“I Can’t Stand the Rain” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


I mentioned in the previous edition that it rained for the greater part of Sunday and right through the night. Well, it didn’t abate and rained just as hard yesterday morning.

20130617-103820.jpg

A rainy and blustery view from the veranda around 8.30 am.

I had intended to wash the golf cart because the dusty roads, (and especially on the road north of the Sir Barry Bowen Bridge to our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize) make it look very dirty. And very quickly. I then was going to spend some ‘quality time’ on the beach with my book. Well the rain put paid to that idea. I can’t stand the rain when it stops me from doing things that I want to do.

With my plan in tatters there was only one sensible form of recourse for me. No, not go back to bed, but to Estel’s for breakfast. What would you have done in the same circumstances? Exactly.

So. I got the raincoat out of the cupboard (haven’t had to wear it for nearly a year) and went for my breakfast and found a nearly empty Estel’s . Very unusual. Just as unusual was that I sat inside. It made sense to do do because even though they had the ‘rain shades’ down the rain was getting through them to hit the tables on the deck.

In the afternoon I made the trip to visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize on my own because Rose wasn’t feeling the greatest. The best place for her was in the dry at our rented condo.

The journey there was much the same as usual (OK, a little wet but nothing too much) until I crossed the bridge and then I saw the effect of the rain and the surges of the Caribbean Sea that flooded large sections of the road.

20130618-040853.jpg

View from the Paradise Theatre looking south.

20130618-041034.jpg

In front of Reef Village looking south.

20130618-041136.jpg

In front of Reef Village looking north.

Driving through the water slowly so as to avoid flooding the engine (I passed an abandoned golf cart that had obviously suffered that fate) I eventually arrived at our land and was pleased to see in the distance some of the guys working on the Ground Floor. They had got through on their bikes!

First thing I noticed was that the window for the Ground Floor kitchen had been fitted and Martin was at work applying cement to secure it in position.

20130618-041748.jpg

Martin nice and dry.

Walking in to the self-contained apartment I saw immediately that the two windows in the living/dining area had been fitted.

20130618-042109.jpg

Walking in to the apartment I saw that the windows were installed for the smaller of the two bedrooms and for its en-suite.

20130618-042250.jpg

When I got to the ‘master’ bedroom I could see what a difference the filling had done for the back garden.

20130618-042434.jpg

One or two puddles but not the waterlogged area it once was.

Looking towards the back (the western side which faces the lagoon) of the house I could see that one of the windows for the Store Room/Garage was in the process of being installed.

20130618-042839.jpg

Nicholas sheltered from the rain by the First Floor veranda.

Inside the Store Room/Garage Nicholas was being assisted by his elder brother Angel and Porfelio.

20130618-043140.jpg

Porfelio in the warm and dry!

It wasn’t too long before Nicholas had put in the screws and the window was in place.

20130618-043333.jpg

As I was well protected from the rain (not only was I wearing a raincoat but had waterproof trousers on too) I stood and watched while the guys fitted the other (southern wall) window for the Store Room/Garage.

20130618-043808.jpg

Nicholas admiring the view whilst waiting for the window.

20130618-043923.jpg

Angel and Porfelio ‘presenting’ the window.

20130618-044057.jpg

Nicholas drilling the holes for the masonry screws.

20130618-044212.jpg

And another screw goes in!

As I was leaving our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize I noticed that the Pump Room was receiving its final coat of cement.

20130618-044517.jpg

Sorry but I haven’t a clue who was working in there.

I departed for home feeling really pleased with the progress made on installing the windows.

The headline is based on the 1973 single by Ann Peebles which reached number thirty-eight in the US Billboard Hot 100 and number forty-one in the UK Singles Chart. And according to John Lennon “It’s the best song ever”.

Oh, by the way, as I get ready to publish this edition the rain is still lashing down.

8 thoughts on ““I Can’t Stand the Rain” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Have been following your progress with interest. I will be visiting Belize in January and hope to see it completed then.

    • Rose is feeling a lot better now thanks Andy. A bit of gastro. There are now only 6 sliding doors and 4 windows to fit. Once they are in I don’t think hat they are going anywhere.

Leave a Reply

