“The Best Things in Life Are Free” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Up a fair bit later than normal on Sunday at 06.55 hours. Obviously the price paid for a late and ‘liquid’ previous night!

Even in my slightly fragile condition I managed to make my black coffee (it’s a times like that I’m pleased that I am not a coffee aficionado), grab the iPad and amble out to the veranda. My body and my experience told me that this was a day to be approached slowly so I decided that reading The Sunday Times online was exertion enough!

I made breakfast around 08.30 hours and then showered, shaved and dressed – oh, I did brush my teeth too – and settled down to watch the Arsenal versus Liverpool FA Cup game. We were far from being convincing winners but win we did and advanced to a home game in the next round against Everton.

After the game had finished I spent a little time in the back garden weeding (nothing too exertive) and then showered and changed clothes and then around 15.00 hours Rose and I headed to Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill for a few beers (hair of the dog and all that) and a Barbeque. You can get a barbecue on a Sunday nearly everywhere (well at least it appears that way) in San Pedro but for us the best is to be found at Carlo & Ernie’s. A word of warning though – get there too late and it’s all gone.

Yesterday morning feeling so much better I ‘hit’ the veranda nice and early ((think it was around 03.30 hours – the benefit (or is it penalty?) for going to bed early the previous night)) I enjoyed a couple of mugs of coffee whilst reading The Times online (and how lucky Arsenal were), got ready and headed to Estel’s for breakfast, getting there shortly after 07.00 hours.

After breakfast I took a stroll along the beach (being retired means I can take those types of decision – no need to rush to work as I used to do) walking first in a southerly direction to take a look at developments on the Diamante Beachfront Suites project on the lot on which BC’s stood until a few weeks ago that I mentioned in an edition a short while ago.

Work has really progressed on the sea wall which runs in line with the one in front of Blue Water Grill.

20140218-062513.jpg

20140218-062614.jpg

In addition to the work on the sea wall they have also started to deliver the pilings for the ‘Suites.

20140218-062821.jpg

Pilings stacked neatly to the right of the advertising hoarding.

I understand that the developers aim to complete the project in a very ambitious nine months. Given our experience ( our build was scheduled to be completed in forty weeks but took fifty-two) it will be very interesting to see if this is achieved (come back in around eight months and I’ll let you know!).

I then walked north to Boca Del Rio to take a look at the new beachfront bar that is being constructed. For those of you that know the island it’s between Wet Willy’s and Wayo’s Beachside Beernet.

It’s a very interesting development. They’ve dismantled the house that used to be at the front of the lot and reconstructed it on stilts – the bar will now be constructed under the house.

20140218-064030.jpg

How now ‘sitting’ on stilts, the bar area below.

20140218-064210.jpg

Looking north from the new bar, Wayo’s around 150 yards away.

I’m informed that the new bar will be operated by Ismael who until a short while ago worked at BC’s. REMEMBER – you read it here first!

When I got home it was time to knuckle down and work and first off was digging up six coconut plants that we are going to swap for a banana plant. Well the best things in life are free (really struggled to come up with a link for the headline)!

20140218-064811.jpg

Loaded up ready for delivery.

After my exertions it was time to help Rose to get the apartment ready for Bob and Rose (friends we have made following their visit to Ambergris Caye last September). Bob and Rose have ‘up sticks’ and are relocating from San Francisco to Belize and are going to spend extended time on both Ambergris Caye and in San Ignacio before deciding upon their eventual new home. We’re putting them up for a few nights until they find long-term rental accommodation. If you want to know more about Bob and Rose ( and why wouldn’t you!) take a look at his blog.

With the apartment ready for use it was time for another shower (good job we have a 45,000 gallon tank under the house!), deliver the coconut plants (I’m going to pick up the banana plant later this week) and then wait at the ‘Runway Bar (it’s so conveniently located for this type of thing) for Bob and Rose to arrive. And they did, on the Maya Island Air flight that landed around 17.00 hours (cannot be precise because, as I’ve mentioned before, I don’t wear a watch anymore).

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1992 by Luther Vandross (told you a few editions ago that he is one of my favourite singers), Janet Jackson, BBD and Ralph Tresvant which reached number ten in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number two in the UK Singles Chart.

7 thoughts on ““The Best Things in Life Are Free” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Poetry in Motion” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Pingback: “Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World is Today)” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Pingback: Riding the two last seats all the way to San Pedro, Belize « Bound for Belize

  4. John, i am glad you Bob and Rose are going to be together. I have enjoyed his blog from the day you recommended him. I could only imagine the banter, humor and pontificating going on from like minded folks getting together.
    Enjoy
    Don

  5. Glad to hear Bob and Rose arrived safely! I have been reading his blog since I discovered it on your blog a while back! Nice of you to welcome them into your home. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

