“More, More, More” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Well, it’s been a while since the last edition so (once again) there’s some catching up to do for those of you that find this blog either interesting, informative, amusing, irritating (I could go on but will not for fear of adding ‘boring’ to the list!). Or just have some time to fill-up.

So, where do I start. Well on Sunday I enjoyed a relatively easy, ‘don’t do too much’, type of day. For a start I got up later than usual, not rousing from the bed until around 06.15 hours. I then enjoyed my quality ‘ me time’ on the veranda. I don’t have to think about what I have to do. I’m on auto-pilot. Mug of coffee ((for new or erstwhile readers the coffee is instant (I don’t profess to have ‘taste’ where coffee is concerned), black with no sugar)) and the iPad and straight to the veranda. The one on the first floor on the western (lagoon facing) side of the house.

I enjoyed a really enjoyable, long read of The Sunday Times on-line (devoting a disproportionate amount of time to the Sport and Business (why the Business section I have to ask myself when I’m not ‘in it’ anymore) sections and then it was time for breakfast prepared and cooked by Rose. It was equally as good as Estel’s. No, in fact it was AWESOME (now that has got to be worth another one Rose!). OK, so it wasn’t AWESOME, but it was GOOD (Question to self – ” Why are you shouting?” Answer to self -“Because bloggers use capitals a lot”. Question to self – “Why?” Answer to self -” I don’t know why, they just do”.).

With breakfast over it was time to settle down in front of the TV to watch Arsenal play against Crystal Palace and claim a two, nil win which put them back at the top of the table.

Late in the afternoon we headed in to ‘Town to watch the Super Bowl at Carlo & Ernie’s Runway Bar & Grill. I don’t profess to fully understand the game yet but I do enjoy watching it and this season have grown to admire the skill of Peyton Manning. So, for me, there was only one team to root for. Denver Broncos. And I chose an orange Polo shirt to show this.

We arrived at the bar at around 16.30 hours and the place was already packed (if there was anywhere busier on Sunday afternoon/evening I would be amazed – this place has now got to be THE sports bar on Ambergris Caye).

20140205-085036.jpg

Getting ready for the game under the large tent erected in front of the bar.

20140205-085253.jpg

A packed bar. No seats available.

20140205-085351.jpg

Our ‘bucket’ of Belikins. Six beers for the price of five. It would have been rude to say no!

And then the game started -or did it because there was only one team in it. The ‘Broncos were annihilated. They might just have well stayed in Denver!

On Monday and Tuesday I resumed work on clearing the south-east corner of the garden of weeds but not before I had gone to Estel’s for breakfast.

20140205-090229.jpg

My breakfast. And, if you look hard, a reflection of me on the screen of my iPad. Warning for the sensitive – don’t look too hard!

20140205-090417.jpg

The view from my table. Not bad eh.

And then ‘fuelled up’ I started on the garden intending to get rid of more, more, more of those weeds. And I did and then it was time to move Marley to ‘his’ new home.

20140205-114636.jpg

Marley shortly after we adopted ‘him’.

20140205-114821.jpg

Me posing for a photo before I begin. Check out the gloves. Neat fashion accessory!

20140205-115123.jpg

20140205-115243.jpg

20140205-115602.jpg

And ‘he’s’ out.

With Marley successfully out of ‘his’ old home it was time to move ‘him’ to ‘his’ new one.

20140205-120754.jpg

Me doubling up as the removal man.

20140205-120959.jpg

And then back to being the gardener!

20140205-121113.jpg

And ‘he’s’ in.

20140205-121219.jpg

Just in time for dinner!

20140205-121339.jpg

Marley and ‘his’ new neighbour.

If you have found this edition a little surreal don’t worry because so have I! A more normal service will resume when I start painting the fence again.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1979 by “The Andrea True Collection” which reached number four in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number five in the UK Singles Chart.

16 thoughts on ““More, More, More” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Strangers in the Night” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. I have never seen those trees at Estels with nothing around them. It seems there is always a vendor or table and chairs or something.

  3. Yeah, another great post and another great track John, although was it not Andrea True Connection?!, sorry, I am a soul music anorak! Keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

