“Hang On In There Baby” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye,Belize.


Hello there. Yes ,I am still alive and kicking (figuratively speaking, of course). I’ve just taken some time out from producing editions.

I’ve basically been doing the same type of stuff that I’ve covered in many editions (maybe too many). I’m still getting up early and enjoying a couple of hours (my ‘me time’) out on the veranda with a mug of black, unsweetened instant coffee and my iPad.

I’ve made the trip to ‘Town to enjoy early morning

IMG_8376-0.JPG

Early enough? Look hard at the clock and you’ll see it’s at 06.45 hours

for breakfast at

IMG_8377.JPG

Estel’s Dine By the Sea

at a time of the day when the deck

IMG_8380.JPG

is relatively empty and I can enjoy the peacefulness and

IMG_8380-0.JPG

the view!

On the way to and from ‘Town I’ve watched progress on the laying of the cement road north of the Sir Barry Bowen Bridge

IMG_8370.JPG

IMG_8371.JPG

IMG_8372.JPG

as the lane north to south edges closer and closer to the Feliz Bar & Grill /The Cloisters.

Some mornings on the way to Town I get to watch people trying to catch a fish or two for their breakfast

IMG_8373.JPG

or I just take time out to look at the flowers that adorn my route.

IMG_8375.JPG

So all in all a sort of ‘same old, same old’ type of week for me. Well it was until Saturday. Naturally you’re thinking “Why, what happened Saturday?”. It was my birthday, that’s what.

I started the day as I always do. I woke up (and long may this continue) !Spent ‘me time’ out on the veranda and then made breakfast. Yes, I made it! And then my ‘love affair’ with the sofa began – time for football (and I mean the real – and only – FOOTBALL).Two Premier League games, one La Liga, one Ligue 1 game topped off with a Serie A match. I did take a break to get lunch though when I drove to Briana’s Deli to pick up a chicken soup.

There was a Bundesliga game on as well but I had to pass on that. I had a Poker Run to attend.

The ‘Run started at Caribbean Villas Hotel where I was persuaded (far too easily I might add) to try a run concoction of a cocktail. It was very fruity and tasty but boy did it have some rum in it and by the time we got to the Road Kill Bar it was starting to take effect.

IMG_8359.JPG

I blame the rum for my hand on his knee. It is a nice knee though …

It was downhill from there as people plied me with Belikin after Belikin (message to self – don’t be so malleable) and I surely would have wilted under the pressure (or do I mean influence) had Rose not stepped in and told me to “Hang on in there baby” (she actually told me to pull myself together but I couldn’t find a song to fit that!).

Her words of encouragement worked though and I ‘manned up’ for the stops at Lola’s Pub and Wayo’s Beachside Beernet and by the time we hit the last stop at Pedro’s Hotel I fully recovered (little bit of literary licence here – I wasn’t slurring or stumbling) . And as if this didn’t impress me enough I was up for the Manchester City v Manchester United game the next morning which kicked off at 07.00 hours. There’s even better news though – it’s not my birthday again for another year!

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1974 by Johnny Bristol which reached number three on the UK Singles Chart and number eight on the US Billboard Hot 100.

20 thoughts on ““Hang On In There Baby” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye,Belize.

  1. Happy belated birthday Easty!!! Went to see Arsenal last week v Burnley and thought did well but then last night’s game was just the writing on the wall. Hope all is well with you and Rose and you have recovered from your hangover. Townley is now in SA golfing and we are here in a wet, cold, dark London. Lovely Jubbly !!! JD

    • Good to ‘hear’ from you Dyer. And thanks for the birthday wishes. Rose and I are great and love life here. Hope that all is good for Jill and you.
      As to Arsenal, he needs to buy at least one very good central defender.

    • So do I Champion. It’s more than money at stake. There’s my back and the wear and tear on the golf cart. And he supports Spurs, arch rivals of the team I support. And I don’t like losing. I could go on and on. Oh, I already have!

  2. Happy belated birthday, Steve. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. I’m a 51 year old air traffic controller in Savannah GA and am seriously considering Belize when I hit the FAA’s mandatory retirement age of 55 (sigh). Not sure what part yet Reading blogs like yours is great. Cheers!

  3. Glad you had a “party” to go to for your b-day, John. We’ve been holed-up here long enough waiting for that road work to give us safe travels again!

  4. Great stuff, happy belated birthday John Hang On In There Bay is one of my all time faves as is Johnny Bristol. Love no longer has a hold on me is also an all time favourite, a great artist. Cheers, Steve

Leave a Reply

