“Lay Me Down” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


On Sunday I enjoyed a bit of a lie -probably caused by the exertions (for exertions read Belikins) of going on a Poker Run– and got out of bed unusually late at 06.15 hours.

I hurriedly (well you can’t hurry up a kettle really apart from putting less water in) boiled the water for my mug of coffee fairly well rushed -OK, I walked quickly- out on to the veranda. Yep, the western, lagoon facing one.

Why the hurry (or maybe you’re not), you’re thinking. Simple. The Spurs versus Liverpool game was on TV with a 06.30 hours kick-off. What right minded Arsenal fan wouldn’t want to watch Spurs take a good hiding. And they did. What a perfect start to my day. Or so I thought.

Time for another mug of coffee and my breakfast (no time to go to Estel’s Dine By the Sea for a last breakfast before it closes for a month) before the Leicester City versus Arsenal game. Exquisite scheduling by the Premier League (or was it the TV companies?).

I settled down for the expected (don’t know about you but I expected it) win but although we dominated the play and we huffed and we puffed we could do no better than get a draw. But it wasn’t all bad because the game hadn’t been going more than around fifteen minutes (it started at 10.00 hours) when I heard the sound of rain. Yes, rain. And it was coming down heavily.

20140901-172805-62885783.jpg

20140901-172909-62949794.jpg

There wasn’t a cloud to be seen. The sky was just a dark greyness. This was not going to be a brief downpour. Time to revise my plans for the day. No gardening. No giving Ziggy his weekly bath. Oh no. This was going to be a morning just for me! Only one thing for it. Time to lay me down and overdose on football. And I did.

I finished watching the Arsenal game (don’t really want to say much more about that) and then watched Villarreal lose to Barcelona and Real Sociedad beat Real Madrid (that was a shock by the way). What a heavenly Sunday morning.

Late afternoon Rose, Ziggy and I headed to Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill. Rose wasn’t too keen on going out in the rain. I was ambivalent but Ziggy was insistent.

We hadn’t been there long when it became obvious that he had been studying me during the morning. It took only minutes after arrived there before he took up the position.

20140901-174349-63829905.jpg

A master at work!

When we got home we showed Rose that we could work (sic) as a double act.

20140901-174512-63912581.jpg

I’m the one wearing the shorts.

Now I know that the vast majority don’t give two hoots about how I spent my Sunday. Actually you probably don’t give two hoots about how I spend my Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, … No what you want to know is what I did for breakfast today now that Estel’s is closed. In your shoes I would too.

Well, I took a drive south to Caribbean Villas Hotel in Seagrape Drive and got there shortly after 08.00 hours and a “front row” table

20140901-180100-64860118.jpg

with a view.

A quick study of the Menu “told” me that there was only one choice to make. The “full English”.

20140901-180222-64942102.jpg

THE “full English”.

At BZ$ 24 I thought it well worth the money. Don’t let my size mislead you. I can tuck it away. But this breakfast just had the better of me. I had to leave half a slice of toast!

Before I left though I took the opportunity of taking a peek at the new building that is under construction that will provide forty-eight additional rooms for this Caribbean beachfront hotel.

20140901-223735-81455541.jpg

20140901-223901-81541311.jpg

The windows will start to be installed this week and everything and I’m reliably informed that everything is on track for the new rooms to be available early in November.

On the way home I had to stop off at Adrian’s in Boca Del Rio. Yes, another puncture.

20140901-224539-81939236.jpg

When I started this edition I felt that I had so much to tell you but as I get to the end of it I question what. So if you haven’t got this far I think you made a good decision. If you’ve stayed to the end though, well, thank you.

The headline for today’s edition is based in the single released in 2013 by Sam Smith (if you haven’t heard this guy he has a great voice) and it reached number forty-six in the UK Singles Chart.

10 thoughts on ““Lay Me Down” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Somethin’ Stupid” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Hi John, thanks for the Blog, good to hear about life in Ambergris. My wife and I came down one month ago, first time visiting, looked at four houses and made an offer when we got home. We come back down and close sept 25th. YEA. house is two lots north from the palapa bar. in your neighborhood? Hope our paths cross,, thanks for the updates. This house will be part time for us for now. can’t get out of the loop yet šŸ™‚ but it is good to have options.

    • You are more than welcome Glen. It’s nice to know that people enjoy it. So thanks for taking the time to let me know your feelings.
      Great news on your purchase. I assume from the description you have given that it is beachfront.
      I too hope that we get to meet.

  3. John,
    Always wondered, but never thought to ask here.
    Why do you always start your morning on the west facing side of your beautiful home, forgoing the morning sunrise?

    Your neighbor north,

    Rob

    • Hi Rob. Don’t think we’ve met yet. Why the lagoon facing veranda. Well it’s twice as wide to start with. I enjoy the early morning silence -apart from the water and birds- and when it rains I tend not to get wet. I can also listen to the TV.
      I do enjoy watching the sunrise but do not get a totally clear view because of the beachfront house to the north-east of us. Now if you can get that moved. Well!

  4. naps during the rains are bliss. we went on a meditation on sunday and the sound of the rain was a pleasant bonus. My blood pressure must have dropped another 20 points.

Leave a Reply

