“Just the Two of Us” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


It’s been awhile (again) since I published an edition. The intention has been there. The time has been there. The subject matter has been there. But getting them all to be ‘there’ at the same time has been a problem. Suppose though that the most relevant of all is that the important missing ingredients of desire and determination just weren’t around when I needed them! I ‘found’ them – well at least I think I did – this morning, hence this edition (for what it’s worth).

I’ve had a mixed bag sort of time since the last edition. Nothing monumental to report. I’ve not been back to ‘go to war’ with the fence. I want to get it finished, of course I do. But it’s not like it’s going anywhere, is it!

I had an ego massaging experience last Friday (well at least I think it was Friday). I had breakfast at Estel’s Dine By the Sea and was on my way to the ‘cart after some shopping at The Greenhouse when I sensed something behind me. Turning around I saw that it was a female pushing a bike. I chivalrously (I do display good manners occasionally) moved to one side to allow her easier passage. As she drew close she mounted the bike and in seconds was beside me. As she started to cycle away from me she turned and said “You’re building a new life aren’t you”. Not being the brightest bulb in the box it didn’t register what she was on about until she added “Love the blog”. And then the penny dropped.

I didn’t get a chance to respond or to get her name but if you (and obviously you’ll know who you are) are reading this I’d just like to say “Thank you”. I was ‘made up’ (( no I didn’t go home and apply mascara and lipstick – it’s an English (originating in Merseyside) expression meaning “really happy”)) all day. In fact I’m still ‘made up’!

A few editions ago I told you that – having gained our Masters Licenses – Rose and I had started looking for a boat to buy. Having found a boat that ‘took our fancy’ we knew that we needed to get the outboard engine checked and after asking around we settled on Lewis to carry out the inspection for us and last Friday we met him at Captain Shark’s Boatyard.

20140414-084255.jpg

Captain Shark’s Boatyard.

We’d arranged to meet Lewis at 11.00 hours and Rose and I arrived there around ten minutes before then and parking in a shady area we waited for Lewis to arrive. And we waited (get used to this kind of thing in Belize and don’t let it bother you because if you allow it to you’re likely to end up with ulcers).

After a while -perhaps around fifteen minutes – I ‘phoned Lewis and he told me he would be with us in ten minutes. And – nearly true to his word- he arrived twenty minutes later!

He then very quickly set about taking a look at the boat (and particularly the hull) and the engine.

20140414-090144.jpg

Lewis at work.

20140414-090249.jpg

A ‘close up and personal’ for the engine.

The initial inspection revealed no ‘horrors’ so this week we’re going back with Lewis to see how the boat – and especially the engine – performs when in water. Well, after all, that’s where it’s going to ‘live’!

We then headed off to the Maya Island Air Terminal to await the arrival of the 01.30 hours flight from the Municipal Airport to pick up our friend Ian who was coming to spend a couple of days with us before his time as a member of BATSUB comes to and end and he returns to the UK for his next assignment.

20140414-092827.jpg

The Ian has landed ((Ian is the one with the three lions (obviously) on his shirt)).

After settling Ian in to the ground floor apartment Rose started to make a late breakfast for us all of sausages, bacon, scrabbled egg and baked beans (Heinz of course) and this was nearing completion when there was a power outage. Quick as a flash we displayed great improvisational skills and jettisoned the eggs and beans and went instead for a mixture of sausage and bacon sandwiches.

In the evening we did a mini (well maybe not that mini) bar crawl taking in the Palapa Bar, Molly Malone’s, Sandy Toe’s Beach Bar & Grill and Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill (by then we needed food again). Photos were taken but I’m not publishing them for fear of incriminating myself and I don’t know how sensitive some of you might be!

The next morning Ian and I headed to Estel’s Dine By the Sea for breakfast and then returned home to watch Arsenal play Wigan Athletic in the semi-final of the FA Cup. Rose watched the first half with us but then she did the decent thing and went to collect Frank and “Geordie” (for non UK readers this is a nickname for people born in Newcastle), who are colleagues of Ian, from the Belize Water Taxi terminal.

We all watched (well Rose didn’t watch too much because she made breakfast for Frank and “Geordie” and I had my hands over my eyes for some of the match) Arsenal scrape through to the final on penalties. Lucky Arsenal? Absolutely!

In the evening we went on a Poker Run (yes another pub crawl) and met Frank and “Geordie” (they stayed at Pedro’s Hotel) at Caribbean Villas Hotel which was the start point for the night.

We knew that we were in for a fun night when we were greeted by the sartorially elegant “Geordie”

20140414-113950.jpg

Subtly understated!

We all had a really enjoyable evening

20140414-114124.jpg

Some more than others

with Ian sharing the BZ$ 750 pot.

20140414-114350.jpg

The next morning Ian and I were up bright (well I’m never that bright) and early to watch the 06.30 hours game between Liverpool (Ian is a keen Liverpool fan) and Manchester City. Liverpool won a really entertaining game to go top of the Premier League.

Getting Ian down from the ceiling took some doing but I eventually achieved this and he and I then met Frank and “Geordie” for breakfast (yes, you’ve guessed it, at Estel’s).

We said goodbye to Frank and “Geordie” when they caught the 13.00 hours water taxi back to Belize City and then the three of us went to Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill for a bit of Coconut Leo

20140414-115419.jpg

Coconut Leo in full Marley mode

before taking Ian to catch the 14.00 hours flight.

20140414-115643.jpg

“Goodbye Ian”.

From a packed (alright I’m exaggerating a little bit) house on Saturday it was just the two of us again.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1981 by Grover Washington Jr and Bill Withers which reached number two in the US Billboard Hot 100.

STOP PRESS
Obviously have not cleared the alcohol from my system. I’ve used this song title before! Don’t worry, I’ve chastised myself!

8 thoughts on ““Just the Two of Us” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Walking on Sunshine” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Hello John! My family and I were on the island a week ago and true to your blog we seen you at Estel’s! While I was not the one on the bike we did spot you but did not want to intrude. We stayed at Ocean Aire condo’s so we passed your place regularly. As for your pic of Coconut Leo? Well nice to put a name to the face, we seen him more than once while there, unfortunately one of the times he was relieving himself on the side of a building and my daughters eyes will never be the same lol Keep on Keepin on John 🙂

    • Hi Tracy. Good to ‘hear’ from you. Pleased that I was able to identify ‘The Urinater’ ( Arnold Schwarzenegger’s next film???) for you!

      If you happen to see me again please do come over and say hello. I understand and accept that this is the price of stardom ;0)

Leave a Reply

