“A Boy Named Sue” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Up around 04.00 hours yesterday and my day started with the normal routine which, as regular readers of this blog will know, consists of a mug of black coffee on the veranda with my iPad. It’s the ‘just for me time’ of the day. No one around (well apart from the occasional person walking the beach either going to work, taking the dog for a walk or just finishing the night before) and its so tranquil. Just the lapping of the waves and the breeze rustling through the palm fronds.

When it got to around 07.00 hours I decided it was time for work. Time to get the ironing done. Now a few years ago in my chauvinistic days (its OK female readers, I saw the light) I wouldn’t have done the ironing let alone tell the world that I do it. Wouldn’t have dreamt of anyone being inclined to call me a boy named Sue (phew, got the headline in) !

It’s a matter of personal choice of course but I have never been able to put a ‘T’ shirt or polo shirt on unless it has been ironed. I know that there are plenty of people that can and do but it’s not for me. I’ll probably get a comment or two about this (I recall that someone did express surprise that I ironed the sheets in an edition some time ago). Just don’t like wrinkles in things. I can’t do anything about my face but a ‘T’ shirt is a completely different matter!

With the ironing out of the way Rose and I spent a little time looking at the colour chart for un-sanded tile grout that The Tile and Stone Center had forwarded in response to my plea for help. This apparently is the best form of grout to use where there is narrow spacing between tiles as is the case for the Milan Super Crema floor tiles that we have on the First and Second Floors of our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize. We chose the cream grout at BZ$ 33 (inclusive of GST) for a twenty-five pound bag.

Rose and I then turned our attention to discussing the fence we are going to have erected around our house. Our current thought is to buy the wood (treated pine) on the mainland and organise the road transportation and barging to the island ourselves and employ labour locally to erect it. Based on the calculations I have made, such an approach will result in an appreciable saving when compared to employing someone to supply materials and labour. The other benefit we see is that we will be in total control of the expenditure for the materials and will pay for the labour on a ‘pay as they go’ basis. In future editions I will let you know how this works out. It will be a few weeks before we start on this though.

With our deliberations about the fence completed we headed off to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and got there just before 15.00 hours and on pulling in to our lot saw straight away that the welder had finished the railings for the western (lagoon) side veranda of the Second Floor.

20130810-073535.jpg

Apparently it took eight of the guys to move the railings from one side side of the lot to the other. Moving it to the Second Floor is going to be interesting!

We then went in to the Ground Floor self-contained apartment where we found that some more of the doors and cabinets had been delivered.

20130810-074529.jpg

20130810-074651.jpg

Frames for the vanity units for the two bathrooms.

20130810-074830.jpg

One of the bedroom doors.

While we were there we saw that Wilson had finished laying the floor tiles in the en-suite for the larger of the two bedrooms.

20130810-075108.jpg

Shower cubicle to be done now.

Up to the First Floor where we found Angel ‘making good’ the wall around the sliding window (door) for the bedroom (Rose’s handicraft room).

20130810-075313.jpg

Finishing coat next and then the painting can start.

Inside the house Christopher had finished laying the floor tiles in the living room area.

20130810-075431.jpg

All floor tiles laid now. Skirting now to be fixed and then the grouting.

Across the room in the kitchen area were more cabinets that had been delivered from Daniel Camal‘s (our building contractor) wood shop.

20130810-075951.jpg

White frames for the cupboards that will be above the oven.

Out on the veranda the tiler had virtually finished laying the floor tiles for the western (lagoon) side and had started on the northern side.

20130810-080246.jpg

Western side nearly finished.

20130810-080329.jpg

Tiles starting to go down on the northern side.

At the front of the house Christopher was at work starting to cut the tiles for the skirting for the Milan Super Crema tiles (used throughout most of the First Floor and for the landing and our bedroom on the Second Floor).

20130810-080649.jpg

Christopher rummaging to find useable off-cuts.

20130810-080744.jpg

“Found some”.

20130810-080825.jpg

Cutting them to size.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1969 by Johnny Cash which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot Country Singles chart, number two in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number four in the UK Singles Chart.

15 thoughts on ““A Boy Named Sue” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Hi John & Rose……Just looking at the finished railing for your second floor……..massive. I hope it will not be…..” another fine mess you’ve got me into Ollie, ” situation.( For your younger readers, Stan Laurel & Oliver Hardy movies.) I’m sure that with a block & tackle at either end and one in the middle, it will go up like a breeze. At least, that is how I would tackle it with out a crane. Olde Foggie Approach !!!!! Not too far from Official Opening Day now folks, it looks Wunderbar!!!!
    Alan S.

  2. Its amazing how far along “we” are! I look in daily and it still surprises me. The doors are fantastic. You mentioned skirting. I assume that is what I call base, located at the floor / wall intersection. Will it be tile to match the floor?

  3. Bloody hate ironing as well mate,that place is looking fantastic mate,i know i aint commented much but i have been following and its been a good experience watching a house being built from scratch,looking forward to a pic of you uncle John and Auntie Rose having a beer on top of your completed house πŸ™‚

    • For a level of security Kathi. Rose absolutely wants a fence. The sea wall area will be fence free so breezes will get in from the western side without any barriers. I also think the breezes will get through from the other sides.

  4. Boy do we differ…my nieces and nephews at a much earlier age gave me the nickname Uncle Wrinkles because i never ironed, noticed or viewed anything i wore as wrinkled and they would be kinda of embarrassed for me when we went out for activities together. Because i did not have kids of my own i spoiled them all rotten so they put up with my horrible public dress and loved me anyway. John, of course i shared your post with them and highlighted your dislike of wrinkles, i expect to hear from them soon….

    • Don (or can I call you Wrinkles?) I am a bit finicky about a number of things. There’s the wrinkled clothes but I also cannot eat fat. Just have to cut it off of meat no matter how small it might be.
      We do have some things in common though. We don’t have kids and have always tended to spoil our nieces and nephews(and their children now).

  5. Thanks for your reply. I am looking into booking a place for the month of Dec or Jan. You mentioned Banana Beach in one of your past blogs. Do they rent out for a month ? Thanks in advance. Cheers.

    • We don’t actually manage bookings ourselves Paul. This is done via the office staff at Banana Beach.
      I am sure that you are already aware, but if not, the months of December and January are both ‘high season’ and, as such, rates are higher.

Leave a Reply

