“Rose in Paradise” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


So what have I been doing since we last ‘spoke‘?

I’ve enjoyed early morning ‘me’ time on the veranda. Catching up with the news, thinking about what needs to be done for the house next (yes I know, get the fence ‘painted’ first before I start on the next project), catching up on emails, reading other people’s blogs (hard to believe I’m sure but I do look at other people’s stuff – by now you’d think I would have picked up some good habits but… Old dog, new tricks I suppose).

Speaking of dogs, Rose and I have spent a little time preparing ourselves for the month long visit of Ziggy

.

20140710-033136.jpg

Ziggy in his home at Price Barracks, Ladyville.

Things like “who is going to take him for his walks” (me most probably), “who is going to feed him ” (Rose I’d say definitely), “who is going to bathe him” (think I got that one), and “who gets to pet and stroke him” (think Rose has unofficially claimed this one). Oh, and “who gets the poop scooping duty” (an uncontested me on that one. Not that I got to vote!).

It’s not all been about preparing for Ziggy though. I did take up the cudgel (OK, the paintbrush) with the exterior side of the fence again. It didn’t last that long though because ants started to bite my feet (I really don’t have a clue what type they are but they are vicious. And there are so many of them). I manfully endured the pain until I ran out of the preservative I am using and then I very quickly scuttled indoors to lick my wounds (not literally of course).

I also arranged for the water test for the boat that we are considering buying. Its set for 10.00 hours next Thursday. I’ll obviously let you know if the engine is ‘up to it’. If not, then it’s ‘back to the drawing board’. Hopefully not though.

Not content with organising the boat test (it’s all go!) I then set about arranging for Mauricio to visit our house to measure up the doors that we are going to have ‘burglar bars’ made for. We feel safe and secure in our new home but the addition of these additional security measures will, we believe, make us feel just that little bit more secure.

The ‘doors’ will be made for the double-door entrance to our house and the apartment on the ground floor.

20140420-090836.jpg

Mauricio’s sketch of the ‘door’ for the ground floor apartment.

And

20140420-091008.jpg

for our front door.

We now await a quotation from Mauricio and then Rose can go in to negotiating mode. She’s already in training!

Yesterday the big day came for Frank to bring Ziggy over for his four week stay with (the ‘does he like us, do we like him” time) whilst Frank returns to the UK for a holiday. Frank messages me that they would be arriving on a Belize Water Taxi between 11.50 to 12.00 hours so to get ready for the big day ahead I ventured in to town for an early morning breakfast at – where else – Estel’s By the Sea.

I enjoyed -as I always do- the breakfast and had lots more to look at than usual with the throngs of people that had and were arriving from the mainland for the Easter weekend. I must have been so wrapped in my thoughts that after paying I upped and left without putting my iPad in my rucksack. I didn’t notice my oversight (I called it a lot more than that when I realised my stupidity but this is a family newspaper so cannot print what I called myself). I immediately phoned Estel’s in an obvious state of distress but was immediately calmed when I heard Shanty informing me that he had seen it and placed it behind the counter for safe-keeping.

With peace restored to the world (well at least in our house) Rose and I got ready and headed to town to meet the water taxi and got there around 11.35 hours. You never know, the taxis do arrive early sometimes.

We were on the dock when THE water taxi arrived

20140420-105426.jpg

20140420-105808.jpg

and we watched the crowd, and I mean CROWD, disembark from the boat. But there was no Frank and, more importantly, no Ziggy. So we waited for the next boat which wasn’t too long because extra boats had been brought in to service to accommodate the much, much larger customer base.

20140420-110300.jpg

but no Ziggy. Oh, and Frank.

But within the next thirty minutes the next boat arrived

20140420-185843.jpg

20140420-185950.jpg

and docked.

And then there was Ziggy

20140420-190328.jpg

oh, and Frank as well.

Frank brought loads of stuff for Ziggy’s stay. Food. His toys. And his bed.

20140420-190612.jpg

And then Rose just had to (she just did) join him.

20140420-190935.jpg

Rose (and Ziggy) in paradise.

In tomorrow’s edition you can read about Ziggy’s first experience with the Caribbean Sea and our trip to Caye Caulker (and all of the back street bars that other blogs don’t cover) to say goodbye to Ian. Can’t wait can you? Nor can I!

The headline for today’s edition (thanks to Wes Witt) is based on the single released in 1987 by Waylon Jennings which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot Country Singles Chart.

15 thoughts on ““Rose in Paradise” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. You’re going to need this title one day John….
    Ziggy Stardust by David Bowie in 1971
    Good luck..he looks like a good dog.

  2. Our neighbor has a dog named “Ziggy” that plays weekly with our lab rescue dog of five “Cody”. Cody is spoiled but has the presents of a well taught child.He is always by my or my wife’s side. He sleeps with us in our new King size bed and usually gives us enough room to sleep. He loves to check out the people at all drive-up windows. Treats might be there for him. We LoVe our best friend and we hope you get to LoVe Ziggy just as much as we do Cody :O)

    • Hi Tom. We’re fairly sure that Ziggy will gain our love as much as Cody has yours. He needs to get to know us and we him. We also need to train him so that he knows what is and what is not acceptable. No sleeping in the bed for him though!

  3. Pingback: “Walking on Sunshine” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  4. I didn’t think that you would have much trouble using that headline. Perhaps you will be going for “the ants go marching” or “High Hopes” next

  5. Good post today, John! I have been meaning to ask you how much that 5 gal. bucket of Thompson’s WaterSeal goes for in San Pedro? Can’t be very cheap since it isn’t cheap up here! I like your “dog to be”. He’ll be good for you and get you on a regular schedule – dog’s do that!

    Take care,

    Julian

    • Thanks Julian. A five gallon can cost me BZ$ 215 but I brought the cans I needed via a relative of the hardware store owner so got the normal discount plus the family discount. The list price in the store was BZ$ 252 a can.

  6. Ziggy is adorable! I hope he’ll have a very nice stay there. Perhaps you’ll find you enjoy having a beast around the place so much, you’ll adopt one of the many loving potlickers from Saga! A dog would provide that extra level of security just as well as burglar bars….

Leave a Reply

