“The Girl from Ipanema” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Do you ever feel like you’ve died and gone to heaven? Found your nirvana? No? I can understand that. I mean, I’m sure not too many people feel like they have found that magical state. If I’m honest , and there’s no point being otherwise, I never thought that I would. But that’s how I feel now.

I’ve had some good times in my life. I had great parents. A happy childhood. Some fantastic teen years. I loved my job and looked forward every day to going to work. In fact many were the days when Rose had to ‘phone me to get me to go home! And, of course, I met, fell in love with, and eventually married Rose. The love of my life AND my best friend ( some of you will now be thinking “How delightful”, others ? Looking for the sick bag!).

So with all this why do I suddenly feel like I reached heaven? Well for the first time in my life I’m able to watch every single game in the World Cup. Now the fact that I haven’t watched every game – I’ve missed watching three and a half (only saw one half of the France v Honduras game) up to yesterday- has been my choice. My World Cup viewing has not been dictated by being at work as it has been for previous competitions.

Yesterday I decided that I would ‘go’ for some atmosphere for the Brazil v Mexico game and watch the game at Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill. There are four TVs there and plenty of space to find a seat in front of one of them. First though I wanted to get the caps to finish off the posts on our dock so I took a drive down to Harmouch’s Hardware store in Boca Del Rio.

He had just what I wanted and they were priced at BZ$ 38 each. After some haggling I got him to drop the price to BZ$ 36 and after some more determined haggling he dropped the price again. This time to BZ$ 32. We had a deal.

20140618-140933-50973539.jpg

A snip (???) at BZ$ 32.

20140618-141334-51214362.jpg

“Naked” posts.

20140618-141442-51282606.jpg

First caps fitted.

20140618-141534-51334604.jpg

“Much better”.

With the bit of DIY done I headed off to the ‘Runway bar for the 13.00 hours kick off and when I got the found a good number of people around the bar.

20140618-144018-52818219.jpg

20140618-144125-52885705.jpg

Recognise any faces you know?

Prices had been lowered for the big game.

20140618-144234-52954261.jpg

I mentioned in a previous edition that team support on the island favours Brazil closely followed by Argentina and the yellow shirts of Brazil were in evidence on both sides of the bar.

20140618-144421-53061048.jpg

20140618-144528-53128393.jpg

The girl from ipanema?

The Mexican fans – and there were quite a few (I presume their forefathers came from Mexico)- were vocal in their support as the game progressed and their team grew in confidence. It ended up as a nil, nil draw but Mexico came out of it with a great deal of credit.

Twenty-five more days of World Cup football and I’m going to be in front of a TV for every one of them. Heaven, I’m in heaven.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1964 by Astrud Gilberto which reached number five in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number twenty-nine in the UK Singles Chart.

14 thoughts on ““The Girl from Ipanema” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Go the scots and the Aussies. Hope you and Rose are well. Place is looking great no wonder your birth so happy.

  2. No mention of your near neighbours Honduras? In a very good start to the World Cup they appear to play anything but the beautiful game. X rated stuff. Fortunately Costa Rica and Mexico representing Central America with style.

    • Hi Harry. I did give Honduras a passing mention. Their first game took place on the day of our 8 hour power outage so I only caught one half of the game.
      As you say, Mexico and Costa Rica have performed very well. Wish I could say the same about England.

  3. Wonderful!
    cracking goal by Cahill in the Aussie and Holland game got to be the best / one of the best of the tournament so far John. Good luck England against Uruguay, cant wait.
    BTW Very impressed (not surprised) at your negotiation skills

  4. It says she’s on the ‘Razil’ LOL And yes recognise quite a few sad looking faces LOL.
    Geez John, a new boat, new house, the world Cup, i’d see the Doc, you might be needs meds !!!!

Leave a Reply

