“No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problems” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


With my selections for the World Cup taken care (dreaming of getting my hands on the prize money already!) of I was free yesterday morning to revert to my usual routine. You know, out on the veranda early (yesterday it was around 04.30 hours) with the mug of black coffee and my iPad.

Intuitively feeling that it won’t be long before we get the call from Louis to let us know that he has fixed the engine of the boat we have bought I started to give thought to what we need to buy for the boat and drew up a short list for the shopping trip I was going to make later.

With the list ‘out of the way’ I turned my attention to The Times online where I found at article about a Swedish ecommerce start-up that has introduced a number of employee perks. One of which made me think of Ambergris Caye.

Apparently Tictail, that’s the name of the company, offers it staff “mindfulness breaks” (“set times in the day during which employees use no tech, have good food, take exercise”) and flat hierarchies (“using first names for senior positions”). It’s now introduced shoelessness or, as the company email describes it, “shoes at the door, everyone barefoot to keep the space pleasant”. Ambergris Caye , although behind the times in many things, saw the merit of this approach years ago with its ” No shoes, no shirts, no problems” slogan.

Before ‘hitting the road’ to go and make my purchases I let Lloyd, his son Anthony and Nelson in and watched for a while as they set about finishing off the work on the dock. They started off by making a small table that we can use to clean the fish that we catch. There’s confidence for you!

20140613-190112-68472191.jpg

Lloyd cutting the holes for where the legs will go.

20140613-190252-68572203.jpg

Legs (supports) in.

I left them to go shopping and returned around ninety minutes later with:

20140613-190406-68646668.jpg

A fire extinguisher and petrol (gas for non UK readers). The former a requirement for the issuance of a seaworthiness certificate and the latter so that we don’t run out! So still a bit of safety first I suppose. Total cost with discount (always, always, always ask for a discount when shopping on Ambergris Caye. As my Mum used to say, ” If you don’t ask, you don’t get.”) BZ$ 113.

And a whistle -our chosen means of being able to make a distress signal – for compliance for a seaworthiness certificate.

20140613-190825-68905708.jpg

A bargain at BZ$ 5.75!

Oh and I also bought a copy of the latest issue of The San Pedro Sun to make sure that our Public Notice advert was in it. It was.

20140613-191427-69267854.jpg

Exceedingly good value at BZ$ 1.

By the time I got home the guys had finished work on the dock.

20140613-191725-69445266.jpg

Ramp from garden to the sea wall in.

20140613-191906-69546516.jpg

‘Cutting board’ in.

The headline for this edition is based on the single released in 2003 by Kenny Chesney which reached number two in the US Billboard Hot Country Songs chart and number twenty-eight in the US Billboard Hot 100.

7 thoughts on ““No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problems” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. All your hard work is looking good John. Good name for your boat too. Sure do miss Ziggy, as I’m sure you and Rose do also. Are you making any plans for Lobsterfest? By the way when does lobster season close? Would like to plan my trip toward the end of the lobster season. Would like to plan a lobster snorkeling trip for my visit. Let me be the first to inquire about hiring the gunner for my snorkeling trip. Any chance?
    Thanks gunnersmith

    • Thanks Guy. We’re pleased with it too.
      We miss Ziggy a lot but not too long to wait now and he is with us for good.
      As to the Lobster Season, it runs until 14 February next year.
      And sorry I can’t hire out the boat. The license will be for personal use only.

Leave a Reply

