“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” from San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


It’s Christmas Day morning so what am I doing here on the first floor, lagoon facing (western side) veranda ? Writing this Christmas Day edition of the blog that’s what! Told you I can get a bit OCD didn’t I.

I will let you know what yesterday held for Rose and I (if you are interested) but first I just want to say “Have yourself a merry little Christmas ” (OK that’s the song title for the headline out of the way!).

I mentioned in yesterday’s edition that I got an early – and most welcome- Christmas present that arrived in the post. Well yesterday Rose and I got some more early presents when Ofel Flota turned up at the house around 10.00 hours with Moses and Pablo. And our bed. And our night stands. And (yes there was more) our curtain rods. None of them were wrapped but who cared!

But it got better than the stuff just being delivered because Moses and Pablo assembled the furniture and fitted the curtain rods ( I now know what Rose is going to be doing after Christmas. Making the curtains!).

20131225-095736.jpg

Our curtain rods.

20131225-101128.jpg

One ‘down’, five to go!

Whilst Moses and Pablo were busy at work Ofel’s other guys continued work on our fence and concentrated their efforts on installing the final posts for the southern side of our lot.

20131225-101734.jpg

Louis measuring to make sure that the post has been sunk to the right depth.

20131225-102123.jpg

Rubio measuring and marking where the horizontal posts will go.

20131225-102350.jpg

Louis with only one post to go and ready to head home for Christmas.

20131225-102631.jpg

Looking good.

20131225-102754.jpg

Southern side finished.

This morning Rose and I opened the Christmas presents we had got for each other and Rose, as always, included something that she had made just for me.

20131225-103023.jpg

Soap. Is she trying to tell me something?

Santa had also chipped in with festive mugs for us each.

20131225-103230.jpg

Very Christmassy.

20131225-103413.jpg

And mine gets its maiden run!

When Rose opened her presents she found the bag she always wanted.

20131225-103624.jpg

No expense spared! OK, so they gave it to me but it’s the thought that counts. And the colour suits her. And she goes there a lot. And not everyone has got one. Have I said enough?

The headline for today’s edition is based on the version recorded by The Carpenters which was track four on side one of their “Christmas Portrait” which was released in 1978. The album reached number one hundred and fourteen in the US Billboard Hot 200 chart and one hundred and four in the UK Albums Chart.

12 thoughts on ““Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” from San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Imagine” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. I think I see a for sale sign in one of your photos – behind your fence…would you be willing to share the particulars on where that might be?

    My wife and I are toying with the idea of becoming Belize ex-pats as well…

Leave a Reply

