“Move Closer” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Out on the veranda this morning at around 05.40 hours ((obviously I had my mug of black coffee (sugar-free) and iPad (Air if you must know) with me)) the sky suddenly started to turn red. This as the darkness started to disappear as the sun came up.

But this morning it just felt different. I don’t know if it was because it had been raining heavily. I doubt it because it’s rained before just as the sun was rising. Whatever caused it though created a sky with a rich red hue. I should have stirred myself (not the coffee obviously – no milk, no sugar!), got up and grabbed the camera. I didn’t though – I was enjoying it too much. You’ll just have to believe me (or not if that is your inclination) that it was a sight to behold. If it happens again though I will take a shot – I’m now going to take the camera out on to the veranda first thing in the morning!

Anyway enough of today for the moment, I want to take you back in time. To yesterday!

After spending my ‘me time’ on the veranda I showered, shaved, dressed and headed off to take the golf cart to Giovanni’s (its in Sea Grape Drive if you’re interested) for a service and oil bath. I also wanted him to take a look (stupid thing to say actually) at a squeak that’s been coming from the rear off-side wheel.

I dropped the ‘cart off shortly after he opened at 08.00 hours and then took a leisurely stroll along the beach.

IMG_8219.JPG

IMG_8221.JPG

IMG_8222.JPG

IMG_8224-1.JPG

Diamante Beachfront Suites coming along nicely.

IMG_8225-0.JPG

On her way to setting up the stand for the day.

IMG_8226.JPG

“Service, I demand service”.

And then I reached my target

IMG_8241-0.PNG

“Aw c’mon, I had a couple of hours to kill!”

I’d just finished eating

IMG_8062.JPG

when the ‘phone rang. It was Giovanni, the wheel bearing needed replacing. That north road!

When I got to Giovanni’s I could see my cart up on the ‘ramp’ (I use this description very loosely of course)

IMG_8228.JPG

so I sat in the Reception area

IMG_8227.JPG

Just like the Volvo servicing agent I used to use in the UK. Not!

and watched him finish off cleaning the cart.

IMG_8229.JPG

IMG_8230.JPG

IMG_8231.JPG

Now back to today (I feel a bit like Marty McFly!).

Work on paving the road north of the bridge continues as the road building team tackle the stretch between Solitude and Bermuda Landing

IMG_8239.JPG

It’s slow going but every day I see the road move closer to my home. Are you reading this wheel bearings!

I can’t end this edition without letting you know that it’s happened eventually.

IMG_8240.JPG

Yes, the water tank is full. Get in there! Oh, it is.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released by Phyllis Nelson in 1985 which reached number one in the UK Singles Chart.

18 thoughts on ““Move Closer” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Somethin’ Stupid” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

    • I do Champion but I have a bet with someone who has lived here a fair while who does not think it will be finished until March. It’s only BZ$ 20 but it’s the winning that counts. Oh, and my back. And the relief for the golf cart!

  2. John Henry, you gotta stop this once in a while posting, I can’t take it. Way too long between posts. You’re an accomplished story teller and you’ve got me hooked.

    • Hi Champion. I’m sorry I’ve been a bit irregular with the postings. I could tell you a story as to why but you’d never believe it!
      I’ll try to get back in to the habit of posting more frequently. Who knows, it might start tomorrow!

  3. Just a few comments came to me after reading this post. One is why doesn’t anyone just hook a water softener or filtration system in their home to the municipal water system? Two, I noticed some fairly impressive art on the chalkboard at your mechanic’s garage. Giovanni might be missing his true calling. Thanks for the great work. I always love to see the beautiful pictures of San Pedro and can’t wait to be there myself.

    • I think some people do have filtration systems Bill. Ours is rainwater so …
      Don’t know if Giovanni painted the mural himself. I meant to ask but when he asked me for money it went straight out of my head!
      As to the blog in general, I really pleased you enjoy it.

  4. congratulations on your full cistern! When I wanted to rent our new house, I saw it had a giant cistern. old and cement. but huge. then after I paid an enormous sum of money for first and last months rent, I found out it leaked and listed and sat upon a cavern. no soft rain water for me!!! my gorgeous blond hair remains coated in CALCIUM from the town/public water supply. Sigh. When we buy/build we will have a giant, huge, monster cistern! for Sure!

  5. We got 3.5 inches last night in our rain gauge. But the good news is that the roof has been completed on the addition along with most of the doors (3) and windows (11). Only 1 door and 1 window yet to install (tomorrow), then rainy season be damned! Guess I better a get a construction update on my blog.

  6. Geez, those bearings didnt last long , but a bit longer than any warranty !!! When the new road goes past a property im assuming, as was the case with our bungalow,we had to make up the level to the new road surface

    • Warranty ran out at the end of May Robert. I’ve assumed that we will have to have some work done so that our exit/entrance is the same height as the new road. Contemplating a kind of beveled gutter though so that the water runs away. Probably to our neighbour though, and that’s the problem. One to sort out in a few weeks time!

Leave a Reply

