“Santa Claus Is Coming to Town” -San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Well in today’s edition I bring things virtually up-to-date. I ‘say’ virtually because although I am covering some of what Rose and I experienced yesterday I am not covering everything.

As journalist, picture editor, sub-editor, editor, editor-in-chief and the publisher I have total say so over what goes in to an edition. Don’t worry though, I’m not morphing in to some kind of second league Citizen Kane, it’s more a case of holding a little back in case I run out of things to write about. Sort of building up a library.

In the last edition I told you that Ofel Flota‘s guys had started work on the fence that we are going to have around the lot that our house ‘sits’ on. Before I bring you up-to-date on this work though I have got (I know I don’t have to but … I want to) to let you know just how much better my ‘me time’ is first thing in the morning.

Since the container arrived I’ve had my own chair to sit in (or is it ‘sit on’? – never quite sure). It’s made my mug of black coffee and iPad time so much more enjoyable. No more having to carry one of the only two chairs that we had for our first nine weeks (quite uncomfortable chairs actually) out on to the veranda.

20131224-061903.jpg

My ‘comfort zone’ at around 05.00 hours. Note the mug (it has black coffee in it) and my iPad.

Before I go much further I want to ‘say’ a very public (and this is about as ‘public’ as I can get) “thank you” to Louise Gow (a long-time reader of this blog from the UK who also is going to move to Belize) for my first Christmas present.

In the summer I happened to mention in an edition that one of my all time favourite books (I read it again and again as I approached my teens) was Forward Arsenal by Bernard Joy. Louise informed me that she had managed to get a copy of it on eBay and would give it to me when she visited Belize in November.

Unfortunately the timing just wasn’t right for Louise and I to meet so she posted it to me before she left Belize to return to the UK and since then I have been checking our PO Box every couple of days only to be met with disappointment. That is until yesterday. It had arrived!

20131224-072230.jpg

The envelope wasn’t on for long before …

20131224-072742.jpg

the content was revealed. I know what I will be reading over Christmas. THANK YOU Louise from a very,very happy me.

It’s true that Rose and I have been busy since the container arrived but not so busy that we couldn’t take a little time out to erect the Christmas tree. Our first since moving to Belize.

20131224-083731.jpg

With the tree up it really does look like Santa Claus is coming to town.

Anyway, let’s get back to the construction of our fence.

Ofel’s guys started off on the northern side of the house and after striking the lines and cutting down some branches of trees that were in the way set about putting the vertical posts in.

20131224-094538.jpg

20131224-094655.jpg

20131224-094909.jpg

A close up.

20131224-095201.jpg

Constantly checking with a spirit level.

As the day wore on so the line of posts grew.

20131224-095443.jpg

20131224-095548.jpg

20131224-095716.jpg

Post bolted securely to the sea wall.

And then the guys started setting the posts for the fence for the southern side.

20131224-100011.jpg

20131224-100146.jpg

First one in.

20131224-100325.jpg

And they are off!

The headline for today’s edition is based on the version of the song by The Jackson 5 which was released as a single in 1970 and reached number forty-three in the UK Singles Chart.

11 thoughts on ““Santa Claus Is Coming to Town” -San Pedro Town, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Thanks for the blog John and continued success to you and Rose. Your sharing and motivation to reach out to the either world has impacted me tremendously in my personal life and future life direction. Thanks and thanks again and it would please me to no end in sharing a beer and some good food with you one day and just talking about stuff, your writing and picture taking skills and your betting tips on American football process.
    Don

  2. Pingback: “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” from San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Merry Christmas! The chair and side table look great. As a morning “me” person I am really jealous that you get so many days outside… Its 19F here, not conducive… Are you going to put a gate in for access to the southern lot?

Leave a Reply

