‘Workin’ for a Livin'” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


I think when I wrote the last edition I must still have been in a state of euphoria (for euphoria read “too much alcohol in the system”) because I failed to mention a couple of fantastic (I’m so easily pleased these days!) things that happened to me around my birthday.

The first thing came as a complete surprise to me – a birthday present. Something I didn’t expect and a gift that I didn’t know existed.

IMG_8381.JPG

A gift voucher for Estel’s Dine By the Sea. Still trying to work out why they thought this would be a good present for me!

Now the other thing has been in the offing for some considerable time. In fact I first considered it around a year ago but thought better of it. A year on and my perspective has changed. So what is it, you’re thinking.

Well, I’ve bought in to a local business and have entered the world of estate agents (realtors for non UK readers).

Under the Qualified Retirement Program I can’t actually work in Belize but nothing precludes me from owning or part owning a business and after being retired for around two and a half years I was starting to miss being involved in a business. Sad isn’t it.

I’ve whetted your appetite now, haven’t I! Which business have I bought in to? Pelican Properties Limited/Belize Real Estate is the answer.

For those of you who don’t know, Pelican Properties Limited has an office in Barrier Reef Drive (front street)

IMG_8390.JPG

which is nicely situated next door to Belize Bank Limited and across the road from Lola’s Pub. Neat eh. I can withdraw money, cross the road and buy myself a Belikin. Sweet!

It has a spacious and well appointed office

IMG_8392.JPG

and a knowledgeable, efficient and friendly team to help people find their dream property

IMG_8391.JPG

Two of the Pelican team hard at work (unlike me). Matt Hoy and Evelyn Nunez.

from an abundance of prime properties.

IMG_8393.JPG

Is this edition an unadulterated plug for my new business interest? You betcha it is. Although I’m not workin’ for a livin’ I obviously want my new business interest to do well and with experience of buying property (the lot our house is on was coincidentally purchased via Pelican Properties Limited) and having built here on Ambergris Caye I think I’m well placed to help people (via this blog) make the move themselves.

From choosing the right property, to getting approval to build.

IMG_8384.JPG

To selecting a building contractor. To shipping those prized possessions from your old home. To furnishing your new home.

Somehow I think my ‘me time’ on the veranda (the western, lagoon facing one) with the mug of black coffee might get a little busier now. Might be needing a new iPad real soon!

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1982 by Huey Lewis and the News which reached number forty-one on the US Billboard Hot 100.

14 thoughts on “‘Workin’ for a Livin'” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Stumbled across your blog and just wanted to pass along my compliments. We discovered Caribbean Villas during our stay in Belize last year and we’ll be back in late Nov. this year. To my surprise, (and thanks to your blog) They’re expanding! Thanks for the pictures on your blog. We’re excited to get back to San Pedro and Belize (and Fido’s…love it!!)

    • You are more than welcome Bob. Pleased to have helped. Hopefully now you’ve stumbled upon my blog you will subscribe so you get a notification every time I produce a new edition!
      I’m sure you’ll enjoy your stay when you return.

  2. Congrats John, sounds like an astute mov and as you say a great way of “keeping your hand in”. I am sure it will do well with you as a shareholder, build that brand! good luck, Steve

  3. Terrific, John! As a former RE agent, I know what a fabulous business it is to be part of. Hope you’re working with great folks!

  4. Wow! Didn’t see that one coming! Congratulations John! I’m sure Pelican will flourish with your involvement. We look forward to seeing how this new venture unfolds — and maybe working with you when the time is right!

    • If it pays for the Belikins and keeps my brain (sic) active it will be more than worth it.
      When the time comes for Rose and you to be looking to buy I just know that the Pelican team want to be there to help.

  5. Isnt Pelican Properties owned by Pedro ? He’ll own the Bank and Lola’s shortly LOL Please give Trevor our kindest regards when you are drawn in there by the need to re-acquaint with a Belican. Wishing you all the best, and a belated Happy B/day

    • Peter is the majority shareholder. I see Trevor very often but more often at Estel’s than Lola’s. Will pass on your ‘best’.
      The next birthday is the big one – State Pension. I can then really start living!!!!

Leave a Reply

