“Get Busy” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Up just before 04.30 hours yesterday morning and out on the veranda within five minutes with a mug of black coffee and my iPad.

No time to trawl the ‘pages’ of The Times on-line though because I had a 09.00 hours appointment with Doctor Pedro Habet of The Medical Center in Belize City for a couple of fillings.

So I focused on writing the copy and selecting the photos for yesterday’s edition. I then proof read and published it. Stopping in between to refill the mug with coffee.

Rose, very generously I might add, got up earlier than is usual to run me to the Caye Caulker Water Taxi terminal to catch the 07.00 hours boat to Belize City. This would get me there for my appointment with time to spare. Or so I thought.

On asking for a return, with a seat on the outbound service departing at 07.00 hours, I was informed that the next boat was departing at 08.00 hours. The earlier one being cancelled during ‘slow season’. Time for plan B then!

A nice stroll along the beach to the San Pedro Belize Express Water Taxi terminal where I purchased a single ticket ( it costs more to do it this way but I wanted to leave my options for the return journey flexible) for the 07.30 hours service.

An uneventful journey (although the boat did become packed after taking on additional passengers at Caye Caulker) saw me arrive at The Dental Center at 09.15 hours and within a few minutes I was in the chair for the two fillings.

Leaving the surgery (after making an appointment for the 4 October for the fitting of the final implant) it was time for me to get busy so I caught a taxi and went straight to the Brodies‘ store on the Northern Highway to get some grocery items that aren’t either as readily available or as cheap (this is a relative term) on Ambergris Caye. With my backpack stuffed with the goodies I jumped in the taxi (it had waited for me) and went across the road to Benny’s.

Once in the store ,with speed shopping that women would have nightmares thinking about (opening myself up for mass criticism from the female readers here), I very quickly chose a fluorescent light fixture for the Store Room and a tap (faucet for non UK readers) and strainers for the kitchen sink for the self-contained apartment for our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

After loading my purchases in the taxi we (Sam, the taxi driver, and me) headed straight to the San Pedro Belize Water Taxi terminal based in the Tourism Village where I was able to get a seat on the 12.00 hours service.

It wasn’t the most pleasurable boat trip I’ve ever had – light fixture held in an upright position by my right hand, taps (faucet) in my left hand and backpack gripped between my feet – and I was relieved when we docked in San Pedro at 01.15 hours that nothing had been broken. Me included!

Rose was waiting for me and we very quickly loaded the ‘cart and were in the condo we are renting during our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize shortly after 01.30 hours. Once there we very unpacked (and found a ‘home’ for) the grocery items I had purchased and I sat down for a coffee and the lunch that Rose had prepared for me.

At around 15.15 hours, feeling refreshed and full, Rose and I loaded the ‘cart with the light fixture, taps (faucet) and strainers and headed off to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and got there (I drove much slower than usual!) around 15.40 hours.

On pulling in to our lot we saw that Victor (newest/replacement welder) had started to undercoat the railings that he had been making.

20130925-060553.jpg

For the north-east corner of the Second Floor.

And had started to spray the second set of railings which are for the landing of the entrance stairs.

20130925-060831.jpg

Looking around the southern side of the house we could see just how much the rock wall had ‘grown’.

20130925-062113.jpg

Past the front of the house.

20130925-062227.jpg

Rocks ready for the final stretch. One more day and it should be finished.

A quick word with Angel informed us that there was nothing going on in the Ground Floor self-contained apartment so we went straight to the First Floor where we found Rolando and Edgar working on fitting the kitchen sink and the surrounding countertop.

20130925-062611.jpg

Sink and tap (faucet) in.

20130925-062700.jpg

Nice deep basins. Think of all the dishes I can get in them!

20130925-062803.jpg

Rolando connecting the pipes.

20130925-062909.jpg

Edgar filling the joint between the two slabs of granite.

Edgar mentioned that he had also been working on my bathroom so I made a hasty farewell and clambered up the scaffolding to the Second Floor and went straight to my bathroom.

20130925-063129.jpg

Sink and taps (faucets) in. Just now need the mirror and a few tiles!

Rejoining Rose we got ready to leave and on the way out saw that Victor had started applying the finishing spray coat for the railings.

20130925-063407.jpg

20130925-063443.jpg

20130925-063521.jpg

20130925-063616.jpg

Finished (I committed the cardinal sin of taking the photo with the sun behind me) !

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 2003 by Sean Paul which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number four in the UK Singles Chart.

9 thoughts on ““Get Busy” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” in San Pedro, Ambergris Cate, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Looking good John . I don’t comment often but get up and read everyday.It keeps me intouch with things there . So thanks for all the pics and hard work you put into it.Can’t wait to get back this winter. Looking forward to winters there in the future. Ed

  3. I have been wanting to ask but I must say I am hesitant due to the possible answer but have decided to just go for it! My question is in regards to septic? I ask in curiosity because my husband and I own our own plumbing and heating company so,.. I am just curious as to how the sewer system is set up on the island? Are there individual septic’s? If so how are they maintained? Is there a company on the island that services them? I know its not the normal go to concern for most but it has always been a thought/concern for me as to how that is handled? The house is really starting to look like a “home”, by the looks of the kitchen Estel’s will dearly miss you lol

    • Never be hesitant asking a question Tracy. More often than not I will give an answer.

      There are individuals on the island that empty septic tanks . I haven’t acquired their details yet but this is on my ‘list of things to do’.

  4. Always looking better… they are doing a great job!

    I was going to ask you about your bone graft that “didn’t take” earlier. I hope the 4 Oct visit is to finish that one up. I haven’t had to do what you’ve done – yet – and don’t look forward to any of them at all. I know you are glad that most of that is now over.

    Julian

Leave a Reply

