“Friends in Low Places” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Out on the first floor western (lagoon side) veranda by around 05.30 hours yesterday with – yes, you’ve guessed- a mug of black coffee and my iPad. I spent around an hour out there -just enough time for me to catch up on the news via The Times online and have a second mug of coffee.

I then decided that I deserved a breakfast – an Estel’s breakfast – so I showered, shaved and got dressed (adding a sweat top to my usual attire of ‘T’ shirt and shorts because it was a little breezy and there was a chill in the air – don’t know that I am now equipped to handle the weather in the UK at the moment) and took the drive to ‘Town. A less bumpy ride than it has been of late because they have carried out some more repair work on the road to the bridge.

I was ready to go when Rubio and Mike arrived to recommence work on the fence so I unlocked the store room/garage so that they could get their tools and left for a very enjoyable breakfast. They always are at Estel’s though.

By the time I got back home Rubio and Mike had made really good progress on the fence for the southern side of our lot and had completed fitting the horizontal posts that they started the day before

20131229-130518.jpg

Fence on the southern side running from the road (eastern side) to the lagoon (western side).

and had started work on the northern side.

20131229-131654.jpg

Rubio, although measuring everything twice, works quickly and with Mike fetching and carrying the posts

20131229-131947.jpg

the horizontal posts were fixed in place at a fair old lick.

20131229-132426.jpg

My observation of the guys working – I am quite getting used to watching as opposed to ‘doing’ – was interrupted when I heard a noise around the front of the house. I walked around the veranda and saw that it was a guy pushing his motorbike in to our lot.

I shouted down to him and he explained that it had broken down as he was on his way to work. He asked me if it was OK to leave it on our land whilst he went to work, promising that he would return with the parts to get it going again. When I told him that he could he looked up at me with a big smile on his face and thanked me and then told me I was his friend. Now I truly can say I have friends in low places (OK its a naff connection but I have wanted to use this song as a headline for ages).

20131229-133501.jpg

All the while Rubio and Mike continued work on the fence, working their way along the northern side of our lot.

20131229-134123.jpg

Around 15.45 hours my friend from earlier in the day returned with his friend and they set about replacing the broken chain on his bike

20131229-134504.jpg

and it wasn’t too long before he was on his way, waving happily as he left our lot.

By this time Rubio and Mike had finished for the day (most building workers here finish at 16.00 hours on a Saturday) so I took a walk to the sea wall to see how the fence was taking shape.

20131229-135107.jpg

20131229-135346.jpg

Although Rose and I were going on a Poker Run I still had time for a ‘sit and chill’ on the veranda as the sun was getting ready to as goodbye for another day.

20131229-135737.jpg

20131229-135934.jpg

A quick shower and shave and a set of fresh clothes and we headed off for the Poker Run and had a great time. Starting off at the Road Kill Bar, on to Luna Loca ((the place to go on a Saturday night if you like (and I do) 70’s,80’s & 90’s music that has been ‘funked up’ (great music selection by Chris Skorwid)), then on to Lola’s Bar, Wayo’s Beachside Beernet and finishing off at Pedro’s Hotel. We didn’t win (again) but had a fun night.

Don’t know if this is an EXCLUSIVE or not (because it has been fairly common knowledge for nearly a week) but Caribbean Villas has just been bought by a consortium headed by Peter Lawrence (aka Pedro of Pedro’s Hotel) and the new owners take over around the middle of next month.

I am sure that changes will take place fairly quickly and I know that a new, much enlarged, bar on the beach is on the ‘agenda’.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1990 by Garth Brooks which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot Country Songs chart and number thirty-six in the UK Singles Chart.

8 thoughts on ““Friends in Low Places” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “It Wasn’t Me” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

    • Thanks Don.

      The lot has very little good soil. Predominantly sand. We intend to have areas (bordered) that we will fill with soil (black dirt as it is called here) that we will grow trees/plants that will not grow in sand. We’d like to have a go at vegetables but need to work out how we can keep the insects and iguanas at bay. Obviously a greenhouse is one way.

Leave a Reply

