“Have You Forgotten” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Yesterday started as most days do for me (do not interpret this as a complaint – just saying). Up early and on the veranda with my mug of coffee and the iPad. A quick read of The Times and then I turned my attention to ‘knocking out’ the edition of the blog.

After showering, shaving and getting dressed (decisions, decisions what shorts do I wear) I decided to treat myself with a breakfast at Estel’s so I got in to our relatively clean golf cart and drove to Estel’s only to find that they had the temerity to shut for the day. But this was Wednesday and Estel’s only closes on a Tuesday. Was the world ending ( OK, so I sound a bit like a drama queen but … I was really looking forward to my breakfast).

Disappointed I returned home (well to the condo we are renting during our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize) and made breakfast which I ate on the veranda. Not Estel’s but it could have been a lot worse!

I then caught up on emails and was pleased to find that Atlantic International Bank had accepted the documentation I had provided to prove the ‘source of funds’ and the money I had transferred from the UK had been credited to my account. Hooray. We now have money to spend!

Around 14.00 hours Rose and I took a drive to the wood shop that Daniel Camal, our building contractor, has in the DFC area. The purpose of the visit was to review progress on the cabinets (for the kitchens and bathrooms) that Moses and his three colleagues are making for us.

The quality of workmanship looks (not that I am an expert) first class. We were particularly impressed with the pantry (larder) which has shelves ((for spices, bottles, etc – (I don’t have a clue really because this is Rose’s domain)) set in to the inside of the two doors. I’ll save including a photograph of it until it has been completed and is installed in the kitchen on the First Floor. Suffice to say that at this stage of its development we are impressed with it.

Whilst I was looking at the work I heard Moses say to Rose “have you forgotten?”. Turning around I could see her looking quizzically at him. She didn’t have a clue (and nor did I for that matter). “I need your design for the island for the kitchen on the Ground Floor” Moses advised. In an instant both Rose and I realised that we forgotten all about this. We thought we had planned everything to the nth degree. Just goes to show how wrong you can be.

With a new project to take care of we set off for our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and got there around 15.15 hours and were pleased to find that Daniel was there so we set about reviewing the architectural plans and measuring the area where the island can be erected in the kitchen of the Ground Floor apartment.

After some discussion, which included bouncing various ideas around, Rose and I have settled on having an island cum table. We now have to design this so that Moses can work on it. We promised to have this done by next Monday.

With the decision taken we then reviewed progress on the house and given that we were already there started off on the Ground Floor where Wilson had, in between laying floor tiles for the hall between the two bedrooms, cut the tiles required to finish off the kitchen/living room.

20130808-063929.jpg

Tiles cut for the southern wall of the kitchen/living room.

20130808-064137.jpg

And for the north-western wall.

20130808-064248.jpg

Tiles for the hallway between the two bedrooms nearly completed.

Up on the First Floor Christopher had applied grouting for the floor tiles in the Utility Room

20130808-064444.jpg

It’s amazing how much more finished the floor looked with just a bit of grouting.

Around in the living/dining room we saw that Christopher had also managed to lay some more floor tiles.

20130808-064632.jpg

Getting ever closer to where the stairs will be fitted.

Out on the western (lagoon side) veranda work had continued on laying the Verde tile.

20130808-064844.jpg

20130808-064923.jpg

I’m not afraid of heights but…

Up on the Second Floor Ernesto had started applying grouting in the bathrooms (photos in a future edition).

On the way out we stopped to have a chat with Edgar (the granite man) who was just about to start work on the countertops for the vanity units for the en-suite bathroom (for Rose’s handicraft room) and Powder Room on the First Floor. He had also placed the granite that will be used for the vanity units for the two bedrooms on the Ground Floor on his workbench.

20130808-065650.jpg

The blue shade is for the bathroom and Powder Room on the First Floor and the other slab is for the two bathrooms on the Ground Floor.

The headline for today’s edition is based on the 2003 single by Darryl Worley which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot Country Songs chart and number twenty-two in the US Billboard Hot 100.

Having finished this edition I am now going for breakfast. They are open today!

8 thoughts on ““Have You Forgotten” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” in San Pedro, Ambergris Cate, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. Pingback: “Better Things to Do” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Ok, you made me look up “island cum table” thinking it was a typo. Perhaps we need an American translation of this item. That is a terrible name.

Leave a Reply

