“Come On In” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


It was another chilly morning when I got up shortly after 05.00 hours yesterday. In fact I would go so far as to say it was cold. Well it was cold to me.

I ventured out on to the veranda (the eastern one on the first floor for a change) but scuttled back in to the house – too chilly (cold) for me- and had my first mug of black coffee for the day there. Oh, and I browsed The Times online and picked up on my In Box before turning my attention to start to ‘knock out’ yesterday’s edition of the blog.

Rubio arrived shortly before 06.45 hours (told you he is ‘keen’) and he had got all of the tools out of the store room/garage before Moses, Pablo and Mike had arrived (all of them arriving before 07.00 hours). I then showered, shaved, brushed my teeth and got dressed (with an even thicker sweat top than the previous day) and made the drive to ‘Town for breakfast at -yes, you guessed it – Estel’s where I had virtually the pick of the tables (the drop in temperature obviously deterred people from eating outside).

I finished my breakfast and had just started selecting photos for the edition I was working on when I heard “Excuse me but are you John Henry that does the blog?”. I turned to the side and responded that I was and I wasn’t. Confused (you I mean, not me)? I explained that although I use the name Johnhenry my real name is (just) John. The addition of Henry being in memory of Dad whose name was John Henry.

The voice then introduced himself. It was Greg who lives ten miles north with his wife. We spent a little time talking about the building of our home and he told me that he’d been reading the blog for some time and he enjoyed it. You know how sometimes you know you just like someone …

Greg’s breakfast arrived and I resumed selecting photos and with a bit if concentration and effort (not much I hear those of you that read yesterday’s edition say) I ‘knocked’ the edition out. I then paid my bill (tab for non UK readers) and headed home. I wanted to see what progress had been made on the fence. Well you would, wouldn’t you!

When I got there I found (stupid choice of word really because I knew they were there) Rubio and Mike making the platform/enclosure for the rubbish (garbage for non UK readers) bin.

20140109-185555.jpg

20140109-185723.jpg

20140109-185906.jpg

20140109-190006.jpg

Just needs a rubbish (garbage) bin now!

Whilst Rubio and Mike had been constructing the platform/enclosure Moses and Pablo had been making the front gate (six feet high by ten feet wide for those of you interested in this type of thing) and were ready to present it and just in time for this (has he got tags on his workers?) Ofel Flota (the building contractor we employed to construct our fence) arrived to supervise things.

20140109-190534.jpg

“Let’s see if it fits” ((you can just see Ofel through the gaps (1″) in the planks)).

20140109-190729.jpg

“Not quite. We need to shave some off”.

20140109-190907.jpg

20140109-191005.jpg

Rubio to the rescue!

And then it was time to hang the gate.

20140109-191205.jpg

20140109-191253.jpg

Moses fitting the hinges whilst Rubio

20140109-191430.jpg

20140109-192533.jpg

fitted the posts to stop the gate going back too far.

And then it was time to try out the gate.

20140109-192706.jpg

“It works”.

20140109-192753.jpg

Come on in” (not really of course).

15 thoughts on ““Come On In” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

    • Hi Tom. I did include a musical link but I experience technical problems when publishing the edition and it got ‘lost’. I tried to reinsert it but failed and gave up after about five attempts.

      As to surveillance, it was installed before we moved in.

  1. I do so look forward to this blog! thank you again. I concur with Wes Witt regarding the gate, especially about the wheel etc. Also to avoid the gecko poop issue there are 2 methods I have used to good effect. -1- get 2 cats -2- get one of the super duper mosquito nets, from Australia for over the bed. Keeps the little buggers from pooping on your bed or WORSE, pooping on you!

    • Thank you Kristina. Pleased that you continue to enjoy my ramblings.
      The wheel for the gate is being fitted today( photos in the next edition).

      As to be geckos, we had two cats when we lived in the UK but not too sure that Rose wants the emotional attachment again. Now the net – we might consider.

  2. Pingback: “The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine (Anymore)” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. I have to tell you John I read every day . It looking good around there and it appears they do good work from the photos. Ah the photos ! Keeps me going, 4 more weeks till we hit the island . Nice to see sun and sand. Ed

  4. Thanks for the post John……not just this one..i mean all of your post and then Blog it self……
    Hey, usually if someone walks up to me out in public and ask who i am ….once i affirm that i am me…i get handed a summons or a complaint, a Cease-and-desist order, sometimes keep away (normally 300 feet) from someone and/or a restraining order…..John, has people walking up to say and to just meet the man behind the blog….How does that feel?

    Just thought i would add a little levity into the situation…

    Donald

  5. John, would love to ask you a few questions, and will promise only a few, about your house. We’ve been trying to decide to buy land or land with an existing structure. Reply to sid.galloway at yahoo of you have time. Thanks! Sid and Kari

  6. Drove by today, John. The fellows have done a fantastic job! Are you planning any finish on the fence at all? Just curious.
    Hope you’ve got a remote control to open and close it on these rainy days! 🙂

    • Hi Jane. Thanks. We are pleased with it.

      I am going to treat it with a clear preservative (when it stops raining and I have calculated how many gallons , rollers and brushes I need!).

      As to the remote control, I have one already. It’s called Rose!

  7. Just from my limited knowledge of wooden gates I would suggest that a gate that wide will need some more support. I think that you will need a wire cable running diagonally from the top near the gate hinge to the bottom of the gate. Here is one example on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDsSc8cSG1I
    Another idea is to add a wheel to the bottom of the gate.

    • Wes, you’re good, very good.

      When the gate was about to be hung Ofel said that it might need a wheel but we hung it anyway. It’s now obvious (it’s dropped by around 1/4 inch) that it does. Ofel is coming to the house this PM to see what is required.

      Thanks for the ‘heads up’.

Leave a Reply

