“Walk on the Wild Side” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


The tranquility of my early morning “me time” out on the veranda (the western, lagoon facing one if you’re wondering) with the mug of coffee -black,no sugar as frequent readers will know- and the iPad has been disrupted over recent months occasionally by worrying thoughts.

What could have been so invasive you’re thinking (actually you probably don’t give a damn) to interrupt this period of the day that I enjoy so much.

Worrying that Arsenal won’t qualify for next season’s Champions League (yes I know that this season has only just begun but you have to think ahead) ? No. Too soon to start worrying about that even for me.

Worrying that the water tank under our house will run dry? Well I have been a little (OK, a lot) that I’d get up one morning, turn the tap and … nothing. But the rain last Sunday washed (terrible I know) those concerns away.

Worrying that I’m getting old? Nope. I know which of the two options I’ve got and I’ll go for “the getting older” one every time!

I could go on but I won’t. Quite honestly I’m a bit bored with the sequence of possibilities and you probably are too.

So what have I been worrying about? My passport, that’s what. It expires in October.

Now had I been thinking lucidly I would have renewed it before we left the UK. But it had nearly two and a half years left on it so I didn’t. And two and half years is a long time. Right? Well yes and no.

Those months have just flown by and I realised that I needed to do something about it and I was going to but then I read about the chaotic situation that the UK Passport office was in and decided that I’d wait until they cleared the backlog. Problem is, they haven’t. But the problem has been acknowledged and British government is allowing passport holders to extend their current documentation.

So yesterday I ‘phoned the British High Commission in Belmopan (well I thought I had contacted Belmopan until the guy on the other end of the line asked me where in Brasilia I lived !) and made an appointment to for next Tuesday to extend my passport by a year. Worries over. Well, for twelve months at least!

Actually whilst mentioning the British High Commission in Belize, if you want a good laugh phone the number and you’ll get through to an automated answering system. I don’t from where or when they got it but it’s like a throwback to the 1940s. Clipped enunciation and awfully, awfully posh. It was worth the wait until I got to speak to a human!

With the worries over I was able to enjoy my “me time” this morning before deciding that I’d give Ak-bol a try out for breakfast. I’ve been there for breakfast but that was a long time ago and, well, things change.

What follows is no more than some photographs as I went for breakfast (thrilling eh!).

20140904-113045-41445589.jpg</a

20140904-113150-41510370.jpg

Don’t know why (suppose I do really) but this sign conjured up a vision of the road awash with Belikin. Now wouldn’t that be something!

20140904-113418-41658454.jpg

Hit the beach trail heading north.

20140904-113658-41818136.jpg

The wind whipped up and the fronds of the coconut trees started to sway violently. I was in for a walk on the wild side (didn’t see that coming, did you?).

20140904-114458-42298584.jpg

Seaweed still in abundance.

20140904-114956-42596826.jpg

And along the path I meandered seeing things that I’d not noticed before.

20140904-115212-42732812.jpg

A “baby” mangrove.

20140904-115316-42796272.jpg

Members of his/her family.

20140904-115418-42858401.jpg

One day they’ll be big and strong like “him”.

20140904-115554-42954767.jpg

I’m all for keeping unwelcome visitors at bay but

20140904-115715-43035987.jpg

a canon! Isn’t this taking it too far?

20140904-120307-43387331.jpg

The Palapa Bar & Grill. Nearly there.

20140904-120601-43561197.jpg

Old and derelict beachfront home. I bet this looked something years ago (nope – I refuse to say “back in the day”).

20140904-120823-43703251.jpg

And I’m there!

I found myself a table (actually I could have chosen all of them – I was the only one there) and within a minute (maybe less but I can’t be precise because I don’t wear a watch anymore) Tua had brought me the menu.

20140904-121019-43819972.jpg

20140904-121133-43893933.jpg

“Now what shall I have?”

20140904-121224-43944490.jpg

Perfect.

And the view. What’s the view like you want to know.

20140904-121341-44021627.jpg

Pretty good I’d say.

The breakfast was good and at BZ$ 21 it was reasonably priced. But the ambience of the setting was spoilt for me. My breakfast was served on a plastic plate. Now I’m not snob (that unless my time listening to the British High Commission’s messaging service contaminated me) but a plastic plate just doesn’t “do it” for me.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released by Lou Reed in 1972 and reached number sixteen in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number ten in the UK Singles Chart.

23 thoughts on ““Walk on the Wild Side” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. OK. If you think the Brits are messed up in the embassy, consider the American Emb. when they came to Corozal last year, I wondered if any of them ever had been out of the compound or spoken to a Belizean. They did not appear to know anything about Belize. so odd. I beive plastic plates are less hygenic (perhaps incorrecctly) My real issue is if they are washed in cold tap water… do they ever get Sanitized? I hope the Ebola never comes to us. It would wipe out %70 of the population in less than 6 months. I have convinced my husband that a dishwasher is vital to our health.

    • It’s not the Embassy (actually we don’t have an Embassy in Belize, it’s a High Commission) but the Passport Office in the UK that is the problem.

      I know that the people based at the High Commission do get out and about around Belize. I’ve been to a few events when they’ve been there also.

      Really don’t know whether plastic is less (or more) hygenic than china but I admire your strategy for getting a dishwasher.

  2. Hi John, I agree, don’t care for plastic plates and not much for paper napkins either…all my friends think I’m nuts cause we only use cloth napkins here and real plates…unless we are having a quick sandwich for lunch or a picnic. So I feel your pain and annoyance. I’ll remember to bring my own plate if we ever go there!

    I’m a bit annoyed with myself because when we were down there two weeks ago I spotted you having breakfast at Estelle’s (at least at the time I thought it was you) and I wanted to ask and say hello, but I just hate to disturb a person having breakfast. You confirmed for me, that in fact it was you, because you had the little red lap top with you! Darn a missed opportunity to say hi to a celebrity! Have a good day!

    • Hi Susan. Thanks for your note.
      I don’t really object to a paper napkin – I tend to make a mess of them – but really do feel that a plastic plate detracts from the eating experience.

      I’m really sorry that you didn’t introduce yourself when you saw me at Estel’s. please do if you are there again and see me. As to a celebrity? In my dreams!

  3. Hey John,

    We live right next to the house with the cannon. Thought you might find interesting that Chris, the former owner, obtained the cannon from one of the numerous wrecks on the reef. With passage of time and hurricanes, the wrecks are virtually impossible to find. And we LOVE Ak’Bol food and don’t mind the plastic!

    • Hi Brian, long time no “speak.” Very interesting fact about the canon. Thanks for sharing.
      The food was very good at Ak-bol but I must admit that plastic plates don’t add to the eating experience for me.

  4. You sound like one of guest. Complaining about the plastic (Nordic Ware) dishes, that we provide for our quest, right before they drop one on the tile floor and watch it bounce instead of shattering into pieces. 🙂

    • I understand the reasons for and the benefits from using plastic ware in a rental property where the risk of breakage is high. But not in a restaurant for me. In all the years eating out I cannot remember diners breaking too many plates. Now kitchen staff is another thing. Same as I would like to be served a pint of beer in a plastic “glass”.

      • Even worse is trying to keep stemware. I have given up on that. I tell them to bring their own if it is a necessity.

Leave a Reply

