“Abracadabra” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Some of you (OK none of you -but allow me a little bit of ego) may have been wondering why I haven’t put out an edition lately. Quite simple really, there’s not been much that I’ve felt inclined to sit down and write about.

There’s only so many times (me? I want it to go on forever!) you want to know that I got up early, made a mug of black coffee, grabbed the iPad and headed out to the veranda (the western, lagoon facing one) to enjoy “me time”.

So what’s forced me out of this period of blogging inactivity. A force of nature that’s what.

Yesterday morning I was sitting out on the veranda – probably been there a couple of hours or two mugs of coffee – when my reverie was broken by shouts from Rose telling me to get a machete and the key for the front gate and get down to the Garage on the ground quickly, very quickly. “Why” I called out. “There’s a snake there” she shrieked back. Obvious terror in her voice.

I got the machete double quick and headed downstairs stopping only momentarily to pick up my camera (I just had to!).

As I reached the bottom of the stairs Rose was there pointing at the Garage doors. “There it is” she said. I looked up to see Ziggy around a yard from the Garage doors barking at a snake.

“Open the front gate” Rose cried. “Why?” quick as a flash I replied. “Does the snake want to get out?” I sensed from Rose’s general demeanour (well the scowl on her face actually) that she wasn’t at all impressed with my response. “No” she tersely replied, “A guy from the build next door heard me screaming -good job he did because you didn’t – and is coming in to catch the snake”.

I rushed down to the front gate, machete in hand, to let him in proffering the machete as soon as he entered. He declined, pointing to a stick that he held in his hand. ” I’m Ernesto” he announced, “Where’s the snake”. “In front of the Garage doors” I responded, pointing the way.

Ernesto (we subsequently found out that his real name is Ignacio. Don’t ask. I don’t know the answer) walked purposefully ahead of me (I obviously hung back so that I could take photos. And no matter what anyone says that was the only reason).

IMG_7686.JPG

“Ernesto” on his way to meet the snake.

Using his piece of wood he expertly encouraged ((in fact I’m sure I heard him sing “I want to reach out and grab ya” (clue for the song title there)) the snake, which he identified as a boa constrictor,to move from it’s hiding place

IMG_7687.JPG

so that he could pinion it to the floor just below its head.

IMG_7688.JPG

He was then able to hold it beneath its head and away from the teeth

IMG_7690.JPG

IMG_7691.JPG

and pull it out of its hiding place.

IMG_7693.JPG

“Ernesto” headed off to the beach to find a new home for the snake a new home and abracadabra the emergency was over.

IMG_7694.JPG

With the panic over I headed off for

IMG_7710.JPG

at Caribbean Villas Hotel and admired the view in between bites.

IMG_7712.JPG

When I got home I tackled the weeds (yet again) but did take time out to watch the ceiling of the water tank/floor for the house being built on the lot immediately north of us.

IMG_7698.JPG

I’ve already mentioned how organised this build appears to be and how quickly the house is going up. Today they started to lay the blocks and as I write this they’ve just finished for the day.

IMG_7714.JPG

It’s increasingly looking like they will achieve the target of being finished by Christmas.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1982 by the Steve Miller Band which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number two in the UK Singles Chart.

21 thoughts on ““Abracadabra” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Having undertaken research I believe the reptile removed by Ernesto is a ‘Homing Snake’ that will return to your property and is likely to hide under a bed or in a wardrobe. It may well then slither around during the night. Hope this helps.

    • Thanks very much for researching this for me Harry. So there could be one in and under the bed at the same time!
      We think it was a young snake so the worry is that the parents might be around and coming looking for it. And they are going to be much bigger.

  2. Why..you COULD..cultivate them as an “endangered species” now that more folks are moving down there, OR breed them as pet rat killers, or sell them on Alibaba.com to Asians maybe as a delicacy?
    Surely Rose would love coming up with recipes or designing snakeskin belts or purses or ??…Ok…just kidding….Always entertaining to read your blogs..THANK YOU! šŸ™‚

  3. Great! Sankes….I HATE snakes. Was hoping there would be NO snakes on this Island. Drugs, criminals, poor health care I can deal with…snakes not so much. How often in all the years you’ve been there have you ever seen a snake on Ambergris Caye?

      • Well, that’s 4 too many for me. But we live in the deep woods of PA so snakes are not new for me. I just find them vile creatures that never should have made in on the Arc! What the heck was Noah thinking!!! Anyway, I am not deterred and planing a trip back there in January to celebrate 35 years of blissful marriage. Hopefully I will never see any snakes there, human or reptile.

  4. The new site has type that is hard to read. Very light in color, on my computer anyway.
    Nice story. If there was no Ernesto\Ignacio would you have had the snake meet it’s maker?
    Inquiring minds need to know šŸ˜‰

    • Hi Henry. I was experimenting with themes for the blog and like the look of the one that you found difficult to read. I’ve since switched back so hopefully normal service is resumed for you.
      Don’t know truthfully what I would have done had “Ernesto” not been around. I think though that it may have been the end for the snake. Not too sure that I would have been confident of holding it without being bitten.

    • Hi Melanie. Sorry to advise that I don’t know how many types of snake can be found on Ambergris Caye. I understand that there are around 50 types that live in Belize. Since coming here we’ve probably seen around 4 different types. Discounting humans of course!

Leave a Reply

