“Careful What You Wish For” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Regular readers will know that I’ve been harping on about the paucity of rain for some time. We’ve got a large (well I consider a 45,000 gallon capacity fairly large) rainwater collection tank under the house but it doesn’t stop me from wanting to see the overflow pipes in action.

There’s been some rain during this “the rainy season” but the downpours haven’t lasted long. Sometimes as quickly as I got excited (and where rain is concerned I can throw off my normally reserved and reticent demeanour and become highly excitable) my mood turned to one of deflation as the rain dwindled to a gentle pitter, patter just as quickly as the downpour appeared.

This changed during the course of Tuesday night/ Wednesday morning (I really don’t know when it started) when the heavens opened up and the rain came down in a torrent. It was bucketing down when I ‘hit’ the veranda (yes, it was the western ((lagoon) facing one)) with my mug of black coffee (absent sugar) and the iPad. Oh, and Ziggy too – he now, more often than not, joins me for some early morning “me (and “him”) time”.

We settled down. Me in my chair and Ziggy in his early morning spot.

IMG_7702.JPG

“Now that’s how to chill out!”

While Ziggy dreamt about whatever dogs dream about I took a walk-around (I don’t just sit there doing nothing!) to see what the effects of the rain were.

IMG_7997.JPG

IMG_7998.JPG

Our lot immediately south of our home. An extension of the lagoon?

And what about our garden?

IMG_7993.JPG

Northern side of the front garden.

IMG_7994.JPG

North western side of the front garden.

IMG_8005.JPG

IMG_8006.JPG

And the front gate. Oh dear …

The rain has highlighted pretty demonstrably that more landfill is required for the front garden. The back garden though has held up pretty well and Ziggy has put this to the test with his early morning exercise.

IMG_8013.JPG

“There’s got to be something to play with in there”.

IMG_8016.JPG

IMG_8015.JPG

“Yes, I know I’m good looking. If you’ve got it, flaunt it, I say”.

The rain has also made a real mess of the road south to the bridge.

IMG_8007.JPG

IMG_8008.JPG

IMG_8009.JPG

IMG_8010.JPG

IMG_8011.JPG

Aside from creating a pot-holed road that puts even the most supple if backs to the test the rain has also brought out the mosquitos who have been particularly virulent. I suppose its the classic case of being careful what you wish for!

But hey, what’s a few potholes and some mosquito bites when my tank is filling up! And it’s still raining as I finish this edition.

The headline is based on track twenty-two of the album entitled “Relapse” by Eminem which was released in 2009. The album reached number one in both the US Billboard Hot 200 and the UK Albums Chart.

Oh, before I bring this edition to a close I just wanted to let you know that abelizehomeforus has now got a Facebook Page. You can find it on Facebook at:
Abelizehomeforus.wordpress.com

I’ll be posting the occasional photo (or three). It’d be great if you take a look. Even better if you LIKE it!

25 thoughts on ““Careful What You Wish For” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Another One Bites the Dust” in San Pedro,Ambergris Caye,Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Pingback: “Forever Young (Young Forever)” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Ahh…some welcome rain, some potholes, even some Sun news less than happy occasionally occurs…..the price of living in PARADISE…beats the heck out of reading most of the US & world news and makes you all appear favored and truly blessed.
    ENJOY & GIVE THANKS !! 🙂

  4. Hi John. Yikes! I wonder what the road south of town looks like? Hopefully there will be a few days to dry out soon. Not looking forward to the mossies down south….they are brutal! A hello to arose and Ziggy also. 🙂

    • Hi Jan. Haven’t been way down south for some time but I would imagine the road is in a similar state to the road north of the bridge.
      The mosquitos haven’t actually been that bad this year but there have been a few days just recently when they have been out and about in droves.
      Hope all is going well and you are on course with your ‘to do’ list.
      Best to Clive and you. Rose and Ziggy say hi (well he woofed).

  5. Hello John,one good thing with all the rain,now you can see the low spots in your driveway. By the way when your front gate is locked ,and Rose and you get visitors how do you know? Greetings Pete.

    • I’d have been quite happy not to have seen the low spots Peter. There’s another low spot now. It’s me knowing that I’ve got to pay for landfill.
      As to the front gate, during the day can be opened. But there’s the risk of a Ziggy assault!

  6. Do you have a rain gauge? We put one up recently and I just started to keep records of the rainfall in mid-Sept. 7.4 inches since Sept 12. Of course we are farther south than you and get much more rain here in Toledo than you do on Ambergris. I am pretty sure it doesn’t collect the full amount just due to the wind we usually have when it rains, but at least we know got at least as much as in the gauge. Kind of fun to keep track of it. Hope your garden drains quickly.

Leave a Reply

