for today’s (bit of a non-event) edition is based on the sixth track of side one of Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart Club Band, the album released by The Beatles in 1967 which reached number one on the US Billboard Top LPs and the UK Albums Chart.

13 thoughts on ““She’s Leaving Home” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. This has nothing to do with your post, but I have been following your blog since ya’ll started building your home. We have been visiting San Pedro every year I January. Well, this time on a ride up North, I recognized your house! Yep, that was your “garden” and fence for sure! Just wanted to let you know it was fun for me to see it “for real!” Love your blog!

  2. Hi John, i’ve been following your blog, still, even though I haven’t done much in the comment area…….and I must admit, that even after 52 years in the US, I still yearn for certain things from the UK. I am a little more fortunate than you, in that I have been going back frequently in the past years, so have always brought enough stuff to last from one trip to the next. I tell people that I am compelled to return frequently for a Culture Injection “cos I am still a UK citizen and the Govt. demands it!!!!
    I am hoping to go this year, in May, for 3 weeks, ( I usually do 4 weeks, ) but due to my wife’s health conditions, I have to cut back. I don’t know about fares from Belize, but from Boston to Manchester, the fares have risen from $728 in 2013, to $1098 this year and the price of oil has dropped 50% and is now under $50 a barrel. Do I hear the words, ” Price Gouging,” Where are our Govt. Heads……no need to answers we already know!!!!
    Alan Slater

    • Hi Alan. Good to know that you are still following the blog.
      We’ve not been here quite 3 years yet and I’m never going to reach your length of time away from home. That is unless they come up with a wonder drug.
      I really don’t miss that much and have not felt inclined to go back for visit. I’m sure I will reach that point but I’m not there yet. At this stage I’m more interested in visiting neighbouring countries.
      And as to your PS, I know I’m going to miss Rose. But I know that she will have a great time with her family.

  3. Thx John, I’ve been expecting complaints from our renter!!! Anything is better than the ‘hovel that was there. And the upgraded bar on the corner will be better than the drug and ‘ladies’ bar. Area is looking up . By the way, we have 5 real supermarkets ,they sell a lot of Wait rose stuff, lots of Cadbury and English sweets Best of all McVities wholewheat biccies with dark or plain choccy, I get Bovril and Marmite, love or hate, and wonderful CAB steaks from Texas. Even got 4g network here now!!!!
    Trust Rose has a great trip back to Blighty Thx again for the pics

    • You are more than welcome Robert. Gave me something to write about!
      I miss certain stuff but not so much that I want to go back to the UK. I’m more than happy here, hence I’m not ‘rushing’ back with Rose. Got my ‘friend’ Ziggy to keep me company!

  4. I get it! You just reminded me of some of the things that I didn’t think I missed until wandering around the international aisle at some of the bigger supermarkets. 8 years in the US and I still get excited when I see Bisto gravy, Marmite and Cadburys anything!

    • Hi Ian. As much as I miss certain things occasion I’m not rushing back to the UK just so I can enjoy them whenever I want. It’s just nice to be occasionally reacquainted with them!
      Hope things are good for you.

Leave a Reply

