“Beat It” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


San Pedro really got in to the September Celebrations tonight at Central Park to celebrate on the eve of St George’s Caye Day and Rose and I went there to see our new neighbours honouring their history.

There were loads of people there around 18.30 hours even though it was way in advance of the start of the show but they were more than ready to beat it with the San Pedro High School Marching Band.

20130910-001211.jpg

Belize flag blowing proudly in the breeze over the venue.

20130910-001348.jpg

Final arrangements for the stage.

20130910-001456.jpg

Oblivious to it all. But dressed up for the occasion.

20130910-001622.jpg

On her way to Central Park. And doesn’t she look cute.

20130910-001751.jpg

And she joins the race to be there first.

20130910-001900.jpg

Young girls getting ready for their time on the stage.

20130910-002110.jpg

Drummers not yet in the spotlight. That’s why it’s dark!!! (Or is it that I didn’t set the flash correctly ?).

20130910-004102.jpg

Getting ready to start.

20130910-005604.jpg

And they are off!

20130910-010128.jpg

Center stage.

20130910-011005.jpg

Not one, not two, but three drums. He knows how to beat it!

The headline for today’s first edition is based on the single released in 1983 by Michael Jackson which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number three in the UK Singles Chart.

3 thoughts on ““Beat It” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Friends” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. John, your photos have done justice to your new home, neighborhood, community and fellow Belize citizens. Do you feel Belizian and settled already or when do you think that will happen? You still refer to the UK as home in your blog do you miss your UK routine and environment?

    • Thanks Don.

      I can quite honestly say that I do not consider the UK as my home. Where I was born, yes. Where I lived and worked, yes. Where I spent my formative years, absolutely. Where I want to live? A resounding NO.
      I did initially miss the routine, the challenges, and colleagues (and competitors) that work gave me. But that passed with time. By nature though I do need a level of routine. And I do need something to keep me occupied. Too use my brain.
      When Rose and I talk about taking a holiday we never discuss, let alone consider, going back to the UK for a holiday. We much prefer that our family and friends come visit us.

      Kind regards
      John

Leave a Reply

