“Take It to the Limit” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


On Saturday Rose and I went to the Burns Night Dinner organised by the Belize Branch of The Royal British Legion.

It was being held in the Flagstaff Mess, Price Barracks in Ladyville and our journey there should have been a relatively simple one. I’d booked tickets on Tropic Air‘s 16.00 flight to the Municipal Airport where our friend Ian , a serving member of BATSUB, was going to pick us up and take us to his house (well a bungalow actually) on the camp so that we could get changed.

I ‘say’ changed because the dinner provided an opportunity to wear a dress. For Rose that is, not me before you let your imagination go in to overdrive. Me? I was going to wear a jacket, shirt (long sleeved too), trousers and shoes (a proper pair, not flip flops or loafers). The first time in twenty months!

We left the house at 15.00 hours and after loading our stuff on the ‘cart I put the key in the ignition, started the engine and tried to engage the reverse gear. Nothing, the gear stick was flapping around like a bed sheet on a washing line! Now if I was mechanically minded I would have had a look, got out a tool kit and solved the problem . But I didn’t because I am to motor mechanics what Genghis Khan was to world peace. So I did the next best thing and ‘phoned a taxi and then I ‘phoned Tropic Air to warn them that we would be a little later than the thirty minutes before flight time that they ask you to be. Imagine ‘phoning United Airlines, British Airways, etc in similar circumstances ?

The taxi did really well considering the still bumpy road north of the Bridge and got to us within twenty-five minutes of my call and he did even better in to ‘Town by managing to get us to the Terminal by 15.50 hours. We really did take it to the limit.

The flight over was as it usually is. Very short (it’s normally around a fifteen minute journey) and very scenic. Get the camera out, take a few photos and you’re there!

20140129-170000.jpg

20140129-170059.jpg

Ian, as arranged, was waiting for us when we landed and within thirty minutes (those army guys drive fast ) we were at the camp drinking tea (well, I am British!).

The Burns Night Dinner was a really fun evening which was attended by around seventy people – British, Irish (got to mention this for Rose!), Canadian, American and Belizean – with more than ample food, wine and whiskey (not that I drank any – thanks to a ‘memorable’ tasting session when I was fifteen!) for everyone.

20140129-171712.jpg

20140129-171750.jpg

20140129-171845.jpg

20140129-172028.jpg

The night finished for us (others kept going, so we were told, until after 05.00 hours the next morning) until 02.30 hours and after a good night’s sleep and a late breakfast -cooked by Ian which included very passable English style sausages which were made in Belize- Ian took us to the airport and we caught the 14.30 hours flight back to San Pedro.

On Monday morning Giovanni came to collect the golf cart for its much needed repair and within a couple of hours I received a call from him to let me know it was ready so Rose and I enjoyed a very pleasant walk to Sea Grape Drive to go and collect it and on the way there took a slight detour to the beach.

20140130-083616.jpg

20140130-083736.jpg

Returning from a dive.

20140130-083903.jpg

BC’s completely gone. Until it’s next ‘home’.

20140130-084113.jpg

After picking up the ‘cart we headed back home and I started on a bit of a garden clean-up (I fancied a break from the fence painting) by having a bonfire to get rid of the off-cuts from the fence.

20140130-084823.jpg

20140130-085014.jpg

I only took a few minutes break. Honest!

Hearing the sound of a engine behind me I peered over the fence – a jet ski on the lagoon.

20140130-085255.jpg

20140130-085407.jpg

Devoid of any semblance of a clever way to end this edition I’ll leave you with a photo taken at the end of my ‘working’ (who am I kidding?) day.

20140130-090025.jpg

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1975 by the Eagles which reached number four in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number twelve in the UK Singles Chart.

11 thoughts on ““Take It to the Limit” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. How interesting, especially since my father’s) (and his father’s) name was Robert Burns! He always told me that if I ever made it to Scotland, I’d have to drop his name. 😉 Still haven’t made it there, but perhaps someday.

  2. After following your home build saga for months, we are finally on the island and saw your home in all of its glory! The fence looks beautiful and the newly mounted stairway light looks well placed. Looked for you at estela this morning, but alas, no Brit. Cheers!

  3. been following your blog since you started the build. Very interesting to watch the progress. Drove by and saw it in person yesterday. Congratulations – a beautiful place!

  4. I fell in love with Atholl Brose when visiting Scotland some years ago. That and Edradour whiskey…from a tiny little distillery outside Pitlochery.

Leave a Reply

