“Sound and Vision” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


On waking up yesterday morning I felt as if I had taken a mild beating around the left side of my face, and especially my nose. I know that I am a relatively heavy sleeper but surely Rose couldn’t have ‘got her own back’ for something I had said and it didn’t wake me.

A visit to the bathroom and a look in the mirror (no photos I am pleased to report) and I saw that the left side of my nose was slightly swollen and the area around my left eye had some dark discolouration. And then it hit me (no, not Rose) I was suffering from sinusitis.

Now knowing that it wasn’t a consequence of upsetting Rose I made my mug of coffee, grabbed hold of the iPad and went to my place of choice in the early morning, the veranda.

Once out there I didn’t really do a great deal. Yes I read the news online (enjoying the write-up on Arsenal’s game the previous day), publishing yesterday’s edition and sending a couple of emails to try to find out if the company handling the shipping of our stuff from the UK have managed to establish exactly where our consignment is.

With these few matters taken care of I then just sat there and savoured the ambience. The lightening of the sky, the cool breeze, the rustling of the coconut fronds, the soft lapping of the waves. Bordering on poetic this, isn’t it. Anyway, lets just say I enjoyed it. The classic combination of sound and vision.

Not having any real chores to take care of after breakfast I took the current book I am reading ( Brick Lane by Monica Ali) to the dock in front of the condo we are renting during our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize. It was good to reacquaint myself with the book (I haven’t read it for a little while) and the sun (haven’t seen a lot of it either during the last week or so) and just generally ‘chill out’. And I did. So much so that I completely forgot about the sinusitis.

In the afternoon (after a light lunch) Rose and I went to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and got there shortly after 15.30 hours.

Before going to the house we stopped by the bodega to make sure that Edgar (the granite man) is aware that neither Rose or I want a granite splash back on the sides of the vanity unit. He confirmed that he was aware of that. And then gave us the news that he had started fitting the countertops in our bathrooms. We wanted to rush up to the Second Floor immediately but exercised great control not to do so ( and you are too now because I am not including the photos until near the end of this edition – no scrolling!) and would look around, floor by floor, and work our way up.

On the way in to the Ground Floor self-contained apartment we saw that the newest (additional) welder on our job had finished the railings for the landing between the two flights of stairs leading to the front door on the First Floor.

20130920-071805.jpg

And now for the railings for the first flight of stairs. Please.

Looking up we saw that the bulbs had been fitted for the motion sensor lights for the ‘open’area in front of the apartment.

20130920-072646.jpg

20130920-072726.jpg

Looking across at the Pump Room it was obvious that the remaining pipework had been fitted for the water heater.

20130920-072857.jpg

20130920-072922.jpg

In to the apartment where we saw that Moses had fitted the wood that he had been working on the previous day to the back of the cabinets in the kitchen area.

20130920-073349.jpg

And looking up I saw that Rolando had started fitting the down lights.

20130920-075721.jpg

Above where the sink will be.

20130920-075756.jpg

Near the front door.

Up to the First Floor where we saw that Rolando had been at work there too.

20130920-080013.jpg

Down lights for the hall in.

20130920-080055.jpg

Switch covers for the lights and fans fitted.

And in the bedroom (Rose’s handicraft room) the mirror had been glued to the wall and the tap (faucet for non UK readers) had been installed and the sink was ready to be fixed in to position.

20130920-080415.jpg

Carefully positioned so you don’t get the reflection of me!

With the ‘tour’ of the First Floor completed it was now time for the big moment. My bathroom. So up the scaffolding I scrambled and then I saw it. The granite had been fitted for my vanity unit.

20130920-080634.jpg

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single by David Bowie released in 1977 which reached number three in the UK Singles Chart.

8 thoughts on ““Sound and Vision” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

    • Think I will be OK soon Paul. Sinusitis is no great deal. A bit of discomfort, less than great breathing and a slightly disfigured nose (isn’t that straight anyway because I have broken it twice).ten/eleven days and all should be well. I hope!

    • Haven’t got a clue Jane. And by the look of it neither does our shipping agent. Not much we can do though apart from chasing them for information in the hope that it will generate some urgency. Good job I am persistent. Perhaps even to the point of irritating!

Leave a Reply

