“It Wasn’t Me” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize


Up earlier than lately yesterday shortly after 04.00 hours. I’d woken up around thirty minutes earlier and when I saw the time (I have an alarm clock now -not that I use the alarm feature!) I did try to go back to sleep again but to no avail. I was using more effort to try to resume sleep than the benefit I would have got had I achieved it! Only one thing to do. Get up.

So by 04.15 hours I was comfortably seated on the first floor western veranda with a mug of black coffee and my iPad. I read The Times online for a while -mainly concentrating on the football section (The Game) to read the match reports for the Premiership games that took place over the weekend and the pre-match reviews for Arsenal’s game against Aston Villa later in the day.

I then switched to the Ambergris Caye.com Forum where I found a thread entitled “Police Report“. Why am I mentioning this a few of you are probably thinking. “We know he rambles but he has gone way off the track this time”.

I’m mentioning it because one of the reports was about a guy with my name -well not my name but my pseudonym – who was apprehended and charged for being in possession of controlled drugs. So? You’re thinking. Well I know that a good few of you also visit Ambergris Caye. Com and I just wanted you to know that it wasn’t me.

Now where was I? Oh yeh, on the veranda.

Being up so early I thought I’d make a start on yesterday’s edition so I uploaded the photos I been taking since last Thursday and then spent some time reviewing them in the hope that inspiration might find me (those of you that read yesterday’s edition will know that it didn’t). The time by now was around 06.00 hours so I decided that I needed help – breakfast at Estel’s so I showered, shaved, brushed my teeth and dressed and set off shortly after 07.00 hours after I had let Moses and Pablo in who had come to fit the wheel for the gate (thanks Wes). More about the wheel later.

Breakfast was -as always- good (message to self – remember to take a photograph before I start to devour it ) and in a contented frame of mind I knocked out the edition. Which is what I am now going to do with this one.

Before the heavy rain struck last Thursday Rubio and Mike had constructed the gate for the fence (roadside only) for our adjacent lot and had also put a couple of posts in. We expected work to resume the next day but Ofel Flota , the building contractor we appointed to build the fences, contacted us to let us know that Rubio -fed up with the rain- had headed off to Orange Walk and because of this Moses and Pablo would complete the task starting on Saturday. And that’s exactly what happened.

20140114-064126.jpg

Fence starts to take shape.

20140114-064616.jpg

Pablo digging a hole for a post for the short bit of fencing for the southern side.

20140114-064902.jpg

“Chicken” wire tacked in place.

And then it was time to hang the gate.

20140114-065121.jpg

“Are we nearly there yet?”.

20140114-065340.jpg

Nearly in.

20140114-065524.jpg

It’s in.

20140114-065638.jpg

And it’s working!

20140114-070820.jpg

Time for the chain ((modelled (?) by Rose)).

and a padlock.

20140114-071146.jpg

Voila!

Yesterday they returned to fit the wheel for the main gate. The gate is heavy (six feet high by ten feet wide) so needs supporting. And to make the gate easier to open and close.

20140114-065916.jpg

The wheel.

Ofel turned up to give guidance as to where the wheel needed to go.

20140114-070103.jpg

Around this time I left for breakfast (its so long ago that I mentioned this I bet you forgot. I nearly did!) but by the time I had returned it was fitted.

20140114-071509.jpg

20140114-071631.jpg

Close up and personal!

They finished just in time to watch the helicopter that was flying overhead. So close that at one stage we thought that it was going to land in the back garden. Was it a drug bust and they thought that I am THE John Henry!

20140114-072003.jpg

20140114-072136.jpg

No relevance at all for the next photo. I just like it.

20140114-072320.jpg

Stay “tuned” for the next exciting (sic) update. Can’t wait, can you !

Oh, by the way, if you want to employ Ofel (and this is NOT a paid for advert) you can contact him on 670 2255 or 226 2255.

Oh and for those of you that are interested the change of ownership (you read it here first) of Caribbean Villas Hotel takes place tomorrow.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 2001 by Shaggy which reached number one in both the US Billboard Hot 100 and the UK Singles Chart.

21 thoughts on ““It Wasn’t Me” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize

  1. John, I’m guessing from my readings on Belize on thief that the locals don’t suggest putting a “Welcome” sign on that front gate? Do you see any crime as an issue on the island?

    • Hi Tom. Crime is pretty well evident nearly everywhere. And here is no different. There are muggings here and burglary and we are doing what we can to avoid these things happening to us.

  2. I love the wheel placement and installation details. Interesting suggestions. the 2 gate solution sounds like a good idea; however in practice in Atlanta it was a mess for us. we could never get the 2 sections to line up correctly for latching together and securing at the bottom. We had to use 2 bike chains with padlocks, and it still sagged and dragged……….

  3. WOW! that idea of the wheel being placed inside of the end of the gate by a few feet would have saved me a lot of time when i had to install fence on a few occasions. I like the way it was place and reinforced. One thing i learned after awhile is if you have a ten foot/feet fence then it becomes to long for swinging open easily and 10 feet is not needed 40 percent of the time. Divide the fence into TWO swing gates…one 60%/6 feet and the gate or half 40%/ four feet. Then when you need to just walk out of the gate or let someone in you use the 40%/ 4 feet gate and when you bring your golf cart in and out you use the 60%/6 feet gate. Easier to open and close, less wood strain on balance of the gate and hinges.

    Nice feet and thanks for all of the pictures…

  4. I read that story as well about the ‘known drug pusher’. They did say he looked Spanish and I don’t think that you can pull that off. I was thinking about the rain and your wheel. I think that you are going to have problems in the rainy season (is it ever going to end this year?). I saw that you put a block down where the gate closes. You might have to run a track along the path of the wheel. I still think that a diagonal reinforcement will help out in the long run. Please deposit 2 cents here _____.

    • Hi Wes. That’s the next job – a concrete arc. Spoke to Rubio about it this morning when he came to collect his tools.

      And you are right, no chance of me being mistaken for someone of Hispanic descent.

  5. The both of us are so pleased for Rose, that the bone has healed and no further surgery, great news. By the way , i had a chuckle when i read that police report

  6. We were wondering how you would facilitate the gate opening, John. Clever idea! Also glad to know you’re not THE John Henry of “drug cartel fame.” :).

Leave a Reply

