“The Young Ones” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


I mentioned in the previous edition that Lloyd and his guys started the real work on the build of our dock on Sunday.

As much as I want the dock finished though I wished that they had observed Sunday as being a day for rest. Why? Well Rose and I went on a Poker Run the night before and I really stupidly (I know that I should know better at my age) tried to keep pace with the British Army guys over for the weekend and could have done without having to get up before 07.00 hours to open the front gate!

I felt tired anyway but just watching them made me feel even more listless as they set about ‘sinking’ the supports (PVC filled with concrete) for the dock.

First job was to get the pump in place to move the mud, silt or whatever else you might want to call it so that the supports could be securely positioned.

20140610-055710-21430746.jpg

20140610-055828-21508204.jpg

A framework, to ensure that the supports are ‘sunk’ in the correct places was installed

20140610-060151-21711187.jpg

and then the posts started to go in.

20140610-060328-21808451.jpg

20140610-061353-22433204.jpg

20140610-061352-22432440.jpg

20140610-062424-23064799.jpg

And then it was time for the last one to go in.

20140610-063133-23493273.jpg

20140610-065327-24807069.jpg

and the working day for Lloyd and his boys was over. For me? I was still tired!

Feeling much better yesterday I was up bright (well actually it was still dark when I got up at around 04.30 hours) and early and headed out to the veranda -the western one on the first floor – with my mug of black coffee and the iPad. It was good to be able to enjoy my ‘me ‘ time. And I did for nearly two hours until it was time to shower, shave, brush the teeth and get dressed. I had errands to do!

First though? Yes, you’ve guessed it- breakfast at Estel’s Dine By the Sea. With breakfast over it was straight to the bank for the Monday morning queue. I knew that I would have a long wait but I needed the cash (bills to pay for the garden clean up).

I then popped in to Caribbean Depot to order three yards of gravel to finish off the garden and then it was straight to Captain Shark’s Boatyard to pick up paperwork for the boat and then just down the road to the Port of Belize office to register the boat in our name. It was all going so well and then … we found that absent from the raft of paperwork was the boat’s registration certificate.

The Port of Belize guy came up with a simple (and I would imagine well used) solution. Take out an advert in The San Pedro Sun and then return with a copy of the newspaper with the advert in it. So, only one thing for it. Straight to The San Pedro Sun’s office in Barrier Reef Drive

20140610-102130-37290958.jpg

where I booked the following to appear as a Public Notice:

” Jerry Jeff Walker hereby declares that his vessel registration certificate #SPR 0084 has been lost”.

The notice will appear in the next two issues for an advert rate of BZ$ 54.

On Thursday, when the next issue of The San Pedro Sun is published I’ll buy a copy and take it to the Port of Belize office when – hopefully- the boat ownership will be assigned to us.

Things hadn’t gone as well as I had hoped but they’d still gone pretty well and I was feeling good about life in general. That was until I got home and picked up on the sad news that Rik Mayall had died suddenly at the age of fifty-six.

I’m not too certain whether Rik Mayall was well known in the ‘States and Canada but for those of us born in the UK he is recognised as someone who brought a new meaning to TV comedy.

Bursting on to the scene in 1982 as a member of The Young Ones he played the role of a self-proclaimed anarchist and tantrum throwing Cliff Richard fan. For me though I will always remember his cameo appearances in Blackadder as Lord Flashheart. A truly sad loss.

The headline for today’s edition (in memory of Rik Mayall) is based on the single released in 1962 by Cliff Richard (who else) and The Shadows and reached number one in the UK Singles Chart.

7 thoughts on ““The Young Ones” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. My wife was deeply saddened when she heard the news about Rik the other day. She was a huge fan of The Young Ones and we are both big fans of Blackadder. Very sad indeed.

  2. The good die young, and he was good!

    I’ll have to search youtube and see what skits they may have running around. As to the good dying young — that gives me great hope and confidence for the long future ahead.

Leave a Reply

