“The Sound of Silence” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


I have just got to start (well I don’t actually have to, but I do want to, so I am) off today’s edition by thanking so many of you for responding so quickly and positively to the plea for help in the previous edition

Nearly all of the suggestions will be used (unlikely though “Harry the Hornet” that I will be writing about you in a future edition so will not have the reason to use your submission) in the coming weeks. You’ve given me lots to be going on with but DO please keep the suggestions coming.

I was out on the veranda (yes, the western, lagoon, facing one on the first floor) yesterday morning at around 05.00 hours (yes I had a mug of black coffee and my iPad with me – please do stop interrupting otherwise I’ll lose the flow. And possibly the will to live) running through the list ((I did what I said I would do (a man who keeps his promises, that’s me) and wrote them down)) thinking about which suggested song I would use first.

I was somewhat ponderously mulling over (I wish I could say that my brain was on fire with creative thought but I can’t, I’d be lying) the list when the sound of silence was broken. As an aside, why is it described as the ‘sound of silence’ ? I mean the definition of silence is “the absence of sound” ie you cannot hear a thing! Anyway, back to my early morning reverie and the list. I narrowed my choice for the next edition (this one) when the final selection was made for me when I heard the sound of a cement mixer ‘kicking’ in to action on the lot immediately north of us. The time? It was 06.00 hours. The sound of silence was no more and in no time at all the concrete pour began.

20140707-232858.jpg

The first wheelbarrow load of concrete on a very long day.

And then the bucket brigade went to work.

20140707-233859.jpg

“C’mon, get the buckets moving”.

20140707-234203.jpg

20140707-234415.jpg

20140707-234525.jpg

They were in full swing when I heard sounds of activity to the left (south) of me. The guys had started work on the extension of Pirate Villas.

20140707-235300.jpg

The guys there were getting ready for a concrete pour too. But first some gymnastics.

20140707-235436.jpg

20140707-235529.jpg

With my period of tranquility broke there was only one thing to do and the regular readers amongst you will know exactly what this was. Yes, head off to Estel’s Dine By the Sea for breakfast.

Rose decided she’d come with me. Not to have breakfast. Oh no. She was going shopping. Fair division of labour if you ask me. You didn’t ask me! So, I still think its a fair division of labour.

As I locked the front gate I noticed the board outside Pirate’s Treasure Restaurant & Bar advertising the latest addition, the Captain’s Table ( you sit and watch your meal being cooked). Rose and I haven’t been yet but it looks like it’s “cooking up a storm” (terrible I know but you’ve surely come to expect this type of stuff from me) with full bookings most nights.

20140708-000825.jpg

I must admit that as we set off I wasn’t in the happiest of moods. I mean my ‘me time’ had been disturbed. Seems like being annoyed wasn’t confined to me though

20140708-001432.jpg

even the buns on sale on the way to breakfast were ‘angry’ (it could get worse!).

Once ensconced at Estel’s I settled down for breakfast and Rose headed off to do the shopping

20140708-015619.jpg

“Bye Rose”.

Whilst Rose took care of the things that women take care of (yes, I know that I am treading on very dangerous ground) whilst I enjoyed breakfast and took in the view

20140708-021058.jpg

until Rose returned.

20140708-021236.jpg.

The headline for today’s edition (kindly suggested by carmiekaye AND Paul Cloutier) is based on the single by Simon and Garfunkle released in 1965 which reached number nine in the UK Singles Chart and number one in the US Billboard Hot 100.

9 thoughts on ““The Sound of Silence” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Bearing in mind your comment in para 2, Harry has another song suggestion for you. Joe Dulce’s UK number one in 1981…….’Shaddap You Face’!!! Have a nice day.

  2. I didn’t get a chance to respond to your last request so here goes.

    “A Beautiful Morning” by The Rascals

    “Rose in Paradise” by Waylon Jennings (this one should be easy for you to use)

    If you are brave “Rosie” by Jackson Browne

  3. You are forgiven. In the newspaper business,is that what they call a retraction ?
    I owe you a drink if ever I get to your end of the world !

    • Not so much a retraction more of a Public Apology. More often than not used (in newspapers) to avoid a costly libel case. So your offer of a beer is more than generous under the circumstances!

Leave a Reply

