“Get Down on It” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Problems with the Internet persisted yesterday. On Ambergris Caye it’s always slow when compared to what we took for granted in the UK but this wasn’t just slow. It wasn’t even pedestrian at times. It was crawl speed. Made me think of the idiom “you don’t know what you’ve got until its gone”.

You just don’t realise how much you use (and depend upon) the Internet until it is not readily available. Well, it was available but just so (frustratingly) ponderously slow.

Becoming ever more frustrated with the speed (or, to be precise, the lack of it) yesterday morning I headed to Estel’s for breakfast. If I had to wait for a search to be completed at least I had something to do- eat!

The speed did improve shortly after 11 am but still not as good as before the problem showed itself so I was glad when noon came and it was time for us to get ready and head off to Pedro’s Hotel for lunch which was generously ‘donated’ by Ian Ritchie of Captain Shark’s.

We spent a very enjoyable couple of hours in great company feasting on a really well cooked meal of chicken and a wide selection of vegetables. No photos of the food. You will just have to trust me (or not) that it was truly good. I could do with one of those lunches every day!

With the meal over and full in belly Rose and I set off to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize (about time I ‘hear’ those you not interested in what I do with my morning) and got there just before 3 pm.

Starting off on the Ground Floor in the self-contained apartment we found that the guys had finished laying the final coat of cement for the remaining section in the living/kitchen room.

20130716-093711.jpg

Now ready for joint compound to be applied to the ceiling. And then sanded smooth of course.

In the smaller of the two bedrooms , with the floor laid, plastic sheeting had been put down in readiness for masonry sealant to be applied.

20130716-093959.jpg

At the back of the house (western or lagoon side) Alfonso and a relatively new guy working on our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize were fixing plycem boards for the last section of the house.

20130716-094208.jpg

The final section. South-western corner.

20130716-094302.jpg

“New” guy measuring the plycem board for cutting to size.

20130716-094455.jpg

Alfonso getting the acrows ready.

Around on the southern side of the house José was sanding down the joint compound that he applied a few days ago.

20130716-094652.jpg

We then went to the front (eastern or roadside) of the house to watch Martin and another new guy finishing off the entrance staircase. Being careful not to disturb them we went up the stairs for a better vantage point.

20130716-095108.jpg

Martin dousing his section with water.

20130716-095220.jpg

And the other guy does the same for his section.

20130716-095346.jpg

Apply the cement.

20130716-095421.jpg

From another angle.

20130716-095518.jpg

Time for the float.

20130716-095550.jpg

And it’s nearly finished.

Our timing of going in to the house was just perfect. We have been waiting for the tiles to be laid for the floor for it to start looking finished and we got there just in time to see “Wat” get down on it to start the tile laying.

20130716-100325.jpg

Tile positioned (not fixed yet) in the south-western corner. Note the spirit level.

20130716-100553.jpg

“Wat” spreading the adhesive in the north-western corner. Tiles at the ready leaning against the wall.

20130716-100733.jpg

First tile down.

“Wat” then went down to ground level to mix some more adhesive.

20130716-100943.jpg

Like mixing for a cake! I would imagine (never done it myself).

When “Wat” was down there the drinks lady turned up helped by her two daughters and most of the guys rushed down to her to buy a refreshing glass of horchata (think I have spelled this correctly) which is made from ground rice. Very sweet but very refreshing.

20130716-102159.jpg

Angel at the mobile drinks dispenser

20130716-102319.jpg

Alfredo with his horchata.

On the way home from our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize Rose and I saw another case of how golf carts are used so much to move various objects around the island. Although we have been living here for over a year now it still amazes ( and amuses) me.

20130716-102724.jpg

Photograph courtesy of Rose (I was driving!).

The headline for today’s edition is based on the single released in 1981 by Kool & The Gang which reached number ten in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number nineteen in the UK Singles Chart.

11 thoughts on ““Get Down on It” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. I looked at a few of roses and yourselfs adventure blogs. Great blow by blow of the building process. I would love to be this far progressed in our move to Belize. At the stage where u think is it ever going to get to our time to retire,get there and start the settling in process. Our plan to retire there became a little up in the air for us in July 2012 as I had a Massive heart attack at 49 😦 genetics. Makes you realize tomm is never guaranteed. I don’t want to hurry up and wait anymore has made me more impatient than I sometimes was. I feel like we are in limbo as we wait for my hubby’s retirement date next year. I saw your comment about the ashes don’t bother watching it you know we Aussies are going to win it AGAIN lol, I loved the one dayers matches,rest to slow for me. BTW I love the top deck.

    • Hi Hazel. Really pleased you like the blog and our account of building in Belize. Sorry to hear about your health problems but couldn’t agree more that you must live for today. It may seem a long way off for you but time passes (regrettably in some respects) too quickly. Good luck with your plans.

  2. Pingback: “Communication” in Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Ah – what I wouldn’t give for an afternoon out on the deck at Pedro’s eating some shrimp and looking at that Flintstone’s menu. (I wonder, do they still have those faux rock menus?). Love the blog. Check in almost everyday. Can’t wait to go back and hit all the spots: Palapa Bar, Pedro’s, Crazy Canucks, Roadkill, Maria’s . . .

      • You know – it has been too long since I was last there! I had Pedro’s confused with Ramone’s (Village). Ramone’s had the Flintstone’s menus. Since we stay at Xanadu, the outside seating at Ramone’s is a quick walk up the shore. Love visiting Ambergris Caye and San Pedro via your blog. Like a mini-digital vacation . . . ..

  4. It’s coming along John. I read every day and it amazes me how they build things down there . It seems as there is a lot of back tracking on those floors. A bull float and power trowel and pour it once , but who am I to say. It looks better every day. Ed

    • Hi Ed. I am sure that you are right, there are quicker/easier ways to complete many aspects of the build but …
      Get the impression that labour is easier to get than spare parts for machinery. Regards John

  5. It faciinates me to read the great progress that is made every day on your home.
    I noticed that there still is quite a lot of rain water in front of your house. I guess that is from the wild rains you have been having.

    • It is great progress but it can never be fast enough for us! As to the waterlogged sections of land, the heavy rain caused this but we know we have some sections (especially on the northern side) to landfill. The back garden now hardly ‘suffers’ at all when it rains.

Leave a Reply

