“Our Day Will Come” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


After an extremely lazy day on Sunday it’s surprising that I went to bed as early as I did (around 21.30 hours). Perhaps caused by eye strain from watching what seemed like continuous football (soccer for readers from the States) – Spurs followed by Chelsea and topped off with Barcelona. Or is it just advancing age? I prefer to put it down to tired eyes. I would, wouldn’t I.

With such an early ‘to bed’ it was no wonder yesterday morning I found myself awake at around 03.00 hours and that no matter how hard I tried I could not force myself to go back to sleep.

With time on my hands (nothing new since moving here really) I decided to start ‘revisiting’ (basically checking prices) of the items we plan to buy in the States and ship for our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

I don’t why but when I started adding up the cost of the various items something made me wonder about the validity of the US$ 15,000 duty and tax exemptions allowance that I have been working to all along. Was this correct? I was convinced I had read it somewhere. Or had I imagined it?

I got out the explanatory notes we had received when applying for entry in to the “QRP” (Qualified Retirement Program) and could find no mention of this. In fact it made it quite clear that there is no financial limit. The only conditions are (and I paraphrase here) that the goods are to be new or used personal or household effects that are approved as such by the ‘Program officer. Also that there is a one year time limit from entry in to the ‘Program for this benefit (this time limit does not apply for a car/cart, boat and plane which you can replace absent of duty and tax three years after entry in to the ‘Program).

So, why was I so badly informed? A little bit of searching on the Internet and I found the source. A thread (and an old one) on an expat forum. There is a moral here. Don’t believe everything you read on the Internet. Always verify it. That is, unless I write it!

Needing to be certain though before we place orders I ‘phoned Roshel Godfrey of the Belize Tourism Board and was mightily relieved when she confirmed my interpretation of the allowance. Now we can make the final purchasing decisions!

In good spirits Rose and I set off to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize around 15.00 hours and on arrival saw that the railings for the western (lagoon) side of the Second Floor had been painted with the finishing coat.

20130820-062601.jpg

20130820-062626.jpg

In to the Ground Floor self-contained apartment and we found that Wilson had started laying the floor tiles for the shower in the en-suite for the larger of the bedrooms.

20130820-062834.jpg

Whilst down there we also noticed that some more of the kitchen cabinets had been delivered.

20130820-062954.jpg

This one will be fitted to the right of the oven (range) with the back struts being removed so that it fits around the column.

Up the stairs to the First Floor where we found that we had to tread carefully because Manuel was laying the floor tiles for the eastern (road) side veranda immediately in front of the entrance.

20130820-063402.jpg

20130820-063544.jpg

Once in to the hallway we found that Christopher was applying grout to the top of the skirting (base) tiles in the bedroom (Rose’s handicraft room).

20130820-063803.jpg

Near doorway to the bedroom.

Continuing through in to the main area we saw that Moses and George were busy installing the kitchen cabinets.

20130820-064205.jpg

Frames for the larder (pantry) and cupboard over the refrigerator fitted ( they are straight – it was me that wasn’t!).

On the other side of the kitchen Moses and George were presenting the cabinet for over the oven (range) to make the final adjustments (eg access for the power socket for the microwave).

20130820-064601.jpg

20130820-064622.jpg

20130820-064640.jpg

20130820-064722.jpg

And it’s up!

Looking around the kitchen as it gradually takes shape Rose and I just know that our day will come (and soon) when we can move in to our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

Out on the northern veranda Alfredo was applying the final coat of emulsion for the ceiling.

20130820-065042.jpg

We’re really looking forward to our next visit because as we were leaving Moses told us that he and George were going to work through the night to start fitting the doors on the Second Floor.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1962 by Ruby & the Romantics which in 1963 reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number thirty-eight in the UK Singles Chart.

10 thoughts on ““Our Day Will Come” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Right Back Where We Started From” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Pingback: “Don’t Stop the Party” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Pingback: “I’m Down” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  4. Pingback: “It’s a Shame” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  5. Pingback: “My Best Friend” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  6. Pingback: “Living in the Past” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  7. John,
    Has there been any discussion with the crew as to HOW they are going to get those railings all the way up? Man or machine?
    Its really coming together. Looks great from the road.

    Rib

  8. I would put more electrical outlets in your kitchen. Cabinets are beautiful. Are you putting electrical outlets in your island?

    • Can’t remember exactly how many outlets we have in the kitchen (will look at the plans later) Kat but I know we spent an absolute age discussing this before involving an architect. The kitchen island will have power outlets.
      As to the cabinets, thanks. We like them too.

Leave a Reply

