“Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Rain again yesterday and this morning (yes, I am covering two days in this one edition -sort of ambidextrous !) but it doesn’t stop me from my ‘me time’ on the veranda we are renting during our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

I’ll pick up on yesterday later but first want to cover this morning. Later I will return to yesterday (confused? Me too). Anyway, back to the veranda and this morning.

I’d been out there for just over an hour (I got out there at 05.05 hours) when on looking at the beach I saw two guys doing stretching exercises. Nothing unusual in that, loads of people use the beach for their exercise regimes.

20130913-110004.jpg

But things changed. They started shadow boxing.

20130913-110158.jpg

And then they were sparring.

20130913-110333.jpg

I know that San Pedro, Ambergris Caye is caught in a frenzy for the Mayweather versus Canelo fight

20130913-110628.jpg

but I didn’t expect it today. I thought Saturday night’s alright for fighting. Not Friday morning !

I mentioned in the last few editions that we have had quite a lot of rain recently. I may not have mentioned though what this does to many of the roads. They become flooded and potholes suddenly appear. We think they are really bad and then you see something that puts some perspective on it. Such was the case when I was looking at the the Belize Expats’ page on Facebook yesterday (see how seamlessly I move from one day to another – who needs a flux capacitor! ) and came across a photo posted showing the condition of the road north of Corozal heading to Consejo.

20130913-111935.jpg

And we think our roads are bad!

Anyway, enough of today, what about yesterday?

Well, at around 15.30 hours Rose and I arrived at our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and on pulling in to our lot saw Angel hard at work with the roller applying the final coat of emulsion for the entrance area for the Ground Floor self-contained apartment.

20130913-112515.jpg

Looking at the exterior walls of the apartment it was obvious that he had finished them too.

20130913-112608.jpg

20130913-112636.jpg

As we got up the ramp we saw that Rolando had installed the water heater in the Pump Room.

20130913-112740.jpg

20130913-112803.jpg

Snug, isn’t it.

Christopher, not far away, was continuing to grout the tiles on the main staircase.

20130913-112940.jpg

First flight half way there.

20130913-113018.jpg

Second flight finished.

In the apartment itself Moses had fitted the vanity unit for the smaller of the two bedrooms.

20130913-113221.jpg

20130913-113246.jpg

The headline for today’s (or is it tomorrow’s -now I am confused) is based on the single released in 1973 by Elton John which reached number seven in the UK Singles Chart and number twelve in the US Billboard Hot 100.

6 thoughts on ““Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

    • Thanks Laurie. No Poker Run for us tonight. It clashes with the Mayweather v Alvarez fight and I want to watch the undercard as well as the main event. Boxing is one of the sports that I am interested in. Have a great time.

  1. John – We managed the “blankety-blank” road once this week to get into town. Your main entrance looks just grand! Love the beautiful doors.

    • Hi Jane. We manage (think it manages us) the road north every day. Hell on my back. Sometimes makes my teeth jar. But worth it when we get there.

      Thanks for you comment re the main entrance.

      Kind regards

      John

Leave a Reply

