“Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World is Today)” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Now where was I? I’ve become so indisciplined of late in producing editions of the blog that I sometimes struggle to remember – increasing age/reducing grey cells- what I last told you about. That description of my mental condition (deteriorating memory capacity) and the consequences of it (one being I cannot recall what the last edition contained) probably doesn’t mean a great deal to you because you probably (understandably by the way) feel that most of what I write is repetitive anyway. So apologies in advance if you feel that what follows is something that you have read or seen before. Just make allowances for me. Sometimes I’m just a ball of confusion!

When I last sat down and produced an edition (and it seems so long ago now) I told you that I had dug up six coconut trees from our adjacent lot to swap for a banana plant. What I didn’t mention was that the swap was with Carlo of Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill. Fascinating information isn’t it! “Who cares” you are probably thinking. Exactly, I’m thinking.

I ‘left’ you with a photo of our cart loaded with the coconut trees but I left you in limbo. Would the swap be made? Answer – yes it was. And Carlo increased his side of the deal. We got the banana plant AND a plantain plant. Now you know what’s coming next. Yes, photos of the plants and me planting them (still awake?).

20140221-132300.jpg

Our banana plant.

20140221-132505.jpg

A ‘job’ for the black dirt.

20140221-132742.jpg

Good job I had some!

20140221-132852.jpg

Wheel barrow loaded so time to get planting!

20140221-133032.jpg

Me posing by our newest addition. No, that’s not a six pack – it’s my ribs you are looking at. Nothing to worry about Vin Diesel!

20140221-133400.jpg

Banana plant in situ. Now you know which one in the previous photo was the banana plant!

20140221-133523.jpg

Plantain in.

And what about the coconut trees I can hear you thinking (stupid remark that isn’t it, how can you hear someone thinking). Well, they have all been planted at their new ‘home’ in ‘Town.

20140221-155903.jpg

Already looking like southerners!

Many regular or occasional readers are probably wondering how I have got so far in to an edition without mentioning Arsenal. Those of you that follow football , and I mean THE football and not that game they play in the USA, will have guessed why. Wednesday and the Champions League game against Bayern Munich that’s why.

We had our chances and spurned them – you cannot afford to miss a penalty against a team such as Bayern Munich and expect to win- and now face an uphill battle in the second leg at the Allianz Arena. The loss was bad enough but it also meant that I got stick* (it’s stick Bob) from Carlo (THE Carlo of Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill) who is an ardent Bayern fan ( the only Belizean German I know!)

There was a certain irony attached to the comments that Carlo made. He was standing immediately under the Arsenal crest that he had placed on the ceiling above the bar. It didn’t soften his comments though.

20140221-163807.jpg

* Stick = to tease or rib.

Yesterday (Thursday) Moses arrived at the house to take care of some remedial work that Daniel Camal, our building contractor, had agreed needed to be carried out. More about this though in the next edition. I will ‘say’ now though that choosing a building contractor that accepts accountability for things that aren’t quite right is terribly important.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1970 by The Temptations which reached number three in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number seven in the UK Singles Chart.

5 thoughts on ““Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World is Today)” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Automatically Sunshine” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

Leave a Reply

