“What’s a Guy Gotta Do” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Apologies if yesterday’s edition gave you a restless night’s sleep wondering what plants Edward offered for sale. And whether we bought any!

Unfair of me? Maybe. But then again milking it this way gave me some subject matter for another edition. I mean what’s a guy gotta do.

I’m of course going to let you know what decisions we made but you’ll have to wait a while longer because by popular demand (OK so only a few people asked) I’m first going to give you an update on Ziggy who left us last Sunday to return (temporarily) to his home at Price Barracks, Ladyville.

As an honorary member of BATSUB the Arsenal shirt had to be discarded (only for a little while mind) and replaced with his ‘uniform’.

20140523-064535.jpg

On ‘parade’ in his BATSUB T-shirt. Smart, eh!

And he was back to work in no time at all.

20140523-064750.jpg

But it’s not all work and no play and as a reward for being a good boy he got a visit to Happy Tails in Belize City for a haircut, shampoo and pedicure.

20140523-065239.jpg

“But I look good already”.

20140523-065446.jpg

“(Bow) Wow. Looking good”.

With all of the exertions necessary to look good there was only one thing for it, a nap. No, not a catnap, but a Ziggynap!

20140523-065857.jpg

Fully refreshed (and looking good) it was time to get back to work.

20140523-110349.jpg

Sentry Duty. “I may not look alert but I’m like a coiled spring”.

You’ve shown great patience so now I’ll tell all about Edward and the plants he had on offer and which – to end the suspense- we bought.

He had a ‘bunch’ of Elephant Ears (or Colocasia to give the correct name)

20140523-085601.jpg

Elephant Ears

and some Moss Roses (or the Portulaca grandiflora)

20140523-104340.jpg

Edward named his prices. I stepped back a few feet (I know my place) leaving Rose in the key negotiating position as she swept in to action. Edward has ‘faced’ Rose before but I think he had forgotten how tenacious and relentless she can be. Her motto? ‘ take no prisoners’. And she didn’t because Edward, wilted (something that we -obviously do not want to happen to the plants) before my very eyes under the persistent pressure from Rose.

He willingly took the price, and money, she offered, brought the plants in to the front garden and escaped before he lost the shirt on his back (I’m convinced Rose had a bag creation in mind for it!).

We bought six of each of the plants and yesterday we planted the Elephant Ears.

20140523-105249.jpg

First one in.

And then the remaining five.

20140523-110637.jpg

We’ve still got the six Moss Roses to plant

20140523-110758.jpg

but we are going to ‘bring them on’ out on the veranda until we decide exactly where we are going to plant them. That way when I have my early morning coffee I’ll always have Rose with me. Actually I’ll have six with me. And I thought I struck lucky getting one!

I mentioned in a previous edition that very shortly (thirty- first of May actually) Rose and I celebrate our second anniversary of living on Ambergris Caye. Thinking about this when out on the veranda this morning I was reminded of something a long-time acquaintance on the island said to us after we had been here around a year.

She (and she will remain anonymous) told us that she never really spent much time getting to know people that moved here until they’d been here for two years. She went on to explain that two years is somewhat of a watershed or a barometer. Last two years and you’re likely ‘in’ for the long run. So many, she recounted, realise before the two years are up that island life (or this island life) isn’t for them and they up sticks and move.

With just over a week to go its no watershed moment for us. Well we’ve got the Moss Roses to plant, haven’t we!

The headline for today’s edition is based in the single released in 2004 by Joe Nichols which reached number sixty-four in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number four in the US Billboard Hot Country Songs chart.

8 thoughts on ““What’s a Guy Gotta Do” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Elephant Ears and a type of rose – I wasn’t far off the mark. Elephant Ears are wonderful, gorgeous plants. I’d guess they do exceedingly well in that climate. Do people grow Birds of Paradise there? I can’t recall seeing any when there.

    Thanks for the Ziggy update. Who knew he posted his blogs using only his right paw? Talented lad.

  2. John you sure know how to keep me coming back for more I have really enjoyed your post again today it made good reading whilst eating breakfast. Thanks for a very interesting and informative Blog.

  3. ahhhh a Ziggy fix.. Surely you must know, he has taken over. Your fans (like me) need our daily dose of Ziggy. well maybe not daily, but as near as you can be persuaded. I have been reflecting on the premise that 2 years of Belize living is a decision point. I wonder if it may be closer to a year for year around residents? The people who come for a week and purchase a home, may have to stay until they can sell the house, so they may make their decision to leave but take longer to implement.. When we came we planned to stay permanently. In Corozal the ex-pats are a much smaller proportion of the residents than Ambergis Caye, thus the Belizean culture has a great impact on our daily lives. I think of our tenure here similar to a military enlistment, we re-up a annually. time reveals all. I remain your grateful fan, you and Ziggy & of course Rose.

    • Hi Kristina. The time required by individuals living in Belize to determine if its for them or not will be different for everyone but my piece on it today was based on the view who has formed this opinion after watching a number of people over a number of years. The assessment though is based solely on Ambergris Caye. It is though based on people living here continuously (as we do).

      Oh and don’t worry, there will be more Ziggy!

  4. Thanks for the Ziggy update! I am sure you guys miss him and he will love the shade of the elephant ears once they take over. Our Bassett Hound thinks they were planted here in Virginia just for her! Going to miss them both when we move in September.

    • Hi Kathy. You are more than welcome. In fact the update was probably more for me than anyone else.

      We do miss him but it’s softened by the fact that we know he is coming back.

Leave a Reply

